We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place!”
Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oldfields House
Ranked #27 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great place!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The location is ok once you understand Bath--right up the hill from the train station. The staff were awesome, even paying for my taxi because I got lost. The breakfast was sumptuous, too. The rooms vary since it's a house--I had the single, and it was so cute.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 996candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    304
    69
    12
    4
See reviews for
92
778
69
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Right off the bat when I made the booking I found I had booked the wrong thing online. 2 minutes on the phone and the friendly professional staff sorted out my mistake and I was good to go.

The location is ideal for seeing Bath. It is located just far enough away from the city centre to be quiet but still near enough to walk in to see the sights and bear in mind that I am not known for my love of walking when I can drive.

To say the room was clean and comfortable is accurate but does not reflect how nice it was. For what was, effectively, a basement room it was light, spacious and very well appointed.

The staff were brilliant. As soon as we arrived we were led to the beautiful sitting room and offered tea and coffee then a member of staff took us through some of the highlights that Bath had to offer and advised us on the best way to go about seeing them without ever once sounding like a tour guide. The service at breakfast was unobtrusive, polite and efficient.

I cannot recommend Oldfields House enough. I have stayed in many B&B's around the country and there are not many I would rush to revisit. Of those I would go back to this one just became the top of list.

In a town that really knows how to do tourism Oldfields House stands out as a example of what Bath is all about.

Room Tip: Rooms 16 and 17 are located on the lower ground floor and have what amounts to a private entrance th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinterwebtim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Great place to stay and see Bath with an easy walk downhill to the city centre. Of cours this means you will be walking up hill to your hotel at the end of the night.

I have not criticisms of our extremely comfortable stay and next time we're in Bath we will book again.
I only give 5* (100%) ratings to places that are totally perfect. What would have given us perfection would be herb tea bags in the room and real coffee (disposable filters or coffee bags).

Thank you to the owners and staff for our stay

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliententacles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ronneby, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
863 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Superb B&B. Lovely rooms. Ours had a jacuzzi bathtub. Well cooked and prepared breakfast and free parking on the street or one the B&B own parking (limited space here thou). Designed rooms with AC. Perfect! Recommended. Narrow stairs to the rooms and I don't believe there is an elevator somewhere. 10 min walk downhill to the start of the city centre and the B&B allows you to stay parked until 1300 even if you will have to leave your room earlier. Parking in Bath is expensive in my opinion so this is good value. The entrance for cars to the B&B are on the corner of a T-road crossing and it can be a bit tricky to find. It is easier to turn away from the amin road and make a u-turn down the street to get in a position to be able to hit the little hole that is the entrance. Or arrive from the downhill side!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgjohansson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed two nights after arriving from Heathrow. A convenient drive west of LHR, a little over an hour. Good accommodations, tight parking but that's just England. Very helpful staff, great breakfast. Walkable to town. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We have just returned from this gem of a B&B after a lovely night away.
Perfectly situated just 10 mins walk from centre (a little longer on way back as it's at the top of a steep hill!)
We had the loft room, absolutely fine,spotlessly clean & contemporarily decorated.
Staff we very welcoming & knowledgeable & offered to book taxi/restaurants if we should require. Take your room key out with you for various discounts..we got 10% off at the Roman Baths.
Breakfast was just delicious & plentiful, fresh coffee in a caffetiere left at the table.
We would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Room 6 in the loft. Small but perfectly adequate & quiet at night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Atomicjojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Illinois, USA
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed for one night in late July. Beautiful property. Lovely garden. We arrived late in the day. Parking is a little tight. Rooms are very nice with good facilities. Strong wifi. Good breakfast. The location is ok. It's about a 10 minute downhill walk to the city center with the Roman baths. It's not an awesome walk uphill if you are elderly. Breakfast was very tasty and the innkeepers are very pleasant. I think especially for a couple it's a great quiet place to stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 31 in Bath
1,117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,359 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#5 of 157 in Bath
1,618 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Property: Oldfields House
Address: 102 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 18 en-suite bedrooms, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing