We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous hotel & service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oldfields House
Ranked #23 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2006

I stayed here on my own, in a single room in the attic, on a cool Saturday in November.
It's a steep walk to the hotel from the station; many would need to rely on a taxi.
My room was cosy and comfortable, though the bed wasn't that great. The shower was excellent for the UK.
The highights of my stay were the wonderfully warm welcome and excellent service (the best I have received anywhere in Britain by a long way), and the superb breakfast.
Free use of internet on a laptop in the very comfy drawing room was a welcome extra.
I'd highly recommend Oldfields. Also, the website mentions that weekend bookings require a minumum of two nights, however in November I was able to book just the Saturday night with no problem.

  • Liked — Truly excellent service
  • Disliked — Location felt a little isolated
  • Tips/Secrets — Book well in advance
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sashina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    750
    272
    59
    8
    4
See reviews for
87
714
56
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2006

Its a bit of a walk with your bags up the hill, but worth it. The rooms are spotless and bathrooms are sparkly clean. The staff are the friendliest I have ever encountered! Breakfast was lovely and you could even have bucks fizz!

  • Liked — bathrooms
  • Disliked — hike up the hill
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank dave80s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2006

We stayed in the small twin room in the eaves for one night in mid-Sep. The room was really very small and we have to leave some of our luggages in our car. The bathroom is so small you can't even turn around and change clothes easily. So if you don't mind spending 20GBP or so, do consider for a standard room.

The furniture and amenities in the room was top-notch, including leather seat, LCD TV, DVD player and air-conditioning (not very common for B&B in UK).

The breakfast is nicely cooked with various choices and the breakast room has a marvellous view of the city. The staff are very helpful and professional. Off-road parking is available, and they also provide a parking permit in case the private parking is full.

The hotel is located on a hilly part of the city. Although the main attractions (e.g. Royal Crescent, Roman Bath, Bath Abbey) is only a 8-minute drive, it may not be a good idea to walk there.

  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid the small twin room in the eaves.. it's REALLY small!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Stephon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2006

Believe it or not, we have not even left the hotel yet, I am writing this review on the hotels computer. If you are looking for some where to stay that is clean, with friendly staff, demon breakfast and a short walk in to Bath City centre, then look no further. I will gladly recommend this hotel to frriends and family.

Helpful?
3 Thank darat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2006

Great views across Bath. Excellent service - great breakfast and nothing too much trouble. 10/15 minute walk to city centre (down steep hill on busy road but manageable - plenty of taxis by the Abbey if needed). Internet access in the lounge very useful. Clean and peaceful. Ate at Firestone Restaurant - excellent
A few slight niggles - specifically confirmed that the 3rd bed in our room was a proper bed but it was not full size. Advertises on web site the use of Moulton Brown products in its bathrooms (not sure why this should be a selling point) - products consisted of a large pump action bottle of hand wash (highly scented) and 3 very small bottles of shampoo/shower gel. The shower gels were not replaced so by the end of our stay we were left with only hand wash. Would suggest they supply at least a bar of soap.
Flat screen TV very small.
Having said that would certainly stay there again (but next time I'd take my own soap!!)

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — the bed
  • Tips/Secrets — take your own soap
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank sheepdip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLDFIELDS_MANAGEMENT, SENIOR MANAGER at Oldfields House, responded to this review, 1 November 2006
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Oldfields and are happy to take on board any comments. The extra beds used in our rooms are stored beneath the main bed. They are not fold up beds but full size without a headboard.
All of our rooms are provided with 30ml Molton Brown products and we are more than happy to provide guests with extra products if they wish. We choose to use soap dispensers as this is more environmentally friendly.
We thank you for your kind words and hope to welcome you to Oldfields again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2006

Stayed here in july 2006, had a great stay. Was made to feel welcome by management, given directions for around town, where to eat, what to see. I had a single room, very clean, flat screen tv! immaculate bathroom, skylight. Had internet access in the sitting lounge, nice perk. This hotel, if i had one word to describe it is "sofisticated". The lounge, the breakfast room, the bedrooms, are all just perfect. The hotel is situated about halfway down the hill leading to Bath, about a 10 min walk. A lovely walk it is as well, limestone buildings, lovely scenery.
Theres a primary school just down the street, not uncommon to see the kids in thier English uniforms walking about. I really felt like i was staying somewhere that wasnt touristy, but more like life in Bath must be to the people who live there if that makes sense. I really love Bath, a great place to visit if you want to soak up English culture. If you plan on visiting, Oldfields Hotel is the best you could ask for or find.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — A great place to walk to downtown Bath.
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank spiker11uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hoddesdon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2006

A real gem of a hotel. The price is incredibly reasonable for this hotel. We were greeted by the hotel owner, who took the time to introduce herself and gave us maps of bath and how to get around - very informative and a nice touch.

The rooms were very well appointed, very clean and very modern, we had a smaller room, but that was not a problem, every modern convenience was available and toiletries by Moulton and Brown - great touch.

The breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked and very tasty.

It is a very easy 5/10 minute walk into Bath

We eat at Martinis - recommended by the hotel - food was fab.

Definitely will be returning and Definitely recommend it for a stay.

  • Liked — Very friendly and very stylish
  • Disliked — Nothing it is fantastic.
  • Tips/Secrets — Definitely stay here
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Lillybab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.6 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.5 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#15 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 763 reviews
0.8 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#14 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Property: Oldfields House
Address: 102 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 16 en-suite bedrooms, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing