We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Standard Guest House”
Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oldfields House
Ranked #27 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good Standard Guest House”
Reviewed 13 December 2006

Made a last minute booking for two nights and were very fortunate to get rooms, we were told that we would have to change rooms but when we arrived they had managed to alter things so we had the same room for both nights. The standards were very good, staff very helpful and booked our evening meals for us for both nights within half an hour of us arriving. The breakfasts were good, if a little slow in arriving but this seemed to be down to them being individually cooked. The views over Bath were good the only downside was the walk back up the hill after a whole day in Bath. But even with that would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank yathgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    797
    304
    69
    12
    4
See reviews for
92
778
69
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2006

In August, my wife booked two nights in December by phone to the hotel, then a few minutes later, cancelled them by phone. We were subsequently charged two nights no-show. They claim not to have had a cancellation. In our business we make very many travel arrangements.....They claim to have sent a confirming email, which we did not receive (due to anti-spamming?) & which would have alerted my wife to the fact that they had mislaid her cancellation. I am very unhappy at the hotel suggestion that we lied as illustrated by their attitude!

  • Tips/Secrets — Be very careful when booking / cancelling
  • Stayed November 2006
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuxuryTrainClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLDFIELDS_MANAGEMENT, Senior Manager at Oldfields House, responded to this review, 18 December 2006
We were most dissappointed to read this review by a "guest" who did not actually stay at Oldfields, and who therefore has unfairly rated us for "value", "check-in" and "service".
A reservation was indeed made by this "guest " for 2 nights in December. The reservation was confirmed by email which also outlined our cancellation/no show policy. We did not receive any notification of a cancellation either by telephone or email and therefore a charge was made as the "guest" did not show up. After speaking to the "guest" and as a good will gesture we offered to refund half of the payment. Which we believe was a fair compromise.This obviously was not acceptable to her husband who made his views very clearly over the telephone. After further correspondence with the "guest" we decided to make a full refund of payment as we pride ourselves on our customer service and did not want any ill feeling. Which is why we were most surprised and dissappointed to read this review which was written by her husband.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2006

We went to stay at Oldfields for two nights to celebrate my birthday. We were greeted upon arrival by Shaun who welcomed us warmly. It was lovely to be offered a cup of tea/coffee straight away. He ushered us into the drawing room and proceeded to confirm our details. This was a wonderfully brief procedure. He then provided us with lots of helpful information about Bath e.g. where to eat etc. The indian restaurant recommended was fabulous and well worthy of its awards. We were shown to our glorious room (room 7) and then returned to the drawing room for our tea and coffee.

The breakfasts are wonderful. Exercising restraint was difficult. Those serving were most attentive and happy to attend to our every need. It's a pity that no evening meal is available as the house is so lovely, we wanted to go no further! Perhaps this could be done by prior arrangement.

All the staff were friendly and approachable. The level of knowledge of Bath was tremendous. This included the location of the nearest Woolworths for toy buying! This was in a small shopping area away from the centre of Bath.

The hotel is on a hill. We had some problems following the directions but on arrival were advised that the directions had been rewritten. It is no difficulty to walk into town. It took us no more than ten minutes. The hill is not very steep. In fact, following meals in restaurants, it was refreshing to stroll back to the hotel. We were lucky with the weather though.

We looked on late rooms to get prices for this hotel but in the light of a review here saying to avoid the attic rooms as they are small, I rang direct to make our booking. I'd recommend speaking to Linda. She was very helpful in describing the different rooms available and offering advice on what would suit us. We didn't receive the promised e-mail to confirm our reservation though.

We stayed in room 7 which is on the ground floor. It is a large room with a very high ceiling so there was a lovely sense of space. The bed was very wide and we both slept marvellously. The bottles of water provided were gratefully received by us. The en-suite shower room was spotless and had a much larger than average shower. The other thing that I'd commend is the heating. We went in November and the room was cosy. There are thermostats on the radiators so we got to choose the temperature that suited us. There was an ugly airconditioning unit on the wall. I'm sceptical whether it gets that warm in such a tall room but at least the hotel is trying to cater to all wishes.

The hotel has its own website. The rates are pricey so look at laterooms before giving them a ring. The hotel has an offer on until March 2007 of 3 nights for the price of 2. I'd recommend a visit.

  • Liked — The huge bed
  • Disliked — The lack of a restaurant for the evening. This is a luxury B and B.
  • Tips/Secrets — Ring the hotel for advice/prices - they are so helpful.
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank KVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2006

Absolutely nothing too much trouble they deliver the kind of service I thought was extinct in the UK.
Stayed here Nov 2006 two nights in twin room on ground floor would highly recommend. The breakfast was fantastic the best and I have "enjoyed" many hotel breakfasts around the world. It is a little walk from the station if you have heavy luggage I would suggest a taxi up the hill and enjoy the walk when you have your bearings.
I cannot recommend this place enough. The decor the furniture all the nice touches. Fantastic.
JH. UK

  • Liked — Room design, location, breakfast.
  • Disliked — Beds a little hard but that is personal
  • Tips/Secrets — Enjoy
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank lilyten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton,england
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2006

stayed two nights to view the christmas market.
lovely welcome with the lady of the house showing us where to eat and gave maps etc.room was small but spotlessly clean.
great shower and the best bit was a breakfast to die for,even champers.at this price you cant go wrong and free parking to boot.try it you wont be disappointed,

  • Liked — location and friendly staff
  • Disliked — size of room
  • Tips/Secrets — just try it
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank chalkes22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2006

I chose the Oldfields based on reviews I read here on Tripadvisor and I was very pleased. The staff was helpful and friendly. I stayed in a very small but modern and clean room on the top floor. Everything was in perfect condition and the entire hotel was very clean. Breakfast was very good. I usually avoid B&Bs like the plague but the Oldfields was a great experience.

  • Stayed November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Piet_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2006

I stayed here on my own, in a single room in the attic, on a cool Saturday in November.
It's a steep walk to the hotel from the station; many would need to rely on a taxi.
My room was cosy and comfortable, though the bed wasn't that great. The shower was excellent for the UK.
The highights of my stay were the wonderfully warm welcome and excellent service (the best I have received anywhere in Britain by a long way), and the superb breakfast.
Free use of internet on a laptop in the very comfy drawing room was a welcome extra.
I'd highly recommend Oldfields. Also, the website mentions that weekend bookings require a minumum of two nights, however in November I was able to book just the Saturday night with no problem.

  • Liked — Truly excellent service
  • Disliked — Location felt a little isolated
  • Tips/Secrets — Book well in advance
  • Stayed November 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sashina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 31 in Bath
1,117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,359 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#5 of 157 in Bath
1,618 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
796 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Property: Oldfields House
Address: 102 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 18 en-suite bedrooms, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing