We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely weekend at Oldfields”
Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oldfields House
Ranked #27 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2007

We have just returned from a weekend at Oldfields. I organised the weekend away as a surprise for my husband's 30th birthday, and the accommodation was very comfortable. The room was very small, but very clean and comfortable and nicely furnished. The breakfasts on both mornings were delicious, and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

It is a 10-minute walk into town, which is not a problem at all, but it did mean that we took cabs to and from dinner because it was late and cold! In summer the walk would not be a problem at all.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JMV2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,205 - 1,211 of 1,320 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2007

Excellent place to stay! We stayed for just one night. We had a great welcome with advice on where to eat that evening with a leaflet and map also a price guide. This made it very easy to make a good choice and we had a lovely evening.
The room was to a very high standard very well thought out with a very comfortable bed excellent shower. far better that many english hotels, good value, highly recomended.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank purches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2007

We stayed the 12 & 13 of January and the hotel was superb - all too often a B & B in the UK will turn out to be a bit tatty around the edges, there's none of that here! Our room was very nicley decorated, the cummunal area's were very welcoming and the breakfast is spot on.

You can't go wrong!

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank mdstephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2007

We stayed here on the 8th and 9th Jan and loved it. The owners were very pleasant and welcoming. We stayed in a superior suite that had a Jacuzzi bath (heated floor) and balcony.

The price was good at £85 per night for the room and this included breakfast for us both.

The breakfast was very good compromising a full English with a continental buffet and vegetarian options.

The hotel has ample parking and it takes about 10 mins to get to the town.

The owners have a wealth of information at the hotel as well as informing us on places to eat and things to see.

Overall one of the best Hotel / B&B I’ve ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Leeandbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2007

Went to stay at Oldfields on 22 December. We had a lovely room, set out so perfectly. My favourite was the bathroom with the Jacuzzi bath! Very relaxing indeed! The Molton Brown toiletries were a nice touch. The best thing about the whole stay though has to be that my boyfriend proposed to me in the room! It was very romantic and I will always remember my stay there and will definitely go back! Bath itself was lovely and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we had dinner in a restaurant called Hole in the Wall, which I would recommend. The hotel is perfect for a romantic get away, the owners were extremely helpful and the breakfast was delicious!

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Janey21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2006

Made a last minute booking for two nights and were very fortunate to get rooms, we were told that we would have to change rooms but when we arrived they had managed to alter things so we had the same room for both nights. The standards were very good, staff very helpful and booked our evening meals for us for both nights within half an hour of us arriving. The breakfasts were good, if a little slow in arriving but this seemed to be down to them being individually cooked. The views over Bath were good the only downside was the walk back up the hill after a whole day in Bath. But even with that would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed: December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank yathgun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2006

In August, my wife booked two nights in December by phone to the hotel, then a few minutes later, cancelled them by phone. We were subsequently charged two nights no-show. They claim not to have had a cancellation. In our business we make very many travel arrangements.....They claim to have sent a confirming email, which we did not receive (due to anti-spamming?) & which would have alerted my wife to the fact that they had mislaid her cancellation. I am very unhappy at the hotel suggestion that we lied as illustrated by their attitude!

  • Stayed: November 2006
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
3  Thank LuxuryTrainClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLDFIELDS_MANAGEMENT, Senior Manager at Oldfields House, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2006

We were most dissappointed to read this review by a "guest" who did not actually stay at Oldfields, and who therefore has unfairly rated us for "value", "check-in" and "service".
A reservation was indeed made by this "guest " for 2 nights in December. The reservation was confirmed by email which also outlined our cancellation/no show policy. We did not receive any notification of a cancellation either by telephone or email and therefore a charge was made as the "guest" did not show up. After speaking to the "guest" and as a good will gesture we offered to refund half of the payment. Which we believe was a fair compromise.This obviously was not acceptable to her husband who made his views very clearly over the telephone. After further correspondence with the "guest" we decided to make a full refund of payment as we pride ourselves on our customer service and did not want any ill feeling. Which is why we were most surprised and dissappointed to read this review which was written by her husband.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
1,169 reviews
0.5 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#15 of 155 in Bath
396 reviews
0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 155 in Bath
1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#10 of 155 in Bath
1,012 reviews
0 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 155 in Bath
1,115 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 155 in Bath
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Address: 102 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £72 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 18 en-suite bedrooms, massage room, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing