We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Getaway”
Review of Oldfields House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oldfields House
Ranked #30 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2007

Listed as a Bed and Breakfast, but do not believe this, we would rate it better than many hotels we have stayed in . Oldfields is a great place to stay and we were made welcome from the moment we arrived to the time we checked out. The accommodation was clean and nicely contemporary and the breakfasts were a treat.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Voyager1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,246)
There are newer reviews for Oldfields House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,094 - 1,100 of 1,246 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2007

Booked via laterooms.com. Good price for great place. Beautiful house, 10 min to citycentre on foot. Very warm welcome, extreamly pleasant host. Room and bath ok, great view over city. Good English breakfast, friendly service. One of best B&B in UK I have been so far (certainly for price).

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janpki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2007

Just to add to all the positive reviews, this B&B/Hotel was certainly one of the best hotels in England that we have stayed in.

The service and personal attention was amazing. We arrived early, but we were served tea/coffee and given restaurant advice, as we waited for our room to be made up. All the staff were friendly and helpful, when called upon.

Due to our late booking, we actually had to change rooms during our stay (all handled very well), so got to experience 2 different types of rooms. Both of which were of very high standards, and spotlessly clean. The only difference being, one having a few more luxuries like more space, a bath and a DVD player in the room (DVD's available form reception). The lesser of the two rooms still having aircon, flatscreen TV and being in a nice condition.

For us, the location wasn't a problem at all. The uphill walk being good to walk off all the food and cream teas. Plus, being out of the main town area made it quieter at night.
The only thing of note I would say, is that breakfast time is quite limited (I think 8-9.15 midweek), but it was certainly worth getting up early for.

Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpp17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2007

Oldfields is a lovely property with a pleasant staff. Like the previous poster mentioned, it is located up a long steep hill, and coming from the train station with 3 kids and 6 bags, our arrival was less than perfect. The beds are firm, the bathrooms large enough, and the food is good. We were surprised though, to find that none of the staff understood how to make a train reservation in England, nor do they keep a train time table in the establishment. This was almost absurd given how many guests arrive in Bath by train. Check-out is also a bit early (10:30) and given the uphill distance from the station, it is not convenient to leave luggage to go exploring. Overall, the hotel itself is lovely, but I would stay closer to town next time.

Stayed: August 2007
3  Thank usact
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OLDFIELDS_MANAGEMENT, Manager at Oldfields House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2007

The management thank you for your kind comments about Oldfields. However, we would like to highlight to potential guests that we do recommend in our booking confirmation to take a taxi from the station if you have heavy luggage with you. The cost of this, as per our booking confirmation, is no more than £3.50. If you prefer to arrange for a taxi prior to your arrival, we are happy to book one to meet you at the train station at a given time. We also provide directions by car and on foot from the train station on our booking confirmation.

The distance of our hotel from the train station is less than 0.7 miles or approximately 1 km. If you would like to view the route for yourself, visit Google Maps online. The start point is Bath Spa Railway Station, Dorchester Street, Bath, BA1 and the end point is Bath, BA2 3AL. We ask that future guests who consider walking from the train station bear in mind that half the walk is uphill and that luggage can prove cumbersome.

For those arriving by car rather than train, Oldfields can provide free off street and on street parking.

With regards to train times, I apologise profusely that you feel you were not helped sufficiently with your enquiries. We do not keep timetables on the property. We have free internet access available to everyone here and the most up-to-date times can be found online. Alternatively, we are happy to call National Rail Enquiries for you to get more detailed information from an operator and you can reserve tickets over the telephone. We are always happy to help and pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service.


Thank you again for your comments.

Claire Williams – Resident Manager.



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2007

This is truly a lovely hotel, elegant and refined. I stayed at Oldfields for one night in late July. The room I booked was tiny, with just a twin size bed, but because of the quality and style of the furnishings it was perfectly cozy; a good fit for a solo traveler. I also appreciated the many small touches of hospitality: kind and thoughtful staff, air conditioning (a rarity in Bath), a selection of magazines, complimentary cookies and a bottle of water in my room, a laptop computer with internet access free for guests to use in the parlor downstairs. My only misgivings relate to the hotel’s location. I arrived in Bath by train and decided to walk with a moderately heavy bag. At the time of my visit the train station was nearly surrounded by construction on a mammoth scale, which made following the hotel’s written directions disorienting. For those who plan to walk either from the station or to and from the city center, it is also important to understand that the hotel is located on a rather long and steep incline. The distance itself may not be great, but all of these factors combined will probably encourage me to explore other options closer to the center of town the next time I visit Bath.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank VT_Professor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

I stayed at the Oldfields in July. The staff went above and beyond their duties. They were all helpful and cheerful. They even let me behind the counter to use their personal computer to print out boarding passes for my flight before I left. I stayed in both a single room and one of the larger rooms. The larger room was definitely worth the extra money but the single room was comfortable. Visit the sitting area in the evening when it is all lit up with candles and read one of the complementary newspapers while enjoying the free coffee or tea. Breakfast is very good and has a vegetarian option. Also, after reading reviews here I was wondering how bad the hike up from the city is. It is a bit steep but not terrible, nothing to stop you from booking at this hotel

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tristan456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2007

I actually chose this hotel thanks to its #1 rating among bath hotels, and i wasn't let down.

from the minute i wrote the e-mail to the hotel enquiring about making a reservation, requesting a specific room (with a balcony - i read about it in a previous tripadvisor review) and making the payment through their secure site, everything went smoothly. i received my e-mail confirmation specifying the exact room we would be staying in, as well as a long list of personally recommended restaurants in the area.

upon arrival, we were welcomed with a smile from a friendly member of staff who explained a little about bath, showed us some places of interest in bath, and told us not to hesitate to call if we needed anything or had any more questions. he also showed us the computer with free broadband internet access for all guests, which is located in the "lobby" area with sofas, magazines and books. later on, they recommended a great italian restaurant (called Martini's) which we had dinner at that evening.

the room itself was not huge, but amply sized for our needs. it was clean, and had a nice double bed, small plasma TV, complimentary bottles of water and magazines, and a great balcony. the bathroom was spotless, with a range of Molton Brown soap/shampoos available. we even had a couple of nice white robes.

breakfast was included and great, and the menu was flexible. if you didn't want what was included in each specified item on the menu, you could pick and choose exactly what you wanted. the service was friendly and patient.

the only "problem" we experienced was the 15 minute (mostly) uphill walk to the hotel from the train station, but we did make it in the end (albeit with aching shin muscles!!) it's only 10 minutes when walking downhill into town!

all in all, i would recommend this place to anyone who prefers a small, more intimate lodging experience to a mass-market hotel chain.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank mamaruti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 31 in Bath
1,148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 157 in Bath
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 157 in Bath
1,091 reviews
0.9 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
0.9 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#39 of 157 in Bath
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oldfields House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oldfields House

Address: 102 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £93 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oldfields House 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This large, elegant Victorian property is typical of many Bath houses - superbly positioned and built of the honey-coloured stone for which the City is famous. The house is beautifully furnished with modern features, yet still retains its original character. Situated 10 minutes walk to the city centre and Bath Thermae Spa with its own private car park, Oldfields is the perfect choice for a visit to Bath. 18 en-suite bedrooms, massage room, a mix of traditional elegance and contemporary style. All offer flat screen televisions, direct dial telephone, hairdryers, Premium Brand toiletries, hospitality trays, DVD players and some have air-conditioning. There is wireless internet connectivity throughout. Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the city and includes full English, fresh seasonal fruits and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs, a vegetarian option, plus special diets can be catered for on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oldfields House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oldfields House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing