We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved!”
Review of Marlborough House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marlborough House
Ranked #18 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Absolutely loved everything about the Marlborough House! Owner Peter went over a map of Bath with us which was most helpful. Sarah & Lily are sweethearts and so helpful! Great location, huge/comfortable rooms (loved the bedding), delicious breakfast. Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bath. Highly recommend the Marlborough House and Peter's restaurant & tour recommendations.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
2  Thank Debi W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
There are newer reviews for Marlborough House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

176 - 182 of 507 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

Everything about the experience was amazing. Peter really went above and beyond by giving us a map with excellent directions to everything we wanted to see. The beds were super comfortable, the individual climate control in the rooms were fabulous, and the breakfast staff was great! My favorite part though was the art in the community areas of the house.

1  Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Before we arrived we were contacted by detailed and courteous email. On arrival we were greeted warmly, helped with luggage, given detailed info about where to eat, what to see, how to get where we needed to go, parking advice, maps etc THEN we were shown to the most stylishly appointed BnB room - just gorgeous. Spacious, pristine, so comfortable, bathroom lovely - tea, coffee, biscuits, complementary port. A breakfast menu and breakfast buffet to make your mouth water - cereals, muesli, organic and soy yogurts, different types of milk, fruit juices, fresh fruit - and that's before you order your individually cooked on the spot hot English breakfast from the menu. All served with the friendliest, least intrusive smiles and graciousness. Fabulous location in Bath, a short wall from everything you could want to see or do. Marlborough House, Peter and Lily made our stay in Bath a joy. Nothing was too much trouble. Even when we locked our keys in a suitcase Peter was there to help.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ouranita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

I stayed here during the Bath Christmas festivities.the room I had was excellent, spacious with a good size en-suite. It has great character throughout but is not modern. Something's just cannot be changed in older properties.
The staff are wonderful, led by the owner Peter, who does live on the premises, but doesn't stay there every minute of every day. This is, after all, a bed and breakfast, not an hotel.

Talking about breakfast, I am not a vegetarian but had no problem with the breakfasts. Great choices. Why don't people bother to read the information available when booking an hotel. It clearly states that it only offers vegetarian (or, indeed), vegan breakfasts.

Room Tip: The best room is room 1 on the ground floor, although room 2 is also very good.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theenglishcritic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We had a lovely time in Bath.
The hospitality at Marlborough House is second to none, it was incredibly welcoming.
They showed us where to go and suggested a walk to visit the town.
We stayed in the lovely room and it was perfect for the two of us. The en-suite bathroom was so spacious and the temperature and pressure of the shower was just right. I didn't want to get out! The bed was so comfortable I was out as soon as my head hit the pillow. The vegetarian breakfast was wonderful! Cereals, fresh baked breads and jams, fresh squeezed juices, tea and made to order breakfasts. I ordered the full English breakfast, which was delicious.
Peter, the owner, and the girls greeted us warmly, they are really nice people.
It was our first time in Bath and this place was beautiful. Highly recommended, we wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This was our first visit to Bath - and what a welcome, arriving at Marlborough House! It was 7pm on a Friday night, raining and very windy, and we were given the use of the guest house's parking permit (which was free as a guest). The owner, Peter, greeted us warmly and gave us a concise run-down of the ins-and-outs of the house and the area, taking time to show us, on a map, where everything in the city was. His intimate knowledge of Bath could not be better, which helped us to orientate ourselves around the city! Its location is perfect, being only a 10-15 minute walk via Royal Crescent - one of Bath's famous features - to the centre of the city. The Royal Baths and The Cathedral are both well worth a visit; we didn't get to see the fashion museum, but by all accounts, it, too, is worth a trip and is combined with The Royal Baths to form a discounted ticket for both attractions! These are all within walking distance of Marlborough House. There are numerous eateries in, and around, the centre; we chose the vegan/vegetarian options, those being our preferences. The accommodation - booked directly via the owner after an internet search for accommodation in Bath - was superb and could not be faulted, and prices fare well with prices in Bath. The room was clean, warm, homely and well-equipped - more than sufficient for our birthday weekend stay. The shower room was clean, fresh and well-appointed, and we were also surprised to find organic toiletries already there for our use. We were shown around the room by Peter and given detailed information on how to operate the television, the air con. and the mini-bar! A complementary carafe of sherry awaited us, which was a beautiful and generous touch - a welcome tipple after a wet-and-windy winter drive from Hertfordshire! The contents of the mini-bar were available for purchase, with prices listed clearly, and instructions on how to buy - we definitely availed ourselves of this service! The breakfasts provided could not be faulted - cooked and served by the wonderful Sarah and Lilly! They were friendly, welcoming and happy to provide whatever we requested, and we had warm conversations with them on numerous occasions. We would highly recommend staying at Marlborough House, as the welcome is warm, hospitality second to none, the facilities superb and the food delicious - all the ingredients that go into making a wonderful weekend in such a beautiful city! Highly recommended...

Room Tip: Book directly with the owner, as you will get a choice of room.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raphitoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

When looking on trip advisor and planning our trip to Bath, we thought Marlborough house looked perfect. However, when we arrived and saw our room, we were both very surprised how tired it looked, and also how small it was, especially the bathroom/shower room - if you are slightly tall, then this room is not for you!!
On our first night, at about midnight the fire alarm went off, and after about 5 minutes and us keep leaving our room to see what was happening, (there seemed to be NO staff/ owner to be seen) we thought we had better call the proprietor and inform him. He came along about 10 minutes later and would seem it was other guests in the house that were smoking. It was unsettling as we were at the top of the house, with no idea if there was a real fire going on below. The worst thing about it all was the fact that at no point on our stay there did we see owner or staff member there from the afternoon on wards, and we wonder if anyone actually lives there other than the guests? To us it felt more like a hostel, than a relaxing and welcoming guest house.

the location is good, and there is parking, but other than that we were very disappointed and won't be staying at Marlborough house again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.0 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#33 of 157 in Bath
1,046 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#48 of 157 in Bath
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 157 in Bath
382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Chestnuts House
Chestnuts House
#5 of 157 in Bath
941 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Henry Guest House
The Henry Guest House
#23 of 157 in Bath
819 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 157 in Bath
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough House

Address: 1 Marlborough Lane, Bath BA1 2NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £95 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting Victorian Town House, conveniently located to the Royal Crescent, Circus, Assembly Rooms, Guild Hall, Abbey, Roman Baths and Thermae Spas are all within 2 - 10 minutes walk. This 4 star Gold Award guest house has 6 fully air conditioned rooms, retaining many period features, and have been elegantly furnished to create a relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are different, some accommodate a family of 3 or 4. Have a minimum of a king or super king size beds, one has an antique four poster. We have parking facilities but are only available to those guest who book direct with us and not "on-line" Good discounts available for stays of 3 nights or more Sunday to Thursday. So call direct to get the best rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marlborough House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing