We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best B and B in Bath”
Review of Marlborough House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marlborough House
Ranked #18 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Have just returned from our seventh stay at Marlborough House. I think the reader will be able to gather that my husband and I think it is fantastic! The owner and staff are absolutely lovely - welcoming, friendly, helpful and so professional. The rooms are all beautifully light and clean and the location is perfect for the park, shops, restaurants, the abbey etc. The breakfasts are superb and we always eat far too much, simply because they are just so delicious!! Would thoroughly recommend Marlborough House to anyone wishing to have a wonderful stay in Bath.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pippa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

A lovely B&B with great breakfasts. We were in the Georgian Room, which overlooks the street. Spacious and comfortable and absolutely no problem with noise from the street. Handy to the Royal Crescent and a nice walk to the central part of the town. We'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VeeBee1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay at a B and B. Very charming room, albeit a bit small with low ceilings for my 6'4" husband. The breakfast was delicious and the location a nice 15 minute walk from downtown. The owner was able give lots if tips on places to eat and sites not to miss. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, although I would try for a larger room!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Mfox12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

Pete and Sara couldnt have been better hosts. Pete gave us a wonderful intro to Bath with ideas for sightseeing, food, etc. Sara made an amazing breakfast - she even took all the pith off the grapefruits. The triple room was lovely - we were three women who had just completed walking the Cotswold Way. The guest house is well situated close to the Park and a short walk to the Royal Crescent, the Circus and downtown. Would highly reocmmend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank judith01002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We chose this wonderful little Inn due to its location. We were visiting our daughter. It is on a quiet little street close to the Royal Park.Convenient to the heart of bath, a short walk. The inn was easy to find, located on a street corner. The room was very quiet, nicely appointed and the bed extremely comfortable. Nothing was lacking. The breakfast was delicious and the staff very sweet. They seemed to actually enjoy being wonderful hosts. We would love to return.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank djack7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We chose the Marlboro house based on Rick Steve's recommendation.
Experience was wonderful. Clean, beautiful rooms, wonderful food. Staff always available to answer our questions. Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Spend two days in Bath with my BFF. Had a great time! This guest house was the best location, with excellent, friendly service. Would highly recommend anyone visiting Bath to stay here!
Thank you very much, will be back to visit again someday :)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roxanna027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,446 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
6.0 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough House

Address: 1 Marlborough Lane, Bath BA1 2NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: £95 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting Victorian Town House, conveniently located to the Royal Crescent, Circus, Assembly Rooms, Guild Hall, Abbey, Roman Baths and Thermae Spas are all within 2 - 10 minutes walk. This 4 star Gold Award guest house has 6 fully air conditioned rooms, retaining many period features, and have been elegantly furnished to create a relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are different, some accommodate a family of 3 or 4. Have a minimum of a king or super king size beds, one has an antique four poster. We have parking facilities but are only available to those guest who book direct with us and not "on-line" Good discounts available for stays of 3 nights or more Sunday to Thursday. So call direct to get the best rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marlborough House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing