We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and helpful staff”
Review of Marlborough House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marlborough House
Ranked #21 of 158 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good location and helpful staff”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We arrived to a very informative and helpful peter. He had even put a route on the local map of what to see and how to get there. He helped us out by recommending some good places to eat at too.

The rooms were light and had complimentary water and tea making facilities. The bathroom was large and clean. There was a lovely big bath in our bathroom, but no plug so we couldn't use it. That was a shame.

The breakfast was very nice. Lots of fresh fruit and yogurts. As a aussie i was even impressed by a jar of vegemite on the breakfast tables!! There was no bacon and eggs and traditional English breakfasts, but when asked for a slight variation of a meal they were happy to oblige.

The M hotel is within walking distance to all the sights in bath which was very handy.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bectraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    435
    48
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
121
226
11
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed with Peter overnight with our 16 year old son for our eldest son's graduation. Very friendly and accommodating right from the start, room had plenty of space and Peter sorted out parking for us. Our shower was a little bit temperamental but we told Peter and he has taken it for action! Don't let that one small criticism put you off, Marlborough House was lovely and is thoroughly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We arrived at the Marborough House after a 10 hour flight and a drive from Heathrow and we were exhausted and still trying to adjust to the driving! We called, got great directions from Peter, and he was waiting outside and even parked the car for us. He then showed us on the map all the things to do, restaurants etc. He was great as were Sarah and Lily. Breakfast is good, room (Georgian) was very comfortable with a view to the street and the public gardens. It is centrally located so we walked everywhere. Loved our stay and would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Liked our room...The Georgian as it was comfortable, big enough, and a view to the street and public...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

My friend and I shared the Edwardian Room on the first floor. It was light and airy, with high ceilings and big windows. The beds were comfy, and the room had sufficient space so we weren't on top of each other the whole time. The bathroom is a bit worn, but that kind of fit the sort of shabby-genteel vibe of the room, which was old-fashioned and contemporary at once (all in a good way).

Sara greeted us with plenty of information; she was a wonderful host. Breakfasts were plentiful and tasty, too.

On our last day there, my friend and I shared a bottle of wine out on the little patio in front. All around, a very nice stay!

Room Tip: The Edwardian Room was spacious, for an older inn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ltwau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed in M. house for a couple of days in April. We landed there on a very rainy day, soaking wet, with our 4-year-old in tow. But, Sarah, Lily and Peter were there to greet us on arrival, and helped lug our luggage all the way to the top floor where our room was. We had the Floral Room which was very comfortable. The en-suite was clean, well-equipped and nicely done, except that the shower would behave a bit unpredictably after about 10 minutes of use. The water would either stop altogether, or be icy cold, but we are not fussy travelers, and don't mind the occasional blast of icy cold water on a rainy day :). The wi-fi was a bit spotty , possibly due to being on the top floor, but it works well in the lobby.

Breakfast was really very very good, and Sarah and Lily make the most amazing omelettes. There is a wonderful variety of cereals, pastries, jellies, milks, fruits available. It is very clean and nicely laid out for guests.

Would highly recommend this place if you are passing through Bath for a few days and need a warm hospitable place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajparam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a lovely weekend away in bath. We consider ourselves very lucky to have found such a gem of a hotel. We were greeted by name on arrival and offered loads of tips on things to do and places to visit. The hotel and our room were charming, breakfast fabulous and staff an absolute joy. To top it all off the location is super, just a short walk from everything. We'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Possibly go for a room a little lower down as the water pressure isn't great on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swanage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I love this place. I visited with two friends last weekend having been before with my husband. The house is so well presented and Peter and his staff fall over themselves to make you feel welcome. Beautiful comfy rooms and delicious breakfast, even though I am a huge meat eater! So close to the centre of Bath too, will come back here every time : )

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Notters79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.0 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#32 of 158 in Bath
1,029 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#12 of 158 in Bath
1,041 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#46 of 158 in Bath
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#57 of 158 in Bath
290 reviews
0.2 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#17 of 158 in Bath
370 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 158 in Bath
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough House

Property: Marlborough House
Address: 1 Marlborough Lane, Bath BA1 2NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An enchanting Victorian Town House, conveniently located to the Royal Crescent, Circus, Assembly Rooms, Guild Hall, Abbey, Roman Baths and Thermae Spas are all within 2 - 10 minutes walk. This 4 star Gold Award guest house has 6 fully air conditioned rooms, retaining many period features, and have been elegantly furnished to create a relaxing atmosphere. All rooms are different, some accommodate a family of 3 or 4. Have a minimum of a king or super king size beds, one has an antique four poster. We have parking facilities but are only available to those guest who book direct with us and not "on-line" Good discounts available for stays of 3 nights or more Sunday to Thursday. So call direct to get the best rates. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Marlborough House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing