We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ayrlington
Nearby Hotels
US$496
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$378
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$218
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Holiday Inn Express Bath(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$108
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Bailbrook House Hotel(Bath)(Great Value!)
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Bath Priory(Bath)
US$346
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$143
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$209
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,223)
Filter reviews
1,223 results
Traveller rating
761
317
95
29
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
761
317
95
29
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand suiteempire roomzen roomdarwin roomtulip roomcity centrechinese roombath abbeybeautiful gardenrugby groundlovely hotelbreakfast was excellentten minute walktop floorcar parkbreakfast roomunderfloor heating
Filter
Updating list...
1,019 - 1,024 of 1,223 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2011

Had a lovely break in Bath and as a first time visit was very pleased I booked The Ayrlington for its beautiful furnishings and great location within walking distance to city centre.
The staff were the most friendliest , very welcoming and knowledgeable and nothing you ask for is too much trouble..Had drinks in beautiful lounge on arrival and a full english breakfast every morning. Rooms are stunning,comfortable and fully equiped. This hotel made my visit to bath and will be booking this hotel on any future visits.

Stayed: April 2011
1  Thank clara072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We recently visited Bath for the first time and were very fortunate to find a really great hotel/guest house "The Ayrlington".
Very convienient position, only a short walk from the centre of Bath and attractions, and with the bonus of adequate free parking for all guests. Our room at the front of the hotel was very spacious and those guests staying at the rear of the hotel had a good view over interesting well kept gardens. We found the staff very helpful and the breakfasts were very well prepared and served.
I would thoroughly recommernd this hotel for those intending a stay in Bath in the future

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammydogRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

We just stayed at the Ayrlington for a weekend break on the recommedation of my daughter who stayed there 2 months ago, we were not disappointed. We stayed in a deluxe room which was light and airy with a comfortable kingsize bed which overlooked the beautiful and well maintained asian themed garden. The owner and his staff are all friendly and make you feel at home, providing information on walks, restaurants and places of interest. The full english breakfast was probably one of the nicest I have had, hot, fresh and delivered to the table so quickly by friendly enthusiastic staff in a pretty breakfast room overlooking the garden. The hotel is located just a 10 minute easy walk from the city centre where there is so much to see. Bath is such a clean and beautiful city with lovely parks and garden areas to sit and admire the Georgian feautres of the buildings and the river. The residents of Bath are so friendly and helpful, twice we were asked if we needed help finding a location as we were standing staring at our street map. I would love to visit Bath again and would definitely book into the Ayrlington again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beck60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Found this place on TA and drove up without booking. Rate reduced from 150 GBP to 100 GBP as it was 6pm.

Very nice residence, stately home. Lovely rooms, but old style fittings. Nice modern TV. Free wifi in room which was amazing. Very comfortable bed, nice staff. Parking on site, but gets very full and some creative parking has to be done to fit everyone in!

Great hot breakfast.

Lovely gardens, and short ten minute walk to town. Not in a central location however.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2011

For starters you should know we didn't even spend the night because there were so many things wrong!!
I wont go into specifics but the worst part of our few hours there was when what a presume was the owner (an Asian lady) got angry with me and said i was being unreasonable because i expected there to be heat in our room (in January!!) and hot water for a shower after 30 hours of travel.
Anyway the rooms from what i saw were very nice and spacious, the views from the upstairs was very nice.
Bath is now one of my favourite places in the world and i will return, but we certainly wouldn't even consider staying at the Ayrlington.
As an interesting side note this was the only accomodation on our recent trip we booked without referring to TripAdvisor first, and it was the only time we had any issues. Thanks tripadvisor and thanks to everyone for their reviews :)

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Semily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
simondirect, Owner at The Ayrlington, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2011

We don't normally respond to negative reviews and prefer instead to let the vast majority (over 80%) of the 185 reviewers who have, over the past 8+ years,rated us as excellent or very good speak for us.

That doesn't mean of course that we don't , on the odd occasion and like any business,have problems but when these happen we always try and deal with them promptly and efficiently.

On this occasion, the room that this reviewer had booked did indeed have a mechanical problem with it's heating and hot water.The receptionist and my co owner responded by offering them alternative rooms of the same standard which did have hot water and back up heating.Initially the reviewer seemed happy with this solution but they later decided that they wanted to move hotels.

We completely understand that, after a 30 hr flight, some travellers arrive in a tired and somewhat distressed state but we did honestly try to resolve the situation as best we could.

They were given every assistance in finding an alternative nearby hotel with us negotiating a competitive rate for them.

We therefore feel that their subsequent review of their 'stay' is a tad one sided and wanted therefore to offer a little balance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews