We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exquisite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ayrlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ayrlington
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Small town, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exquisite!”
Reviewed 31 December 2007

From the friendly prompt replies to my emails, to our wish at the last minute to alter our reservation, to our experience of the room, dining room, breakfast, and gardens, this is a magnificent location. The interior decoration is a feast for the eyes, as is the combination of English and oriental in the mediative gardens. Everything about the hotel speaks of beauty, calm, caring, clean, and delicious. A 10 minute walk to downtown Bath makes it an ideal location. We stayed in 2 other locations in southern England, and this hotel definitely topped the others, and the price was better for the value. Enjoy yourself. I'd return in a minute.
Brenda Kotras

  • Liked — peacefulness of decor, in and out
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Ontario85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    628
    291
    92
    25
    21
See reviews for
90
776
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2007

We stayed in the Empire suite in the Arlington, which is a lovely room. Wonderful view and lovely bed! Although we did find the room very warm at night and you have to remembr to turn the heating down, but this is much better than feeling cold.
We had a lovely welcome by staff and cats, and enjoyed the use of the bar before going out to dinner.

Car parking very handy for walking into Bath, nice to be able to leave the car safely and for free, while exploring the city.

The bathroom didn't quite live up to the rest of the room, but would diffinately visit again and recommebd to friends.

Overall a lovely stay in a five star B&B

  • Liked — Four poster bed!
  • Disliked — Bathroom
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murphysgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2007

Researched a place to stay in Bath a few months prior to going which was walking distance from the centre and available 8 - 11th Dec 2007. My husband & I went with my mother & father-in-law for a short break to incorporate seeing the last day and a half of Christmas markets. Price per room I did think was a bit steep at £125 per room per night for Sat, same for Sun and a small reduction on a Monday at £100 per night.
However I do recall from my research that getting somewhere close to the city centre with on-site parking was quite tricky.
The fact the 2 storey building doesn't have a lift I thought was odd for a tourist board to award it 5 stars. My 67 year old father-in-law would definetly have used a lift.
The rooms are named rather than numbered. We were in 'Bamboo' which was next door to my in-laws which was 'Iris'. Our room was definetly bigger than theirs and occupied a corner plot of the building, but reached from front to back as well which meant we had views across the whole of Bath.
The room temperature was great for me as it seemed warm day & night. My in-laws were too hot in their room so they had the window open all night. Both our rooms had a safe in, but neither of us used them. A mini fridge would have been more useful (but that might be just me) Complimentary tea, and coffee was provided in the rooms each day along with complimentary hot chocolate, biscuits and 2 small bottles of water (hence why a fridge might be nice). Cleanliness standards were high from what I saw during my 3-night stay. All staff were friendly and helpful and the reception is manned from about 8am - midnight, which was located next to the bar/lounge so not a problem purchasing a tipple. The breakfasts themselves were tasty with a good selection on the full english as well as fruit juice, fruit, cereal, yoghurt. The 3rd morning was a little amusing as a new member of staff was on her first morning working with another more experienced member, but our orders got muddled and it was like watching a scene from Fawlty Towers. They don't offer evening meal which is a little strange for a place calling itself a hotel. BE WARNED if you park under the tree out the front of the hotel. We think there must have been dogs living in the trees based on the size of the doings all over the car by the 3rd day of having not used the car. I didn't like the location of the TV in 'Bamboo' as it was too low down and far away from the bed. It would have been better to have been raised up on wall brackets in a corner closer to the bed........but that's my personal feelings as I love watching TV in bed!

  • Liked — Views over Bath
  • Disliked — Bad location of TV in our room.........and no lift
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simone10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ironbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2007

My husband and I just returned from a weekend trip to Bath. We thought that the Ayrlington Hotel would be a special treat but unfortunately we were rather disappointed. (We booked one of the best rooms) It is advertised as 5* but I would say it is more 4*. The hotel is well situated for sight seeing, the staff were friendly and the hotel warm. However our bathroom needed sprucing up, the shower was either too hot or too cold, the toiletries were very meagre and there was mould in parts of the bath/shower. (The shower also created an interesting pond in the bathroom) The tea/coffee making facilities were not complete so we could not make a cup of tea. Breakfast was ok, but why the lack of milk? Everyone had to ask for more milk for their cereal and tea. We got rather tired of having to ask for everything which should have been provided.
Perhaps we are too fussy, but we have stayed at modest B & B's which were better equipted. We were unable to make any comment to the reception staff on leaving as there were too many people waiting.

  • Liked — position in town and friendly staff
  • Disliked — value for money
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
100 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2007

Stayed here as part of a family reunion and found the hotel to be excellent. All the rooms were nicely decorated, the ambience was relaxing and the location was ideal - only a ten minute walk into the centre of Bath. The hotel does not do evening meals - it just has a breakfast room, but the breakfasts were very good. The only minor irritation was that breakfast finished by about 9.15am - it would have been good to extend to 10am at weekends if not all week.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Getupandgotoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 October 2007

We have just returned from a 3 night break at The Ayrlington. Everything at the hotel exceeded our expectations. It lived up to every one of it's 5 stars. The rooms are beautiful, the staff are friendly and the breakfast excellent. We would highly recommend it.

Mr & Mrs Posner
Middlesex

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank ARPOSNER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Yank
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2007

The level of comfort at this Bath hotel is topnotch. We stayed in the
Bamboo, which is a Standard bedroom, but it was quite spacious and has a beautiful view of the Abbey. The included full English breakfast was delightful and delicious and the service could not have been better.

The hotel's garden is stunning. I must come back in the spring, for sure. The owner's have a keen eye for design and it shows.

The hotel is located just a short walk from town center, so it's very
convenient.

Please ask Audrey for places to eat in town, we tried some of her recommendations and they were perfect!

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
Thank sstackwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
1,318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
1,202 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
1,334 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayrlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayrlington

Property: The Ayrlington
Address: 24-25 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ayrlington 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of golden Bath stone, The Ayrlington is a large and handsome English Heritage listed building set in a splendid walled oriental garden with exceptional views of the City and its medieval Abbey. Bath's magnificent historic sites, speciality shops and excellent restaurants are all just a five minutes level stroll away. The Ayrlington's elegant and tranquil interior is a graceful blend of English and Asian antiques, artwork, fine fabrics and Egyptian cotton bedlinen - all 18 bedrooms have an individual theme and are beautifully furnished, some with four poster beds. The emphasis is on creating an atmosphere of peace and tranquility in the centre of Bath's vibrant city centre. The Ayrlington has a licensed residents' bar, secure on-site private parking and is entirely non smoking. We do not accept children under 5 years of age. The Ayrlington's ongoing commitment to quality has brought some well deserved and hard earned awards - five stars from The AA and Visit Britain, AA Premier Collection, a listing in The Good Hotel Guide and multiple Bath in Bloom garden awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ayrlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing