We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“spa treat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ayrlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ayrlington
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
lancashire
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“spa treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at the Ayrlington for three days in a superior room which entitled us to a free two hour session at the thermal spa,this we can greatly recommend.All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.It has the advantage of being so close to the centre and a free car park. We were accommodated in the chinese room,mainly because I have a mobility problem .The room was large and comfortable ,but no outlook only onto the car park,therefore I would definitely recommend one overlooking the garden if you have no disability problems.Yes the rooms are expensive for a B&B but you have the pleasure of the centre of bath on your doorstep!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rossendalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,037 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    618
    283
    92
    25
    19
See reviews for
87
764
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is a great little hotel in a quiet spot. The room is clean, the bed is comfortable and the bathroom is large and well stocked. Additional room amenities, including TV, CD/iPod player, coffee/tea maker and a great view add to the stay. As a North American traveller, I can say it is more like our B&Bs than our hotels, but as a discerning traveller, I can also say that this is a clean, quiet hotel, with a welcoming professional staff. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeVictWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kootenays, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We were able to park our rental car for the 2 days we stayed here. Easy walk into Bath, close to shopping, restaurants, entertainment, tourist attractions. Audrey at the front desk was a delight - welcoming, friendly, very helpful. Our room was lovely - my husband & I had the 4 poster bed, and our daughter had the single. This may sound cramped, but the room is large enough to accommodate the furnishings easily. Lovely view from our window, and a terrific large ensuite bathroom. Breakfast is lovely, and there's also a common parlour where you can have a glass of wine or drink if you choose (no, not for free!). I would have liked a glass of wine before bed our first evening, but there are 2 resident cats - my allergies wouldn't permit! It was the most expensive B & B we stayed at on our 3 week tour of England, Ireland (north & republic), Scotland, Wales & I have to admit, I'm not sure that such an exorbitant rate is quite justified. But we could certainly have said no! We opted to stay for 2 nights. We generally choose 4 stars or better in our travels, and this guest house definitely qualifies.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KellyBS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

I find the five star rating highly dubious for this lodging.
The guesthouse is in urgent need of repair and a fresh coat of paint inside. Similar comments could be made for the wardrobes and beds. The cushions looked slightly moth-eaten. It looked like that once upon a time, the house may have looked better. There were lots of Chinese and other Asian antiques scattered around the place, some of which were of great quality, but the place looked very tired. The breakfast was the least impressive I've ever had in England in lodgings of similar price ranges - the toast was charred black, the scrambled eggs looked like they'd been air-dried - very much in keeping with the rest of the ambience.
Having said that, the toilets were fairly clean, and the gardens large and pretty. It's winning streak is it's location, at very walkable distance from city center.
Service is polite and friendly, but five stars would be pushing it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lwckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipstones, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

The Ayrlington markets itself fantastically. It makes a big thing about how it has been awarded 5 stars, and calls itself a hotel. First thing to note is that it gets 5 stars based on the AA's guest house criteria. If it were a Hotel it would get 3 star.

So, good points then.
We stayed in The Garden Room, which is simply massive. A king size bed, 2 sets of drawers, a dressing table, 2 easy chairs and a wonderfully ornate fireplace, and still room a plenty to swing several cats. Add to this a large under stairs storage area, and large bathroom with fantastic shower.
It also has wonderful views of a beautifully manicured and maintained garden.
Free parking, with just a 2 minute walk to the centre of Bath are also huge plus points. Finally, the breakfast is good quality, fresh, plentiful and served by excellent waitresses who clear empty plates from your table within a minute, and always with a smile.
The owner, an extremely pleasant and friendly Asian lady is very proud of her culture and adorns the walls and hallways with beautiful art and antiques.

Nowhere is perfect however, and The Ayrlington is no exception.
Our room was down 2 flights of stairs after the initial climb into the guest house. No one offered to help with our luggage.
Not the establishments fault, but at 4:30am each morning the seagulls and geese sounded like they were re-enacting WWII outside the window.
The attention to detail was poor, with the room having flaking paint, broken toilet, cracked window and mould and mildew a plenty. We even had to go upstairs to reception to ask for another roll of toilet paper, which is a disgrace.
The morning clean involved sweeping the cheap laminate floor detritus behind the door and leaving it there.

We go away 6 times a year. I take my Wife away, and we stay in top quality hotels, which this says it is. From experience, it very definitely isn't. When we take the children with us, we stay in B&B's, which is what this is.

Would I recommend it? Yes, if you accept the limitations and look past the spurious marketing, it is a reasonable B&B very close to everything in Bath. If I was taking the children, I would stay here, except, they don't take children.

Would I stay here again. Definitely not.

The final point to note. Those who have rated The Ayrlington as terrible, have had a reply from the owner, saying they will ignore the review, preferring instead to accept that 80% have rated it as good or better. With 16 rooms, 25% rating The Ayrlington as average or worse, means at any one time, 4 rooms are unhappy with their stay. If the owners think this is good enough, they seriously need to raise their expectations.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGD1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

Great carpark close to city centre. Impressive building and well laid out gardens. Walk past the bins to reception and you will be met with a charming, elegant interior with good size rooms, a bar and drawing room.

Room - large character room with thoughtful touches. We had A four poster bed that was comfy although the bedding didn't fit. The room was thick with dust and the mirror was dirty. The large bathroom had pubic hair in the bath and hair in the plug hole. The shower screen was also broken.
Great view over the garden and a welcome aircon unit.

Breakfast - full breakfast was one sausage, two bacon, one egg and three mushrooms. Plenty of toast, fruit and yoghurt etc.

The five stars must have been awarded a few years ago as the place is ready for a tidy up.

Overall, nice place but not five star. We received an immediate discount to a more realistic price when we pointed out our concerns when we booked out.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank websling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Just a short walk from Bath city centre, this hotel is just wonderful.
On arrival, we were given lots of tips and brochures and a map to get us started.
The bedroom was lovely and it was nice to have the ability to stay in and watch DVDs aswell as adventuring.
Breakfast was great, cooked as requested and it felt almost like home except for the other guests.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougal84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayrlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayrlington

Property: The Ayrlington
Address: 24-25 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ayrlington 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of golden Bath stone, The Ayrlington is a large and handsome English Heritage listed building set in a splendid walled oriental garden with exceptional views of the City and its medieval Abbey. Bath's magnificent historic sites, speciality shops and excellent restaurants are all just a five minutes level stroll away. The Ayrlington's elegant and tranquil interior is a graceful blend of English and Asian antiques, artwork, fine fabrics and Egyptian cotton bedlinen - all 18 bedrooms have an individual theme and are beautifully furnished, some with four poster beds. The emphasis is on creating an atmosphere of peace and tranquility in the centre of Bath's vibrant city centre. The Ayrlington has a licensed residents' bar, secure on-site private parking and is entirely non smoking. We do not accept children under 5 years of age. The Ayrlington's ongoing commitment to quality has brought some well deserved and hard earned awards - five stars from The AA and Visit Britain, AA Premier Collection, a listing in The Good Hotel Guide and multiple Bath in Bloom garden awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Ayrlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing