We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not five star”
Review of The Ayrlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ayrlington
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 October 2012 via mobile

Great location, friendly and obliging staff.
Nice and plentiful breakfasts.
Unfortunately, there were some less positive points. Our standard room was not at all clean, but won't go into that because the kindly gave us an upgrade to the garden room.
The bed was far too soft, the bathroom had black water stains in the shower and behind the taps. The light fixtures were not all working. Basically, the room and hotel was quite tired, old and outdated and needs a nice make over.
The ironing board had big burn marks and there was only one robe.
Spacious room but tired. If it were three star we would rate it as great. But for 5 star prices you hope for five star quality.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank straighttalking_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
There are newer reviews for The Ayrlington
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

862 - 868 of 1,148 reviews

Reviewed 20 September 2012

Stayed in 2 different rooms. The Garden room has a lovely view of the back garden. Bathroom a bit dated but adds to the charm. Then stayed upstairs in Siena room which faced the front. No problem with any street noise. Breakfasts really very good. Free parking. Easy walk into Bath.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelquest23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Too expensive for what it is, room was ok, most of the "hotel" needs cleaning, painting or general repairs, I always find it telling when the owner reserve the best parking space for herself!!

Nail clippings on the floor and don't even look under the bed!!!!

Breakfast is passable not great.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrahamKingLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed at the Ayrlington for three days in a superior room which entitled us to a free two hour session at the thermal spa,this we can greatly recommend.All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful.It has the advantage of being so close to the centre and a free car park. We were accommodated in the chinese room,mainly because I have a mobility problem .The room was large and comfortable ,but no outlook only onto the car park,therefore I would definitely recommend one overlooking the garden if you have no disability problems.Yes the rooms are expensive for a B&B but you have the pleasure of the centre of bath on your doorstep!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rossendalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This is a great little hotel in a quiet spot. The room is clean, the bed is comfortable and the bathroom is large and well stocked. Additional room amenities, including TV, CD/iPod player, coffee/tea maker and a great view add to the stay. As a North American traveller, I can say it is more like our B&Bs than our hotels, but as a discerning traveller, I can also say that this is a clean, quiet hotel, with a welcoming professional staff. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeVictWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We were able to park our rental car for the 2 days we stayed here. Easy walk into Bath, close to shopping, restaurants, entertainment, tourist attractions. Audrey at the front desk was a delight - welcoming, friendly, very helpful. Our room was lovely - my husband & I had the 4 poster bed, and our daughter had the single. This may sound cramped, but the room is large enough to accommodate the furnishings easily. Lovely view from our window, and a terrific large ensuite bathroom. Breakfast is lovely, and there's also a common parlour where you can have a glass of wine or drink if you choose (no, not for free!). I would have liked a glass of wine before bed our first evening, but there are 2 resident cats - my allergies wouldn't permit! It was the most expensive B & B we stayed at on our 3 week tour of England, Ireland (north & republic), Scotland, Wales & I have to admit, I'm not sure that such an exorbitant rate is quite justified. But we could certainly have said no! We opted to stay for 2 nights. We generally choose 4 stars or better in our travels, and this guest house definitely qualifies.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KellyBS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

I find the five star rating highly dubious for this lodging.
The guesthouse is in urgent need of repair and a fresh coat of paint inside. Similar comments could be made for the wardrobes and beds. The cushions looked slightly moth-eaten. It looked like that once upon a time, the house may have looked better. There were lots of Chinese and other Asian antiques scattered around the place, some of which were of great quality, but the place looked very tired. The breakfast was the least impressive I've ever had in England in lodgings of similar price ranges - the toast was charred black, the scrambled eggs looked like they'd been air-dried - very much in keeping with the rest of the ambience.
Having said that, the toilets were fairly clean, and the gardens large and pretty. It's winning streak is it's location, at very walkable distance from city center.
Service is polite and friendly, but five stars would be pushing it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lwckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,413 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayrlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayrlington

Address: 24-25 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £112 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ayrlington 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of golden Bath stone, The Ayrlington is a large and handsome English Heritage listed building set in a splendid walled oriental garden with exceptional views of the City and its medieval Abbey. Bath's magnificent historic sites, speciality shops and excellent restaurants are all just a five minutes level stroll away. The Ayrlington's elegant and tranquil interior is a graceful blend of English and Asian antiques, artwork, fine fabrics and Egyptian cotton bedlinen - all 18 bedrooms have an individual theme and are beautifully furnished, some with four poster beds. The emphasis is on creating an atmosphere of peace and tranquility in the centre of Bath's vibrant city centre. The Ayrlington has a licensed residents' bar, secure on-site private parking and is entirely non smoking. We do not accept children under 5 years of age. The Ayrlington's ongoing commitment to quality has brought some well deserved and hard earned awards - five stars from The AA and Visit Britain, AA Premier Collection, a listing in The Good Hotel Guide and multiple Bath in Bloom garden awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ayrlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing