We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and helpful staff”
Review of The Ayrlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ayrlington
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good location and helpful staff”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This hotel is in a nice location, not too far away from the attractions. I couldn't always get WiFi in the hotel room but I didn't mind too much. The breakfast is cooked to your liking, the room was clean and the bath pristine. Great views of the city are available from the room on the top floor, of course there is no lift so try not to bring everything on your visit here! Some people have commented on the bizarre decor, don't let it deter you!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,078 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    292
    92
    25
    21
See reviews for
92
792
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonds, Washington
Level Contributor
192 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We took the train from London to Bath, and had some difficulties finding the hotel. We asked a couple of locals who did not recognize the name of the hotel, and could not help us based on the address. We wandered around for a bit, and literally stumbled upon it. The hotel is not as centrally located as i thought it would be to the downtown area, but it is only about a ten minute walk. It really is a gem of a B&B, the room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. Because it is not in the center of town, it is very quiet. Breakfast was satisfying, but nothing to write home about. Bath is a great town to explore, don't forget to go to the Baths! We would stay at this B&B again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tlawish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Ayrlington is a very traditional B & B in a lovely location. We stayed in the Abbey room with a beautiful view across to.......well, the abbey! The room was more than adequate, if a little bit blue in decor. We couldnt fault the facilities, the wifi worked fine in our room but can apparently be hit and miss in some. The nice thing about the Aylington is that there are no hidden extras, parking, wifi, full breakfast (tasy and plentiful) are all included. The parking is a godsend as parking in Bath is not easy. The hotel is only a brisk 15 mins walk from the centre; do stop and browse the antique map shop on the Pultenay Bridge - it's fascinating. Dont stay here expecting a 5* hotel, it's not, but a very high quality B&B it certainly is.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynjohn2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Words fail me !
I cannot see how the reviews on the Hotel website match the reality of our experience.

This was an adaquate bed and breakfast however it was charging for a standard that it certainly did not meet. The taps in our room were grubby, with limescale craters where the Hot and Cold labels should be. It was over heated, uncomfortable and breakfast was mediocre.

If I had paid normal b and b rates this may have been acceptable, howevere marketing this venue as 5 star and charging 5 star prices for these facilities has left a very unpleasant aftertaste!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sjt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chipping Campden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We actually chose the Ayrlington after pouring over Trip Advisor and it came up trumps. Living in the sticks and not very good sleeping with traffic noise we specifically asked for the Garden Room at the back (as per earlier reviews) which was perfect - so quiet - a lovely spacious, clean contemporary room. The bathroom wasn't boutique hotel - but then the place wasn't advertised as such. Neither did we expect that... we just wanted a base... someone near to town (a really lovely 5min walk in), with free parking and close to the 2 restaurants we wanted to go to (Sotto Sotto and La Perla). We paid £140 which we felt was totally fair and just. The breakfast was excellent and despite having forgotton to preorder salmon and scrambled eggs the night before instead of a full English the kitchen still rustled one up... full selection of teas... great self service too incl fresh fruit salad and yoghurts. And the one over riding thing we felt was it was so so clean.... the carpets looked brand new and perfect. The staff were all so friendly, the owner adorable.... oh and with the Eastern influences there were some lovely Buddahs and artifacts about the house which fitted in beautifully and set it away from the 'norm'. The garden was lovely even in the middle of winter - imagine in the summer its stunning with the zen garden patch and the pond.... would absolutely stay here next trip down.... brilliant value for money and perfectly positioned. Thank you!

Room Tip: We chose the Garden Room which is at the back of the hotel - it is a more contemporary room - flat s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Little_Soap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We have now stayed at the Ayrlington 5 times over the past 6 or 7 years and we find it the perfect base from which to explore the beautiful city of Bath. The rooms do vary in size and style, but generally there is something for everyone. The welcome is very good and the rooms always clean and tidy. We usually try to book the Abbey room as it looks out over the Recreation ground (one of our reasons to visit Bath is to watch the rugby) and over to Bath Abbey and the Old Empire Hotel buidling. The lounge with a small bar is a nice place to relax either after a long days walking round the city or for an early evening aperitif before going out to the restaurant of your choice (they give you a list/map of recommended restaurants to visit). The rooms we have stayed are all comfortable, although the decoration could do with a bit of touching up in places. The shower screen in our room needed a new seal along the bottom to stop the water going on to the floor and the bath could do with replacing as the jacuzzi no longers works (but the jacuzzi was not necessary really).
The nice touches are the tea/coffee/chocolate along with the biscuits. The CD/Ipod dock/DAB radio was nice but I couldn't get the radio off Radio 3 (not everyones choice..). Breakfasts were very nice with a good variety.
There is parking available but this time we let the train take the strain and the hotel is only a 10-15 minute walk from the station (Taxis are available).

All in all a great place to stay and we will definitely be back again soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LevingtonJed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Firstly the staff. Hannah(?) the receptionist when we arrived was fantastic so welcoming and showed us to our room, she is a real asset. The staff at Breakfast were also excellent and friendly. There is a bar and a lovely lounge but only breakfast is served. We were given the option of a full breakfast in a dinning room or a continental breakfast in our room - a nice touch. The public areas were decorated with asian touches - we liked that and found it added something.

The location is excellent being a 5-10 minute walk to Pulteney Bridge and Bath Abbey.

We had the Rose room which is at the back of the house and it was beautifully quiet and looked over an exquisitely kept garden, again with asian touches and a superb view over to Bath Abbey.

The bed was very comfortable indeed.

The breakfast was cooked fresh and was excellent - the option of a vegetarian breakfast was excellent.

This really is a B&B rather than a hotel and the only area for improvement would be that the decor and fittings in the room, whilst superbly clean and comfortable, really needs a refresh at the prices being charged which we consider on the high side.

Room Tip: Ask for a view over garden and the Abbey
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seanpmoran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayrlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayrlington

Property: The Ayrlington
Address: 24-25 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ayrlington 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of golden Bath stone, The Ayrlington is a large and handsome English Heritage listed building set in a splendid walled oriental garden with exceptional views of the City and its medieval Abbey. Bath's magnificent historic sites, speciality shops and excellent restaurants are all just a five minutes level stroll away. The Ayrlington's elegant and tranquil interior is a graceful blend of English and Asian antiques, artwork, fine fabrics and Egyptian cotton bedlinen - all 18 bedrooms have an individual theme and are beautifully furnished, some with four poster beds. The emphasis is on creating an atmosphere of peace and tranquility in the centre of Bath's vibrant city centre. The Ayrlington has a licensed residents' bar, secure on-site private parking and is entirely non smoking. We do not accept children under 5 years of age. The Ayrlington's ongoing commitment to quality has brought some well deserved and hard earned awards - five stars from The AA and Visit Britain, AA Premier Collection, a listing in The Good Hotel Guide and multiple Bath in Bloom garden awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Ayrlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing