We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 Star Hotel”
Review of The Ayrlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ayrlington
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 April 2013

On arriving at The Ayrlington the first problem was a lack of parking. The next was that that there is no lift, so we had to climb four flights of stairs to get to our room and with a heavy suite case is not one that I would like to repeat. Room was a bit tired and could have done with a refurb. Breakfast was average. On the plus side, staff are very helpfull and provide a good service. The Ayrlington is very central to Bath, but should be graded as a 3 to 4 star bed breakfast, as it is definitely not 5 star as advertised. Should you choose to stay at The Ayrlington, ask for a room at the back, as the ones at the front are adjacent to the main road and therefore noisy.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rogerc700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,167)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

848 - 854 of 1,167 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2013

I stayed here for the weekend for a girls shopping weekend. The hotel was very well situated for walking into the centre. The service was fanastic all the staff were very friendly. The room was lovely and clean and the breakfast was wonderful . The hotel is very beautiful and all that we needed.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LynnMorrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2013

This hotel is in a nice location, not too far away from the attractions. I couldn't always get WiFi in the hotel room but I didn't mind too much. The breakfast is cooked to your liking, the room was clean and the bath pristine. Great views of the city are available from the room on the top floor, of course there is no lift so try not to bring everything on your visit here! Some people have commented on the bizarre decor, don't let it deter you!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adya M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We took the train from London to Bath, and had some difficulties finding the hotel. We asked a couple of locals who did not recognize the name of the hotel, and could not help us based on the address. We wandered around for a bit, and literally stumbled upon it. The hotel is not as centrally located as i thought it would be to the downtown area, but it is only about a ten minute walk. It really is a gem of a B&B, the room was spacious and the bed very comfortable. Because it is not in the center of town, it is very quiet. Breakfast was satisfying, but nothing to write home about. Bath is a great town to explore, don't forget to go to the Baths! We would stay at this B&B again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlawish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The Ayrlington is a very traditional B & B in a lovely location. We stayed in the Abbey room with a beautiful view across to.......well, the abbey! The room was more than adequate, if a little bit blue in decor. We couldnt fault the facilities, the wifi worked fine in our room but can apparently be hit and miss in some. The nice thing about the Aylington is that there are no hidden extras, parking, wifi, full breakfast (tasy and plentiful) are all included. The parking is a godsend as parking in Bath is not easy. The hotel is only a brisk 15 mins walk from the centre; do stop and browse the antique map shop on the Pultenay Bridge - it's fascinating. Dont stay here expecting a 5* hotel, it's not, but a very high quality B&B it certainly is.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lynjohn2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Words fail me !
I cannot see how the reviews on the Hotel website match the reality of our experience.

This was an adaquate bed and breakfast however it was charging for a standard that it certainly did not meet. The taps in our room were grubby, with limescale craters where the Hot and Cold labels should be. It was over heated, uncomfortable and breakfast was mediocre.

If I had paid normal b and b rates this may have been acceptable, howevere marketing this venue as 5 star and charging 5 star prices for these facilities has left a very unpleasant aftertaste!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sjt2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We actually chose the Ayrlington after pouring over Trip Advisor and it came up trumps. Living in the sticks and not very good sleeping with traffic noise we specifically asked for the Garden Room at the back (as per earlier reviews) which was perfect - so quiet - a lovely spacious, clean contemporary room. The bathroom wasn't boutique hotel - but then the place wasn't advertised as such. Neither did we expect that... we just wanted a base... someone near to town (a really lovely 5min walk in), with free parking and close to the 2 restaurants we wanted to go to (Sotto Sotto and La Perla). We paid £140 which we felt was totally fair and just. The breakfast was excellent and despite having forgotton to preorder salmon and scrambled eggs the night before instead of a full English the kitchen still rustled one up... full selection of teas... great self service too incl fresh fruit salad and yoghurts. And the one over riding thing we felt was it was so so clean.... the carpets looked brand new and perfect. The staff were all so friendly, the owner adorable.... oh and with the Eastern influences there were some lovely Buddahs and artifacts about the house which fitted in beautifully and set it away from the 'norm'. The garden was lovely even in the middle of winter - imagine in the summer its stunning with the zen garden patch and the pond.... would absolutely stay here next trip down.... brilliant value for money and perfectly positioned. Thank you!

Room Tip: We chose the Garden Room which is at the back of the hotel - it is a more contemporary room - flat s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Little_Soap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,313 reviews
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayrlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayrlington

Address: 24-25 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £109 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ayrlington 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of golden Bath stone, The Ayrlington is a large and handsome English Heritage listed building set in a splendid walled oriental garden with exceptional views of the City and its medieval Abbey. Bath's magnificent historic sites, speciality shops and excellent restaurants are all just a five minutes level stroll away. The Ayrlington's elegant and tranquil interior is a graceful blend of English and Asian antiques, artwork, fine fabrics and Egyptian cotton bedlinen - all 18 bedrooms have an individual theme and are beautifully furnished, some with four poster beds. The emphasis is on creating an atmosphere of peace and tranquility in the centre of Bath's vibrant city centre. The Ayrlington has a licensed residents' bar, secure on-site private parking and is entirely non smoking. We do not accept children under 5 years of age. The Ayrlington's ongoing commitment to quality has brought some well deserved and hard earned awards - five stars from The AA and Visit Britain, AA Premier Collection, a listing in The Good Hotel Guide and multiple Bath in Bloom garden awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ayrlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing