We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant hotel in Bath!”
Review of The Ayrlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ayrlington
Ranked #9 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant hotel in Bath!”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked to stay in this hotel for 3 nights and it was lovely. Our room was right on the top floor and we didn't hear any noise from anyone else. The room is a little dated but everything was clean and the bed was very comfortable!
Breakfast in the mornings was fantastic and staff were very attentive. All staff we met around the hotel were very polite and nothing was too much trouble.
This hotel is in a brilliant location, it only took us 10 minutes to walk to the city centre and has free parking out the front.
Would definitely stay here again if we returned to Bath - thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    647
    292
    92
    25
    21
See reviews for
92
791
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Positives:
The B&B is extremely well situated and there is free parking, reception staff are kind & well mannered.
Negatives:
Our top floor room decor was dated and somewhat dingey.. we were facing the street and it was noisy. You cannot open the windows. Breakfast was disappointing.. opted for the cooked breakfast without a few items.. the waitress therefore offerd baked beans to compensate .. i thought this was good of her.. They arrived stone cold so I comented..she checked with the chef.. the reply was that they were cooked for 2mins!! no offer to re heat thems!! also no pastries or croissants even though they were advertised.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Star91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We decided to have a last minute weekend away in Bath is one of our favourite places to visit. We were going to visit by train but the improvements in the Severn Tunnel put paid to that. I visited Late rooms and trip advisor to see what rooms were available. As it was for that night, there wasnt many place available. I came across The Ayrlington and thought it looked a lovely place. The pictures of the rooms and the house were stunning. I compared the prices to the Holiday Inn and Hilton in Bath and for a 5* hotel, its cheaper than the chains. I immediately booked it, after reading such lovely reviews. I went onto their website and had a confirmation straight away.

We found the hotel no problem, parked the car in their free car park and knocked the door to check in. We were shown to their lounge to wait, I think her name was Becky, was showing other guests to their rooms who had arrived just before us. It is a beautiful lounge with stunning views over the garden.

Before we went to our room, Becky asked us if we've been to Bath before and wanted to know if we needed a map, which we did. She also said if we wanted any advice about where to go and any restaurants to recommend, to let her know. We were shown to the Pulteney Room and our first thoughts were "WOW" it was absolutely stunning with a 4 poster bed and fabulous views across to Bath. We had a de-luxe double and it had robes, tea and coffee and a jacuzzi bath. Everything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. There was a rugby match just starting and you could see the back of the small stadium. You could hear the crowds but they weren't loud.

Its a very short walk into the centre of Bath and a pleasant one at that. The houses are stunning. We went to Caluccio's in Minsolm Place in the arcade and had a fabulous meal.

We had the best nights sleep in our 4 poster bed. You have to climb into it as its so high, but it was so comfortable and the pillows were lovely. The place was so quiet, considering the house is old with squeeky floorboards. I didnt hear anyone above us, only in the afternoon, not overnight.

We awoke refreshed and headed down to the breakfast room. There was toast, and you could have a traditional cooked, vegetarian and continental breakfasts available. You could have smoked salmon with egg but you had to tell them the night before you wanted that. The breakfast was really nice and piping hot.

If was time for us to go and we checked out. I was interested in the history of the place and its 250 yearsold this year and belonged to a brewery family, its a listed building and its so well maintained.

I would definately recommend The Ayrlington and wouldnt hesitate to visit again.

Room Tip: The rooms in the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Though we live in Bath, we chose to spend 2 nights at the Ayrlington for our wedding, and arranged for most of our wedding guests to stay there as well. From the very first email communication I had with the wonderful Audrey at reception, the service and professionalism were outstanding!! The staff were so helpful as I tried to coordinate all of the guests, which of course required many changes and adjustments to check-in dates, etc. Plus, the rooms were very nice, and we had many little touches from the staff that we truly appreciated. We stayed in one of the beautiful deluxe rooms, and it was perfect for getting ready the day of the wedding, and our guests really enjoyed the lounge as well. Thank you to everyone at the Ayrlington for a lovely and stress-free experience!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mettrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardendale, Alabama
Level Contributor
126 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

The Ayrlington Hotel was a great pick for us! The room was just beautiful! It gave us a home feel away from home! There was an arch leading to our bedroom. The bed was very comfortable! The bathroom was large and all devises worked. The room was very well decorated. The shower/bath was very good with plenty of hot water. The WiFi worked well. It was in walking distance to everything we wanted to see. The parking at the hotel was also a plus because it was free and right up front. The staff were very professional and helped us with directions and everything else that we needed. The Continental Breakfast was good. If there was any negatives, it would have been the stairs leading to our room because we were on the top floor and there is no elevator. It did not bother us at all, but people that doesn't like to climb stairs, be sure and let them know beforehand and they will give you a lower room. The garden out back was beautiful! We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyK835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Lovely accommodation, rooms very spacious and the ones with garden views are just amazing. Ours was road facing but still very quiet, our friends had the garden view. Nice guest lounge area with small bar. Breakfasts were very good and plenty of staff on to make things easy. Al the staff were lovely.

Would definitely use this hotel when we are next in Bath.

Room Tip: Empire room which is on the ground floor, has a lovely big canopy bed and very spacious, however any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a night as we wanted to explore Bath. Was easy to find and had its own car park. All the rooms have names and we were in Zen which was just down some steps to the side of the hotel and overlooked the garden which have us a feeling of being a little detached but also more private. It took us about ten minutes to walk into Bath and we didn't a lovely day looking round. Breakfast was fine. We have no complaints, was clean and tidy and just what we required.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayrlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayrlington

Property: The Ayrlington
Address: 24-25 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ayrlington 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of golden Bath stone, The Ayrlington is a large and handsome English Heritage listed building set in a splendid walled oriental garden with exceptional views of the City and its medieval Abbey. Bath's magnificent historic sites, speciality shops and excellent restaurants are all just a five minutes level stroll away. The Ayrlington's elegant and tranquil interior is a graceful blend of English and Asian antiques, artwork, fine fabrics and Egyptian cotton bedlinen - all 18 bedrooms have an individual theme and are beautifully furnished, some with four poster beds. The emphasis is on creating an atmosphere of peace and tranquility in the centre of Bath's vibrant city centre. The Ayrlington has a licensed residents' bar, secure on-site private parking and is entirely non smoking. We do not accept children under 5 years of age. The Ayrlington's ongoing commitment to quality has brought some well deserved and hard earned awards - five stars from The AA and Visit Britain, AA Premier Collection, a listing in The Good Hotel Guide and multiple Bath in Bloom garden awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ayrlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing