We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going to Bath? Stay here for a really pleasant experience!”
Review of The Ayrlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ayrlington
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed two nights to explore Bath and from the moment we arrived to the moment we checked out and left through the front door, we were made to feel like very special guests! We had the Iris Room on the top (3rd) floor. As there is no elevator, it was a tough climb up the broad staircase with a heavy suitcase. However, we were rewarded with a beautifully appointed room which was very comfortable and which had a lovely view overlooking the playing fields towards Bath Abbey. The full, cooked English breakfasts were very generous, as were the choices of breakfast cereals, fruit and yoghurts. Wireless internet was strong and fast in both the public areas and our room, thanks to the generous placement of wifi routers throughout the property. The staff were all very pleasant, courteous and helpful. The location is great: outside the bustle of the town centre, but only a very easy 10 min walk to the Roman Baths and Abbey. All-in-all, a trip to visit Bath made all the more memorable by a wonderful stay at the Ayrlington. Thoroughly recommended!

Room Tip: The Lilly Room was quiet, beautifully appointed and had a great view towards Bath Abbey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,170)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

813 - 819 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Ayrlington bed & breakfast is a five star establishment which, for me, lived up to that ranking. The rooms are all different & nature themed. We were in ´Iris` room. There were pictures of iris on the walls & the curtains had iris on them. The room had all the facilities we could have wished for. There was ample cupboard & drawer space. The fittings (such as hair dryer) were of good quality. There was a small safe for our valuables. The hospitality tray was well stocked with coffee, tea, hot chocolate & biscuits. The lounge area was very comfortable with a small bar, competitively priced. The breakfast room overlooked the garden with views towards the city which is a twenty minute walk away – I´m a slow walker. Anyone who walks at a more normal pace could probably do it in fifteen. The proprietress is of Chinese origin so the public areas are decorated on a Chinese theme – all very tastefully.

Breakfast was all I could have wanted. As well as coffee or tea, there was a variety of fruit juices. There was a choice of yoghurts, fresh fruit & cereals plus a traditional full English breakfast with vegetarian options.

There are three resident cats who are only allowed in the reception & lounge areas.

The staff were all very friendly & obliging. Nothing was too much for any of them. They were like family.

Just be aware that if you have walking issues that even if you have a room on the ground floor there are steps leading up to the front door!

Would we stay there again? Yes, yes, yes.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalind N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Enjoyed our stay. Staff and comfort very good. Large rooms and good size beds and had a perfect nights sleep. Breakfast excellent. Arrived early and allowed to leave our car whilst we went shopping. Same on the day we left.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights, and did not have one single problem. We read the reviews before we went and cannot see that any of the bad reviews were justified. The room was just right. We had the poppy room. Possibly a little more dated than some of the other rooms, but it was clean, comfortable and any noise from the road was due to having the window open. once closed there was no noise. And the bed was so comfortable that I think we could have slept through anything anyway. When we arrived at the hotel the CD playing was broken but it was replaced immediately, reception had been unaware of the stuck CD from the previous guest.
The staff were all very friendly, efficient, and more then willing to help.
The breakfast was superb and plentiful. There was no noise from other guests so all in all this was a very pleasant and memorable hotel and trip.
The hotel itself is situated just a 10 minute walk from Bath centre. Brilliant for visiting all the local attractions.
Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bath.

Room Tip: If you want the windows open ask for a room at the back. However please remember you are booking a h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tpeters1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We have stayed at the Ayrlington about eight times in the last ten years. At our recent stay there was the usual very high standard of cleanliness and the helpfulness of the staff, particularly in the dining room, who seemed genuinely pleased to see us. On this occasion, when we had to leave very early in the morning, a breakfast tray was provided the night before. The hotel has an excellent atmosphere and the lounge is a very calm place to enjoy a quiet drink.

Room Tip: Carnation is small, but comfortable and has a view over the Bath RFC ground and Bath Abbey
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We booked to stay in this hotel for 3 nights and it was lovely. Our room was right on the top floor and we didn't hear any noise from anyone else. The room is a little dated but everything was clean and the bed was very comfortable!
Breakfast in the mornings was fantastic and staff were very attentive. All staff we met around the hotel were very polite and nothing was too much trouble.
This hotel is in a brilliant location, it only took us 10 minutes to walk to the city centre and has free parking out the front.
Would definitely stay here again if we returned to Bath - thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jade S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Positives:
The B&B is extremely well situated and there is free parking, reception staff are kind & well mannered.
Negatives:
Our top floor room decor was dated and somewhat dingey.. we were facing the street and it was noisy. You cannot open the windows. Breakfast was disappointing.. opted for the cooked breakfast without a few items.. the waitress therefore offerd baked beans to compensate .. i thought this was good of her.. They arrived stone cold so I comented..she checked with the chef.. the reply was that they were cooked for 2mins!! no offer to re heat thems!! also no pastries or croissants even though they were advertised.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Star91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.4 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#10 of 32 in Bath
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayrlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayrlington

Address: 24-25 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £110 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ayrlington 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of golden Bath stone, The Ayrlington is a large and handsome English Heritage listed building set in a splendid walled oriental garden with exceptional views of the City and its medieval Abbey. Bath's magnificent historic sites, speciality shops and excellent restaurants are all just a five minutes level stroll away. The Ayrlington's elegant and tranquil interior is a graceful blend of English and Asian antiques, artwork, fine fabrics and Egyptian cotton bedlinen - all 18 bedrooms have an individual theme and are beautifully furnished, some with four poster beds. The emphasis is on creating an atmosphere of peace and tranquility in the centre of Bath's vibrant city centre. The Ayrlington has a licensed residents' bar, secure on-site private parking and is entirely non smoking. We do not accept children under 5 years of age. The Ayrlington's ongoing commitment to quality has brought some well deserved and hard earned awards - five stars from The AA and Visit Britain, AA Premier Collection, a listing in The Good Hotel Guide and multiple Bath in Bloom garden awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your The Ayrlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing