We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, great breakfast!”
Review of The Ayrlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ayrlington
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2009

Found this via Trip Advisor, and as all the reviews seemed to be positive, we booked it for a 3 night stay in January. We`d never visited Bath before, so wanted somewhere we could just park up the car and explore the city by foot. The Ayrlington is in a great location, easy to find, and once you`ve parked up in the hotel car park, you can just go off into the city which is a pleasant 10 minute walk away. Service was friendly, room (Poppy) didn`t have the lovely view that some have, (it faces the main road), but you can`t hear the traffic noise, and the room was very comfortable, with a lovely cosy bed. Breakfast was plentiful, (mmmm!), with very quick friendly service, and if you bag a table by the window you can enjoy the view of the beautiful garden with Bath Abbey in the near distance. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sammy dog67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,164)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,050 - 1,056 of 1,164 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2009

My daughter and I found the Ayrlington on the internet via googling Bath Accommodation, rang, confirmed excellent room rate and booked an overnight stay.
Had top room with excellent views across to Bath. Room, beds, and ensuite very comfortable and well equiped. Breakfast was delicious, service even better. Ten minute walk to city centre, easy. PLease stay here but make sure it is more than one night, so much to see, one night is just not enough. Say hi to the 2 burmese cats for us.

Fiona and Elizabeth
mother/daughter
Victoria/Australia

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foof1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Very good two night stay. Very clean and authentic especially for Bath.Very friendly and helpful staff relaxed atmosphere .Extremely nice breakfast and a very good location only ten minute walk from centre of Bath.Would stay there again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nurse71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2009

We spent three nights in the Ayrlington in Bath, an ideal located family run Hotel. After the arrival we received a tour and interesting tips about bath; our car parked safe in front of the house; we stayed in the Bamboo, with a view to the garden (spectacular during the night with the illuminated cathedral); the room was splendid, very nice furniture, absolute clean, very spacy; the english breakfast was very good (they removed the fat from the plate bevore delivering the fried egg) - I could recommend it 110 % and we will come back for sure (for the native speakers : I apaologize for my awfull english but an advice in German for a Hotel in England makes no sense, right ;-)

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Matthias R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2008

Having stayed in Bath many times, we were looking for a location that combined somewhere that ; was close to the centre, was above average, was quiet, had friendly staff, space to relax & had parking - found it!

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pottsinwested
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2008

Our aim was to find a comfortable hotel within walking distance of the centre of Bath as we wanted to visit the Baths, the Christmas Market and the Theatre Royal. We can confirm that these were a comfortable walk across the river bridge that brought us out almost in front of the Abbey and all that we were looking for. The hotel itself was warm, welcoming and comfortable, and our room (Abbey) was spacious and well equipped for our stay. A pet hate of ours is lack of hanging space for clothes, but Abbey passed with flying colours, and the view from our bedroom windows across the grass to Bath Abbey was all that we had hoped for.
If you like steel, glass and plastic hotels where every room is the same then the Ayrlington Hotel is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a bit of character, then we can strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SFED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2008

This hotel is brilliantly located - just a five minute brisk walk away from Bath centre. It has on site parking. The hotel staff are extremely polite, friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good, with plenty of choice and very well presented. However, it would be nice if the serving time could extend a little later (currently 7.45 to 9.15 a.m.). The public areas of the house are beautifully decorated. We stayed in the Victorian room, which was pretty and spacious (except for the plastic ivy on the small table - a bit of a let down!) and the standard of cleanliness was exceptional. Two minor criticisms: the radiator was not working (we were given a fan heater) and the extractor fan in the bathroom is VERY loud. The sherry in the room was a nice touch, even though we didn't partake! All in all, a thoroughly nice experience.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank upsydaisy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,305 reviews
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayrlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayrlington

Address: 24-25 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £107 - £288 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ayrlington 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of golden Bath stone, The Ayrlington is a large and handsome English Heritage listed building set in a splendid walled oriental garden with exceptional views of the City and its medieval Abbey. Bath's magnificent historic sites, speciality shops and excellent restaurants are all just a five minutes level stroll away. The Ayrlington's elegant and tranquil interior is a graceful blend of English and Asian antiques, artwork, fine fabrics and Egyptian cotton bedlinen - all 18 bedrooms have an individual theme and are beautifully furnished, some with four poster beds. The emphasis is on creating an atmosphere of peace and tranquility in the centre of Bath's vibrant city centre. The Ayrlington has a licensed residents' bar, secure on-site private parking and is entirely non smoking. We do not accept children under 5 years of age. The Ayrlington's ongoing commitment to quality has brought some well deserved and hard earned awards - five stars from The AA and Visit Britain, AA Premier Collection, a listing in The Good Hotel Guide and multiple Bath in Bloom garden awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ayrlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing