We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in great location”
Review of The Ayrlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ayrlington
Ranked #9 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2009

We were visiting Bath with our teenage daughter. Both rooms were well equipped, very clean and had excellent views across the garden to the Abbey beyond. The car park was tight but we had no problem finding a space and it was only a few minutes, pleasant walk to the city centre. The staff were very friendly and efficent.

Breakfast was very good with quality ingredients.

We enjoyed our stay and, as in all independent hotels, there there was the odd quirk which gave it a personality that chains can never match.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaSerriere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,030 - 1,036 of 1,156 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2009

We booked two nights in Bath to have a break from London and booked based on the reviews on here.
We paid £120 per night for a luxury room...I was disappointed. It was large but dated and a little rough round the edges. The bathroom wasn't very nice at all, whirl pool bath didn't work, and overall was dated. The room was very warm dispite turning the heating off so we had to wedge the windows open for some air. The bed was comfy and clean but generally there is no way this was 5 star standard. Small things like the iron was one of the combi things which use dry heat and are attached to the board. Same with the kettle, it was a combi tray/kettle, not things I would expect in a 5 star property.

Breakfast was nice, not fantastic but nice and cooked to order. We found the staff very friendly and that seems to be the best thing about the hotel. We loved Bath but could probably pay £120 per night for somewhere nicer.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SassyMart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2009

Read a review before we went that said that the hotel was like a three star hotel with five star prices and unfortunately it turned out to be a very accurate description. Car park very small, so fair bit of manoeuvering was required which involved the receptionist coming out to ask my husband to reverse onto busy road in order to park in the other section of the car park. She was very helpful, but while we were checking in a couple who we later guessed were the owners, emerged form a private staircase and told the receptionist they would be back late, but completely ignored us. Our room was very spacious with a view of the rugby ground, but at £200 per room per night. The view of the garden was pretty, but you could spy what looked like the owners accommodation from the window- very nice too! Must be raking it in.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

We spent two nights at the Ayrlington during our first vist to Bath (on a trip to England
from the U.S.). We had a great experience.
After taking two airline flights, then two trains on our trip over, we were given a warm
reception upon arrival. We were fortunate that our room (the Pulteney) was ready early and we could settle in (and nap!).
Every member of the hotel staff that we encountered was friendly and helpful. OUr room was clean, spacious, and very pretty. The view of the hotel's garden was just beautiful, with the city of Bath in the background. THe bed (a four-poster) was extremely comfortable. We recieved suggestions from the front desk regarding half-day or full-day tours available in the area.
The breakfast both mornings was bountiful, and delicious.
I realize I have not made any negative comments here, but I honestly cannot think of
any to make. We stayed in four different hotels during this overseas trip, and the Ayrlington was our favorite stay.

from Nashville, Tenn. USA

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WestTenn_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2009

the ayrlington is a clean and well run hotel which would recormend to anyone

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank woodfordrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2009

The Ayrlington is a charming small hotel in Bath. It has great views of the town and available parking (free) was definitely a bonus. The downside was a bit of a walk to get into Bath as it was about 10-15mins walk away. Other than that its just really really charming in a traditional English way.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archmage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2009

The Ayrlington B&B is ideally located and my room offered a wonderful view. The private parking was very welcome. Friendly staff and delicious breakfast.

Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
Thank matrix99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayrlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayrlington

Address: 24-25 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £114 - £322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ayrlington 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of golden Bath stone, The Ayrlington is a large and handsome English Heritage listed building set in a splendid walled oriental garden with exceptional views of the City and its medieval Abbey. Bath's magnificent historic sites, speciality shops and excellent restaurants are all just a five minutes level stroll away. The Ayrlington's elegant and tranquil interior is a graceful blend of English and Asian antiques, artwork, fine fabrics and Egyptian cotton bedlinen - all 18 bedrooms have an individual theme and are beautifully furnished, some with four poster beds. The emphasis is on creating an atmosphere of peace and tranquility in the centre of Bath's vibrant city centre. The Ayrlington has a licensed residents' bar, secure on-site private parking and is entirely non smoking. We do not accept children under 5 years of age. The Ayrlington's ongoing commitment to quality has brought some well deserved and hard earned awards - five stars from The AA and Visit Britain, AA Premier Collection, a listing in The Good Hotel Guide and multiple Bath in Bloom garden awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Ayrlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing