We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really wonderful hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ayrlington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ayrlington
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
JERUSALEM
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A really wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

We chose this hotel after seeing the website ... and we were not disappointed. A beautiful hotel in a fantastic position - 5 minutes walk from the centre of town. The hotel itself is a lovely listed building which has been decorated throughout in superb taste. Our bedroom - the Empire - had a wonderful view over the garden and had every amenity we needed - flat screen TV , bathrobes , room safe,bathroom toiletries etc.- in short a perfect place to stay.The staff are polite and very helpful and could not do enough to make our stay one which was a really great experience. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MINDLE22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    621
    284
    92
    25
    19
See reviews for
88
767
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2010

We decided to go to Bath at the last minute so finding a good place to stay was not easy. Ayrlington was one of the very few hotels that still had vacancy, and when we saw on the site that this was a five-star hotel, our expectations were somewhat high. We stayed in the Siena room, which was on the first floor. The first disappointment was to realise that we had a view to Putney Road, instead of to the garden/Abby. The Siena room is not the most basic room at the hotel and given that we were paying a premium, we were expecting a better view. The TV was also a disappointment - it was so small (the room was fairly large, so we really couldn't see the screen from the bed) that we had to move it closer to the bed. On top of that, image quality was not great. Not a massive deal but then again, if you are staying on a five-star hotel, you sort of expect these things to be of a good standard.
Breakfast was very nice, although I did wake up with the smell of bacon all over the bedroom (which is just above the kitchen) - again, not great if you are a vegetarian. The Siena room is also right next to the cleaner's closet, so from very early in the morning we could hear cleaners going in and out of the room next door.
For £150 per night, this just wasn't great value for money. It felt like a B&B for which I'd have been prepared to pay £80 at most. Wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pgrossi76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
belfast
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2010

Beautiful hotel and great location within easy walking distance of Bath centre. All staff were gracious and most helpful. Room was comfortable, very tastefully decorated with charm and eloquence.Bathroom very clean with great shower and bath and so lovely and warm. Loved the breakfasts- juice, fresh fruit, cereals, porridge, yoghurt, toast, full english of your choice, tea coffee. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maggiemci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

My husband & i stayed at The Arlington for a night away for my birthday on the 21st Jan 2010 we are a young couple of 25 & 28

The hotel is fanstatic for all ages.

From the moment we got there we loved it. The satff were fantastic & so polite. The food was lovely & the room was clean,big, the bed was so comfortable we didn't want to get up hahaha.. we had the Abby room which looked out onto the garden.

They have two cat's who are very friendly and loved attention.

The hotel is only 5 mins walk to the town centre which has all the shops you could wish for. We went to see the roman bath's which was very interesting.

Would love to go back in the summer & stay again for a few nights

I would really recommend this hotel

Kyri & Iain x

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kyri2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

We stayed in the hotel for two nights between Christmas and New Year 2009. The hotel was very clean and the room was spacious and had very good facilities, is in a good location close to the city centre and gave a lovely view of Bath Abbey.

On the first morning, we encountered no hot water and the linen had seen better days, but both problems were rectified very quickly. Despite these problems, overall the stay was very enjoyable and the staff in the hotel were very friendly and the breakfast was fantastic, just what you need before a day's sightseeing.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheJiveMaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mapua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
255 reviews
207 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2009

A wonderful small hotel in a wonderful location, with wonderful staff. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel. Our whole expeience here was great. Our room, the Garden Room was very spacious and comfortable. The location was perfect and having parking was a real bonus in Bath. We would love to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bevchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2009

We really enjoyed our short break at this hotel. The staff are very helpful, room as clean and tidy, breakfast was yummy and location is excellent. It is only a short walk to town. They have a very cute friendly cat who loves tickles. We have stayed in other places in Bath over the past few years but this is by far the best place to stay. Looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbpower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ayrlington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ayrlington

Property: The Ayrlington
Address: 24-25 Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4EZ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ayrlington 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built of golden Bath stone, The Ayrlington is a large and handsome English Heritage listed building set in a splendid walled oriental garden with exceptional views of the City and its medieval Abbey. Bath's magnificent historic sites, speciality shops and excellent restaurants are all just a five minutes level stroll away. The Ayrlington's elegant and tranquil interior is a graceful blend of English and Asian antiques, artwork, fine fabrics and Egyptian cotton bedlinen - all 18 bedrooms have an individual theme and are beautifully furnished, some with four poster beds. The emphasis is on creating an atmosphere of peace and tranquility in the centre of Bath's vibrant city centre. The Ayrlington has a licensed residents' bar, secure on-site private parking and is entirely non smoking. We do not accept children under 5 years of age. The Ayrlington's ongoing commitment to quality has brought some well deserved and hard earned awards - five stars from The AA and Visit Britain, AA Premier Collection, a listing in The Good Hotel Guide and multiple Bath in Bloom garden awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ayrlington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Hotel Bath
Ayrlington Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing