We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Membland Guest House
Ranked #57 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Horsham, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived in Bath to stay for 2 nights. Our host Lin was absolutely wonderful. Straight away we felt welcome, she helped with a map of Bath and suggestions of things to do and restaurants. The house only occupies 4 couples so very quiet. It is very comfortable and homely. Breakfast was great, more than needed but available full cooked English breakfast if you want. Bath is beautiful, 2 nights was too short. The city is very walkable and very safe. Membland Guest House is within walking distance from the main city centre. There are free guided walks around the city with information about the history, well worth the effort. I would highly recommend Membland Guest House as a place to stay in Bath.

Room Tip: Any room, but we were on ground floor, so we didn't have carry bags to the next floor. No worrie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin C, Owner at Membland Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Membland Guest House and beautiful Bath. Thank you both so much for your lovely comments, it was my absolute pleasure. Have a wonderful time with your son. Best wishes Lin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
74
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent two nights here and very much enjoyed our stay. Membland is a short and easy walk into the town center (10-15 minutes), and our room was very nice and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. Lynn, the hostess, was very sweet and helpful, and her breakfasts were delicious. A wonderful place to stay in Bath for a good price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaitlin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin C, Owner at Membland Guest House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm so pleased you had a good stay with us, it was our pleasure and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had 2 double en-suite rooms for ourselves and our teenage son. Good location to walk to the railway/bus station, shops, cricket & rugby grounds and eating places. Friendly. Tastefully decorated, comfortable beds; very relaxing. Very clean. Excellent breakfasts. Just remember is a B & B not a hotel so you need your soap and shampoo for the shower.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chatterboxLancaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin C, Owner at Membland Guest House, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you very much for your comments, very pleased you had a good stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.
Best wishes Lin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 January 2014

First of all would like to greet our wonderful hosts Mrs.Lin and Mr.Bob who made our stay in Bath so special. It was our first visit to this beautiful country and they made us feel very welcome.Great location, only 10 minutes by foot to city centre.We stayed in double en suite on the ground floor. The room was great,comfortable,very quiet,clean with enogh tea ,coffee and biscuits when relaxing after long walks.Tradional english breakfast was divine,alwasy served with lot's of attention by Mr.Bob. The choice of cereals,fruit was great with lot's of great orange juice. Our hosts helped us feel like we were at home always so kind to explain where to go and what to visit while in Bath. We would highly recommend this b&b if you are visiting Bath,we were delighted and hope to come back again. Ivana and Jerko from Croatia

Room Tip: Room on the ground floor is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanaY713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin C, Owner at Membland Guest House, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Ivanka & Jerko
Thank you very much. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and take home such wonderful memories of your first visit to Bath and England. Bob and I wish you the best of everything for your future and hope to see you again one day xx
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2013

went for four days, was greeted by very friendly hosts, who sorted out parking for us( parking only downside but was sorted by our wonderful hosts even though we arrived very early), very clean, room was superb, tea, coffee and even biscuits were replenished every day, and breakfast was spot on, even the price was very reasonable, would definitely recommend to anyone

Room Tip: ten minute walk from bath centre, very convenient , our room was on main road but was not much traff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kenny5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin C, Owner at Membland Guest House, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. I'm so pleased you had a lovely time in Bath, it's a lovely city and I want our guests to enjoy every bit of their visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Stayed for one night at Membland Guest House. Very welcoming and homely B&B, in a great location. Only 10 minutes by foot to City Centre or train station. Room comfy and very clean as was en-suite. Breafast very good, cereals, juice and freshly cooked tradional breakfast. Would stay again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 1ClaireGraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin C, Owner at Membland Guest House, responded to this review, 3 March 2015
Hello thank you very much for your positive comments about Membland Guest House. It was our pleasure and hope to see you again. Best wishes Lin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at Membland for two nights recently. Great location (only 10 minutes stroll into the middle of Bath). Despite being on a main road, we didn't hear traffic at all. Our room was on ground level, very comfortably decorated and very clean. Breakfast, served by Lin, was also very good. The lack of bedside table was a minor inconvenience (specially for anybody who wears glasses) but, this was a very minor issue in the whole scheme of things. Off street parking was also available. Lin is a great host who provided plenty of advice and information too. All in all, a very good experience indeed.

Room Tip: Downstairs next to the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDaveStafford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
0.0 mi away
Avon Guest House
Avon Guest House
#70 of 157 in Bath
93 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynwood House
Lynwood House
#71 of 157 in Bath
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#32 of 157 in Bath
1,040 reviews
2.1 mi away
Bridge House Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Henry Guest House
The Henry Guest House
#23 of 157 in Bath
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Membland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Membland Guest House

Property: Membland Guest House
Address: 7 Pulteney Terrace | Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Membland Guest House is a small, friendly guesthouse perfectly situated between the River Avon and the beautiful Kenneth and Avon canal in this wonderful cosmopolitan City of Bath. We are a 5 minute level walk to the many historic and modern attractions, such as the Roman Baths, Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge and the wonderful Thermae Spa where you can enjoy the fabulous open-air rooftop pool overlooking the panoramic views of Bath. A warm welcome awaits you at Membland Guest House where we pride ourselves on a high standard of housekeeping. We offer free parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Membland Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing