We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B & B, highly recommend”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Membland Guest House
Ranked #58 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Knebworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent B & B, highly recommend”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

My husband & I chose Bath for our 1st wedding anniversary, and I have to say, we came up trumps staying here. We had an allocated parking space so we didn't have to worry about moving the car for the entire time we were there. Lin was very welcoming from the off, and helped us with directions around the City. The room was lovely, spacious, beautifully decorated and spotessley clean. We had taken a bottle of champagne for our celebrations which Lin kindly kept chilled for us. Breakfasts were fabulous and Bob does a fantastic job as front of house. A great location for Bath, we even popped back a few times during the day, it's that close. If you book here you won't be disappointed.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin C, Owner at Membland Guest House, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review of Membland Guest House. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and hope you'll be back to visit Bath and us some time. Best of luck and warm wishes Lin & Bob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    24
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
72
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
220 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

The room was small but adequate. It was impeccably clean and comfortable. It is situated a short walk to down town. The breakfast was excellent and Noeline was very gracious and worked around our late arrival because of traffic coming out of London.

The internet is appallingly slow. Three minutes for yahoo to come up, longer to get on mail. It was functional, but just barely.

Even with the slow internet, we would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rosieox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin C, Owner at Membland Guest House, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you very much for your feedback I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to Bath and your stay at Membland Guest House. Kind regards Lin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Just returned from a lovely weekend in Bath. Stayed at the Membland Guest house which we would highly recommend. The place was only a short 10min walk from the train station and back into town which really suited us. Beautifully decorated and furnished our room was very comfortable with a very nice en-suite. We stayed in the room at the front which has a little road noise but it didn't really bother us. Breakfast was very relaxed and delicious, with a choice of cereal and fruit and then a cooked breakfast to your choice. If we were to return to Bath we would definitely stay at Membland again. Also, we booked the stay through the vistitbath website which also gives you free tickets to the Roman Baths with booking confirmation - saving £15 each! Worth checking out.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank aj2228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin C, Owner at Membland Guest House, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
I've just read your kind comments, thank you very much. I'm so pleased that you had a lovely visit to Bath and enjoyed your stay at Membland. Hope to see you again.
Many thanks Lin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a weekend vising Bath. Pleasantly helpful but unobtrusive host, good breakfast and very nice rooms. The bathroom in particular I thought was really nice, a small detail but important.
Couple of things to note. The room at the front is a bit noisy as it's on a main road. Also the mattress was very big and soft, so careful if you prefer a harder mattress.
Altogether a great place and a great location just over the bridge from the centre of Bath. Highly recommended.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank smulford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin C, Owner at Membland Guest House, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about Membland Guest House. I'm so pleased you had a good positive stay here and your family enjoyed Bath. It was my pleasure. Kind regards Lin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

My parner and I decided to take a trip to Bath, after phoning 30 different B&B's Lyn was extremely kind in letting us stay in one of her gorgeous rooms. The b&b was gorgeous, decorated throughout with soft colours it was very boutique like. Our room was perfect in size with a lovely en-suite with everything we needed from tea and coffee facilities to a hairdryer. Breakfast in the morning served by Bob was scrumptious. For our first experience in bath and in a b&b Lyn and Bob ensured we would make a return in the near future and we're kind enough to make sure we knew exactly where we were going and even recommended some pubs and attractions. Overall it was a brilliant stay and highly recommend to anyone wanting a stay just outside the city (a 5 min walk) with a homely feel!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emillyyyyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin C, Owner at Membland Guest House, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review of Membland Guest House. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your short stay with us and that you loved Bath. It was a pleasure having you here and hope you can come for a little longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horsham, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We arrived in Bath to stay for 2 nights. Our host Lin was absolutely wonderful. Straight away we felt welcome, she helped with a map of Bath and suggestions of things to do and restaurants. The house only occupies 4 couples so very quiet. It is very comfortable and homely. Breakfast was great, more than needed but available full cooked English breakfast if you want. Bath is beautiful, 2 nights was too short. The city is very walkable and very safe. Membland Guest House is within walking distance from the main city centre. There are free guided walks around the city with information about the history, well worth the effort. I would highly recommend Membland Guest House as a place to stay in Bath.

Room Tip: Any room, but we were on ground floor, so we didn't have carry bags to the next floor. No worrie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin C, Owner at Membland Guest House, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Membland Guest House and beautiful Bath. Thank you both so much for your lovely comments, it was my absolute pleasure. Have a wonderful time with your son. Best wishes Lin.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I spent two nights here and very much enjoyed our stay. Membland is a short and easy walk into the town center (10-15 minutes), and our room was very nice and well appointed. The bed was very comfortable. Lynn, the hostess, was very sweet and helpful, and her breakfasts were delicious. A wonderful place to stay in Bath for a good price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaitlin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lin C, Owner at Membland Guest House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I'm so pleased you had a good stay with us, it was our pleasure and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.0 mi away
Avon Guest House
Avon Guest House
#55 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
0.0 mi away
Lynwood House
Lynwood House
#70 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#53 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#45 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
0.4 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Membland Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Membland Guest House

Property: Membland Guest House
Address: 7 Pulteney Terrace | Pulteney Road, Bath BA2 4HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Membland Guest House is a small, friendly guesthouse perfectly situated between the River Avon and the beautiful Kenneth and Avon canal in this wonderful cosmopolitan City of Bath. We are a 5 minute level walk to the many historic and modern attractions, such as the Roman Baths, Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge and the wonderful Thermae Spa where you can enjoy the fabulous open-air rooftop pool overlooking the panoramic views of Bath. A warm welcome awaits you at Membland Guest House where we pride ourselves on a high standard of housekeeping. Our delicious home cooked breakfasts are freshly prepared using high quality meat from our local butcher. We are also more than happy to cater for vegetarians. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Membland Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing