We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really lovely stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bath YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bath YMCA
Ranked #10 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A really lovely stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

It was wonderful staying at this hostel! The rooms were very spacious which is perfect for a 12 bed dorm. They provide lockers for your belongings which you can secure free of charge using your own lock which was great. The shower was decent enough and everywhere including the bathroom was really clean. I enjoyed that they had a large room with tables to eat at however, they often have large groups of people including schools stay here so if you don't like children be prepared. They caused no problems though at all!! The included breakfast was fantastic. Simple cereals, toasts, spreads, juices, teas and coffees but well enough to give you a full stomach! They had microwaves for use but no other kitchen facilities which sucked a little bit but other than that I really enjoyed my stay here. Oh, the bedrooms also had a powerpoint for each bed, usb connection and light. Met some wonderful people in our room and the staff were very friendly and helpful! Think twice though if you are travelling to bath by car as parking is a nightmare!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charlieroyal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    131
    74
    32
    6
See reviews for
29
51
64
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We used Bath YMCA for our U12's rugby tour to attend the Bath RFC tournament. The stay in the YMCA was very reasonable cost, £36 at a weekend for a single. Much cheaper if you have a group n the dorms. The breakfast was fine, full English for little extra cost and the room was fine. The bed was very comfortable, the room was quiet, sunny and had all the essentials.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here over the Easter weekend, we had a private double with shared bathroom. Room was clean and bathrooms where spotless, plenty of showers/toilets so no queuing or waiting around. Breakfast was great, basic toast, cereal, fruit, tea coffee etc but considering it's included can not complain. Could also pay to upgrade to a cooked breakfast which we didn't bother with but it looks very nice.

Location is perfect, a few minutes walk from the centre of Bath and not far from the station. Only downside was that the room was really hot and there was loads of birds on the roof outside our rooms so felt a bit funny about opening the window as one flew in at one point!

However other than that no complaints and would stay again :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

This is a great hostel in all respects. The room was neat and tidy with a wardrobe and table (in the single room). The bathrooms were kept impeccably neat, and there are separate facilities for men and women. The breakfast was a good continental spread and was laid out on time each day. And oh the staff - they always had a smile and prompt helpful answers to all the questions I had! The proximity to the center of town makes this an unbeatable value in Bath. The only downside is that the internet was VERY slow. Although I did manage to get some bookings done, I think I was just having a lucky day. The speed is just about enough to check emails but not much more.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AR698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

Gave it four stars on the fact that it only cost 24 quid each and was worth it. You get what you pay for. If your expecting TVs and kettles in the room forget it. I stayed there for a stag night and it served it purpose. It's hidden away behind some shops and I found it by fluke as I happened to look down the alley.
The rooms were very clean and the showers are what you'd expect from a decent camp site. Breakfast is cereals and toast or for an extra 3quid you can have a cooked one but it didn't look all that great.
The location is great. As for parking, there isn't any. If you can handle a ten minute walk, google "free parking in Bath". I wrote down six postcodes and the first one I went to there were plenty of spaces just outside the permit zone. It's either that or pay about 1.50 an hour then getting up at 8am to put a ticket on it in the morning.
Overall, if you're on a budget, well worth a look. I'd stay there again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
244 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

I was very happy with my stay at the Bath YMCA due to the central location and the low price of the dorms. I was quite comfortable there, the hostel felt just like school dorms. In fact, the building is shared with student dorms in the other side of the building. And I'm very glad there were students there. I visited at a quieter time of year (october) and I was the only person staying on the entire top floor of the hostel. It was a little eerie, as it is located in a big old building. It's full of character, but I would much prefer to stay there with friends or even with other guests. So I was comforted by the quiet sounds of the students in the other half of the building, and for their presence in the lobby on my way in and out of the YMCA. The staff were very friendly. I was so happy that it was right in the center of Bath. Couldn't have asked for a better location. Although it's a little hidden. If you can't find it, just ask a shop owner on the main street. You have to walk down a pleasant little alleyway to reach it.

Room Tip: It was a very spacious dorm. I would definitely opt for the bigger dorms in this hostel if you'r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren_skye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemyock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Went to Bath for a hen weekend and were dubious when we were told where we were staying.

However we were proved wrong, there were 11 of us in a dormitory with triple bunk beds, it was great fun. Clean fresh bedding and plenty of space.

The bathroom facilities are shared but this was not a problem, especially if you ventured upstairs and found a quieter one!

Really helpful staff let us lock our bags away after check in for the next day so we didnt have to carry them.

Good stay!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hpinderz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.0 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 34 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,635 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.1 mi away
St Christopher's Inn Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath YMCA

Property: Bath YMCA
Address: International House Broad Street Place | International House, Bath BA1 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bath YMCA 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new and improved rooms will deliver a high standard comfortable hostel room for 2010. The YMCA is centrally located, just a stones throw away from all the major tourist attractions, tempting shops, sensational restaurants, Bath Rugby, pubs, clubs and award winning parks. If you want to be in the middle of it, then the YMCA is the location for you. The old Victorian building is at least 130 years old and overlooks the bustling Broad Street. It houses our dormitory accommodation for groups, backpackers and holiday makers. It also boasts a rather unusual mural on the grand main staircase. All guests have access to single sex bathroom facilities throughout the range of accommodation and all areas have secure access, ensuring your safety at all times. Staff on the 24 hour reception are nearly all locals who know Bath inside out. So we can help you plan your stay, organise and book tours or recommend a place to eat or visit. We will let you know what's on, where's in and what to avoid and what's unmissable in Bath. Guests at the YMCA also benefit from access to our fantastic health and fitness centre, with a great gym, a wicked range of classes for those of you who want to sweat, tone or relax, sauna, sunbeds and the friendliest gym staff you are ever likely to meet. So, if you are travelling but want to maintain your fitness program or just chill out in the sauna - we're the place for you. If you are travelling in a big group we can also offer conference facilities/meeting rooms further catering etc - just ask and we will do our best to deliver! We can accommodate over 200 people a night, so whether you are travelling alone or in a big group, old, young or with children - we have the bed for you. Alongside the warm welcome, we also offer: Continental breakfast in the price, linen included in the price, 24 hour staffed reception, Internet access, Laundry facilties, Towel Hire, No lockout/curfew, Credit/debit cards accepted, Security lockers/left luggage, Conference facilities, Fantastic health and fitness suite, City centre location, Children/families very welcome, Bike parking, No smoking, Tel/fax facilities. If you are looking for value for money, clean accommodation, smack bang in the centre of Bath - then a warm welcome awaits you at the YMCA. Tip! - Saturday nights are very popular - so always try to book in advance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bath Ymca Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing