We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst place on 4 continents!”
Review of Bath YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bath YMCA
Ranked #14 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Reviewed 16 November 2008

Possibly the worst hostel I have even stayed in on four continents. We had room no. 123, the one with the concrete, 100-year-old matresses and condensation running down the walls. The nearby bathrooms were filthy and smelly. I took the shortest shower I could and my husband took one look at the cracked mouldy tiles and filthy floor and declined. I was told that there was a female only shower on the ground floor in the ladies toilets, but the door was screwed shut and had been so for some time. The staff were completely unaware. Breakfast was some toasted bread with jam - blah.
The lounge downstairs has a massive flat screen TV which cuts out every 25 seconds on the dot - very entertaining.
We paid 40 pounds to be treated like ........
And it isn't because I'm used to 4 star - I've stayed in cheap backpacker hotels all over India. All were better than this.
I was going to say it was like the 3rd world, but I've been there and it was paradise with great food compared to Bath YMCA.
Anyone from Bath YMCA who disagrees with my review is welcome to spend a night in room 123. I would say "sleep the night" but you won't.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank doctorsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2008

This YMCA had everything you need.

It had laundry and internet facilities.

The rooms were clean and pleasant. It wasn't noisy.

The staff were friendly.

Its close to the sights.

Breakfast was good and you only had to pay 2 pound extra to get a full breakfast.

I'd recommend it

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DebDeb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2007

This hostel was a good find. It was right in the heart of Bath, walkable to everything! My husband and I got a two person room. It was so clean and comfortable, we even had our own TV. It was a great couples alternative to renting a hotel room. And inexpensive too! The breakfast was really good also.

Stayed: September 2007
Thank nessie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2007

This is a good choice for anyone on a budget. The lobby area is just as it appears on their website. Big bonus is free wifi in the lobby, although if you don't have your own computer they charge to use their desktops.

Had a bit of a hard time finding it at first, but location was excellent - maybe a 10-15 minute walk to the train station, 5 to the baths and abbey. Two minutes from a grocery store - try the store brand chicken tikka masala and heat up in the microwave (on the table where the bread and toaster is in the morning) at the 'y' for a quick, cheap and delicious dinner.

Breakfast of toast, cereal, juice, coffee tea is self service and all you can eat. A bit hard to figure out because they also serve a cooked breakfast, but just ask one of the staff and they'll explain it all to you. Cooked breakfast items were very reasonable, but being on a tight budget the continental did me fine.

Hallways upstairs were a bit sparse, and peoples doors echoed horribly, but never really woke me at night. The room itself was a good size with a desk, 2 chairs, a basin, a wardrobe and a bunk bed. They were out of singles, but gave me a bunk room for the single price (25 pounds). I didn't like the bunk, but the fact that they were out of singles speaks to the quality for cost of this place. Mattress wasn't very comfortable, but certainly wasn't the worse I had on my trip. The shared washrooms/showers were clean, and I almost never saw another person in them (once someone was showering). I was a bit leery at first because they are shared gender too, but never a problem. There's a phone on the stairway landing to each floor, so it was nice that I could receive calls from home. They would page me and I would run to the phone.

The staff were okay, not overly friendly certainly but not rude either. Other guests pretty much kept to themselves, and there was never any problems with noisiness or drunkenness.

I think this is an absolutely terrific option for the budget traveller, who is willing to go for hostels rather than hotels. This was the first experience I had ever had with this type of accomodation (I've always stayed in hotels before), and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ktowntravllr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2007

Stayed there for two nights during short vacation in UK. I got a single room with shared bathroom facilities for approximately 25 pounds a night. Continental breakfast was included with room(enough food to give energy for the day).

Very clean and quiet facility, only minutes away from major attractions in Bath. Rooms were quite spacious as well. No late night parties or noises from drunken backpackers. Crowd were mostly adult travellers or school groups and everyone respected the hostel rules.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcmug2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2007

At the end of our walk on the Cotswolds Way we, 3 single guys, spent our last night at the YMCA in Bath. We paid 17 pounds each for a quadruple bedded room for 3. Great value.

The beds were pretty comfortable and the towel service, 75p per towel, was reasonable. The room had a sink and wardrobe. the communal bathrooms were fine but you felt like you needed sandals to walk around in and in the shower.

The location is excellent, just up from the Abbey, across from Wagamama restaurant (Japanese style chain from London) and within easy walking distance of lots and I mean lots, of good pubs.

Inexpensive internet access in the lobby. Good security up to the accommodation floors.

The continental breakfast, which is included, is very confusing and takes quite a while to figure out. Cereal is on one side of the room, milk on the other. Coffee is included but comes from an espresso machine that you would think wouldn't be included. Full English breakfast is available for about 2 pounds.

All in all an inexpensive, centrally located accommodation option that fit the bill. Wouldn't stay here with my family but for three guys looking to celebrate the end of a long walk worked perfectly fine for us.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BuccaneerDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2007

The rooms are very basic, but they have a sink. It is in a good location off the main street in a courtyard, with friendly and informative staff, clean unisex bathrooms, and for a good price. The only minor downsides were having to pay for the towels and the rather bland breakfast. The breakfast was only cereal, toast and coffee, however, there was an English breakfast available at a reasonable price. One big plus that really impressed us was the availability of free soy milk with cereal instead of cow's milk! Overall, this place was just what we were looking for!

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank klfollies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
7.4 mi away
Radstock Hotel
Radstock Hotel
#30 of 34 in Bath
194 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Bath Waterside
3.3 mi away
Best Western Limpley Stoke Hotel
0.9 mi away
YHA Bath
YHA Bath
#10 of 39 in Bath
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath YMCA

Address: International House Broad Street Place | International House, Bath BA1 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Price Range: £19 - £48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bath YMCA 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new and improved rooms will deliver a high standard comfortable hostel room for 2010. The YMCA is centrally located, just a stones throw away from all the major tourist attractions, tempting shops, sensational restaurants, Bath Rugby, pubs, clubs and award winning parks. If you want to be in the middle of it, then the YMCA is the location for you. The old Victorian building is at least 130 years old and overlooks the bustling Broad Street. It houses our dormitory accommodation for groups, backpackers and holiday makers. It also boasts a rather unusual mural on the grand main staircase. All guests have access to single sex bathroom facilities throughout the range of accommodation and all areas have secure access, ensuring your safety at all times. Staff on the 24 hour reception are nearly all locals who know Bath inside out. So we can help you plan your stay, organise and book tours or recommend a place to eat or visit. We will let you know what's on, where's in and what to avoid and what's unmissable in Bath. Guests at the YMCA also benefit from access to our fantastic health and fitness centre, with a great gym, a wicked range of classes for those of you who want to sweat, tone or relax, sauna, sunbeds and the friendliest gym staff you are ever likely to meet. So, if you are travelling but want to maintain your fitness program or just chill out in the sauna - we're the place for you. If you are travelling in a big group we can also offer conference facilities/meeting rooms further catering etc - just ask and we will do our best to deliver! We can accommodate over 200 people a night, so whether you are travelling alone or in a big group, old, young or with children - we have the bed for you. Alongside the warm welcome, we also offer: Continental breakfast in the price, linen included in the price, 24 hour staffed reception, Internet access, Laundry facilties, Towel Hire, No lockout/curfew, Credit/debit cards accepted, Security lockers/left luggage, Conference facilities, Fantastic health and fitness suite, City centre location, Children/families very welcome, Bike parking, No smoking, Tel/fax facilities. If you are looking for value for money, clean accommodation, smack bang in the centre of Bath - then a warm welcome awaits you at the YMCA. Tip! - Saturday nights are very popular - so always try to book in advance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bath Ymca Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing