We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy access to city, friendly staff”
Review of Bath YMCA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bath YMCA
Ranked #12 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bath
New Hampshire, USA
1 review
“Easy access to city, friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 August 2009

It was wonderful being SO close to the center of Bath, and everything felt very safe and secure.

From the moment we checked in, the staff were immensely friendly and helpful. They even let us keep our dinner leftovers in the staff fridge!

The rooms were a tight fit, but of course this is to be expected. It was disappointing that there was no kitchen facility, but it's not quite a regular hostel. GREAT that they have included continental breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letter_to_the_world
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    130
    79
    34
    6
See reviews for
31
52
65
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

It is what it is. If you just need a place to lay your head, then this is it. The bathrooms were clean. The room (two bunk beds for 4 people) was very basic. Breakfast was good and included. Staff were very friendly. Can't beat the location.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobroliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aix-en-Provence, France
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

While looking for an accommodation in Bath, keep YMCA as a last choice if you can't find better. It is central and affordable however the rooms are very basic. Common facilities were ok (bathroom and toilets). The matresses in the room were absolutely uncomfortable. The breakfast room was dirty and the breakfast itself was very poor. Staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janko973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bath hotels

Oslo
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

I booked a room for one night to experience Bath. Check in went fine, though the service is kind of minimum. You have to ask about what you need.

The room had the minimal things needed. A metal frame bed, a desk, a closet and a sink. The room could need a layer of paint, and the temperature was a bit chilly. The carpet seemed old and could need some cleaning. Bathrooms were just down the hall, shared between the genders. The bathrooms were mostly clean. However, the hallway smelled is if someone had just barfed. Be aware that the doors are not very sound proof - so anyone talking while passing your door will sound as if they are in the room. With a bunch of teenagers down the hall, this was a big annoyance when being tired and wanting to sleep. The guy next door who snored so loud was not ideal either...

There is no common kitchen or place to make anything. You can buy water for tea in the caferteria room. That is the room where breakfast was served. Breakfast was basic.

The location was conveniently near the city center and all the sites I wanted to visit. As a single traveler in my 30s I will prefer a more quiet place next time. When staying in other hostels I have found them to be more social and have a more international crowd. This hostel seemed to be used by local youth groups for weekend trips - and consequently noisy at night.

What I liked the best was the price and the seating area downstairs. I also liked that the free WiFi in the reception reached all the way up to my room. The look of the room and the noise were the drawbacks.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kakaduen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Union City
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2009

Staff was friendly. Parking was nearby, just across the street. Very central.
Rooms reminded me of dorm rooms in college and so did the bathrooms, but smaller.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crazybear7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2008

Possibly the worst hostel I have even stayed in on four continents. We had room no. 123, the one with the concrete, 100-year-old matresses and condensation running down the walls. The nearby bathrooms were filthy and smelly. I took the shortest shower I could and my husband took one look at the cracked mouldy tiles and filthy floor and declined. I was told that there was a female only shower on the ground floor in the ladies toilets, but the door was screwed shut and had been so for some time. The staff were completely unaware. Breakfast was some toasted bread with jam - blah.
The lounge downstairs has a massive flat screen TV which cuts out every 25 seconds on the dot - very entertaining.
We paid 40 pounds to be treated like ........
And it isn't because I'm used to 4 star - I've stayed in cheap backpacker hotels all over India. All were better than this.
I was going to say it was like the 3rd world, but I've been there and it was paradise with great food compared to Bath YMCA.
Anyone from Bath YMCA who disagrees with my review is welcome to spend a night in room 123. I would say "sleep the night" but you won't.

  • Liked — There was nothing to like.
  • Disliked — Everythings
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorsally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2008

This YMCA had everything you need.

It had laundry and internet facilities.

The rooms were clean and pleasant. It wasn't noisy.

The staff were friendly.

Its close to the sights.

Breakfast was good and you only had to pay 2 pound extra to get a full breakfast.

I'd recommend it

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DebDeb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,379 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,357 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath YMCA

Property: Bath YMCA
Address: International House Broad Street Place | International House, Bath BA1 5LH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bath YMCA 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our new and improved rooms will deliver a high standard comfortable hostel room for 2010. The YMCA is centrally located, just a stones throw away from all the major tourist attractions, tempting shops, sensational restaurants, Bath Rugby, pubs, clubs and award winning parks. If you want to be in the middle of it, then the YMCA is the location for you. The old Victorian building is at least 130 years old and overlooks the bustling Broad Street. It houses our dormitory accommodation for groups, backpackers and holiday makers. It also boasts a rather unusual mural on the grand main staircase. All guests have access to single sex bathroom facilities throughout the range of accommodation and all areas have secure access, ensuring your safety at all times. Staff on the 24 hour reception are nearly all locals who know Bath inside out. So we can help you plan your stay, organise and book tours or recommend a place to eat or visit. We will let you know what's on, where's in and what to avoid and what's unmissable in Bath. Guests at the YMCA also benefit from access to our fantastic health and fitness centre, with a great gym, a wicked range of classes for those of you who want to sweat, tone or relax, sauna, sunbeds and the friendliest gym staff you are ever likely to meet. So, if you are travelling but want to maintain your fitness program or just chill out in the sauna - we're the place for you. If you are travelling in a big group we can also offer conference facilities/meeting rooms further catering etc - just ask and we will do our best to deliver! We can accommodate over 200 people a night, so whether you are travelling alone or in a big group, old, young or with children - we have the bed for you. Alongside the warm welcome, we also offer: Continental breakfast in the price, linen included in the price, 24 hour staffed reception, Internet access, Laundry facilties, Towel Hire, No lockout/curfew, Credit/debit cards accepted, Security lockers/left luggage, Conference facilities, Fantastic health and fitness suite, City centre location, Children/families very welcome, Bike parking, No smoking, Tel/fax facilities. If you are looking for value for money, clean accommodation, smack bang in the centre of Bath - then a warm welcome awaits you at the YMCA. Tip! - Saturday nights are very popular - so always try to book in advance. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bath Ymca Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing