We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly, overpriced and small!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unfriendly, overpriced and small!”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I am not picky about hotels but this onel is awful. When it says boutique do not think charm and good design, but small and uncomfortable in this case. Particular low points were: the heating not working at night (in Winter!), the unfriendly service (my sister joined us for Breakfast and we almost got thrown out of the hotel) and the price (I paid over £175per night). Keep your money in your pocket and avoid this place!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ed23Virages
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Your review is very disappointing to read, especially in the view of the fact we have had many positive reviews as well as good comments from many happy and returning customers who don’t post on trip advisor.

In response to some of the points raised in the review. Firstly we have our heating on throughout the winter. In the 8 years we have been in charge, I don't think we have ever received a complaint that the rooms were cold. Every room has a separate back up heater in the wardrobe should a guest want extra heat. In addition all our bathrooms have heated towel rails, and all of our sash windows have draught excluders installed.

Secondly regarding the unfriendly service at breakfast. We do advertise that people who are not staying in the hotel can come in and have breakfast with us. Why would we not want a guest to have someone join them for breakfast?

The reviewer states they stayed with us last winter. At the time nothing was brought to my attention, should it have I would have been able to rectify any problems they may have had.

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    340
    52
    11
    8
See reviews for
198
657
35
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We booked a 2 night stay here at the end of our honeymoon. We were upgraded on arrival and received champagne in our room which was furnished to a high standard. This is a lovely boutique hotel in the heart of Bath. It has been decorated to a high standard, we particularly liked the lounge area, and the staff are friendly and helpful. Being smaller seems to give a more personal service. The breakfasts were fantastic with the menu being a little bit more than the norm. Location is great with everything just a short walk away. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am extremly please you had an ejoyable stay with us during your honeymoon. I am glad you enjoyed the champagne and room upgrade given.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We were upgraded on arrival to the townhouse on trim street and had the whole house to ourselves. The location is excellent, right in the heart of Bath centre and walking distance to everything. The house was nicely decorated and the only minor complaint is the unbelievably loud seagulls squawking at night which prevented us from opening the windows. Very welcoming staff and a lovely fresh breakfast made for an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mch1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thank you for your positive review. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us, and in Bath. I am sorry to hear you were disturbed by the seagulls. The council are implementing measures to reduce the numbers in the city centre.

I am please you enjoyed your stay in one of our apartment and do hope you will return in the future.

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

I absolutely loved this little boutique hotel, it was charming and relaxing and perfect. The staff was lovely, full of great advice, and welcoming from beginning till end. The rooms and property actually look exactly as advertised! Whenever I am in England again I will come back and stay at this place again. The only minor drawback was that the room did get a bit stuffy since it was so hot outside and there is no air conditioning, although a very loud fan is provided.
Miriam

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 September 2012
Thank you for your very kind review. I am extremely glad you have a lovely stay with us and found the staff so welcoming and knowledgeable. I am sorry you found the room warm during your stay, due to the building being Grade 2 listed we are limited on the changes we can make to the building.

We do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Julian Mather
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Haringtons Hotel is the perfect place to stay when in Bath. Just by Queens Square it is so central to everything in the town its an easy walk to everywhere.
Parking is provided at £11 per day - only pain in having to pick up the pass from the hotel and then go to the car park - but if you listen to the instructions its easy (I didn't by the way).
The staff are great - we had a number of questions about opening times, etc and they were answered quickly and accurately.
The breakfast - well, what can you say! Kippers the first day, "The Full Monty" on the second - brilliant.
The room we had (4) didn't have any air-conditioning and so with it being hot (yes, its true) in the UK when we visited the bedroom windows had to be open at night; the hotel did provide a fan, but we like fresh air The noise from the seagulls and early morning deliveries may wake you up earlier than you would want to.

All in all a great find and considering that we lived in the Bristol area for many years I was amazed when this popped up as I hadn't heard of the place!

Room Tip: If possible try and get a room at the back (away from the street) to cut down on noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind words. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Harington's Hotel. Many people are surprised when they find us at how central and well located we are. It is really appreciated by our guests and a big advantage of staying with us. Everything is on your door step. I hope you can come and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We had a fabulous weekend spent at Haringtons Apartments in July. There were 11 of us altogether so booking The Premier and City Pad apartment was the perfect combination. The apartments were furnished beautifully and exceptionally clean.
We were very lucky with the weather so Pimms on the patio area of the Premier was an absolute must! The Premier is very spacious so getting ready on an evening wasn't a problem. Fantastic showers and the bedrooms were well equipped with dressing tables with hairdryers.
Both apartments were situated in the heart of Bath so everything is within walking distance. The free walking tour by the Mayors Honourary guides was well received, as well as the boat trip down the river Avon. If wishing to thoroughly relax visit theThermae Spa you won't be disappointed. Well done Haringtons we thoroughly enjoyed our girls weekend away!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 6 December 2013
Dear Guest, Apologies for the delay in replying to your review. Thank you for your kind words about your stay in the Premier apartment. We are indeed very lucky to have such a central location, this is something that is appreciated by all our guests. The patio area of the apartment in a real bonus, and a great sun trap in the good weather. We are always improving and upgrading the apartment so if you ever stay with us again I think you will find we have made some changes that have made the apartment even better. Hope you stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

If you are looking for a weekend away, the Apartment/Town house is a must, me a 6 other women came to Bath to the Christmas Markets, the Town house was located 1 minute from the hotel and was layed out over 3 floors was perfect location only downfall is the parking which is about a 5/10 minutue walk away and the SAT NAV went crzy trying to find the hotel(one was system)but all in all we enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the Town house to hire out

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DonnaD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Donna, Great to heat you had such a good time while staying in the Premier apartment. It is ideal for a group of people to share a great few days away together. It also has a super location right in the centre of Bath just like the hotel. The outdoor patio area in really a great place to hang out in on a summers day. many thanks again. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,360 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Property: Harington's City Hotel
Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing