We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 October 2012

We booked late and stayed just one night in this friendly clean little hotel in the heart of Bath perfectly situated for all the shops, Restraunt's and beautiful buildings. The staff were extremely helpful and the breakfast 1st class. We look forward to our next visit.
Thankyou
Clive Shonhard

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor or below. As no lift available and rooms on the third floor small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clive S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for your recent review. I am extremely please you enjoyed your stay with us. I am glad you found all staff helpful and friendly. All of our standard rooms are on the top floor. Unfortunately due to the hotel being Grade 2 listed we do not have a lift, however all staff are happy to assist with taking bags to rooms.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again on another occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,236)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

979 - 985 of 1,236 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

Very central location is the best thing about this slightly quirky period property in Bath. Very comfortable bed, much-lauded breakfast was fine but nothing to write home about. This isn't a luxury hotel - really you are paying for the location which is great because everything is within walking distance. But the price, in my view, was not justified. It was £165 for b&b in what I'd describe as a 'cosy' room without a view. Parking a little distance away adds another £11 a day. Personally, next time I'm in Bath I will return to Paradise House (reviewed earlier this year) which, although less conveniently situated, is absolutely lovely, with wonderful views & garden, fantastic breakfast and MUCH better value (should have followed my own advice!).

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BettyBlueCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel. We are very lucky with our location being in the heart of Bath.

All of our rooms have views to the front looking over the cobbles street and to the rear looking toward other georgian buildings and architecture. Due the hotel being located right in the centre unfortunately we have no gardens, however we do have a small courtyard off the bar area. Due to the buliding age all rooms do differ in size, all rooms are decorated to a high standard. Also due to our location we do not have parking at the hotel itself, however we do offer allocated parking in a car park a short distance from the hotel. All of our beds are 1500 pocket sprung to provide optimum comfort, i am very glad you found the beds comofrtable.

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

This 13-room (all en-suite) boutique hotel was pefect. The staff were friendly and helpful. the breakfast menu was varied and the food was tasty. There are just a few rooms on each of the hotel's three floors and there is no elevator. However, the staff will help you with your luggage. If you are driving you have to unload/load very quickly because the street is so narrow no other vehicle can pass. There is parking available for a small fee about three blocks away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first floor (just up one flight of stairs).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for your recent review. I am very glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. The hotel is spread over three floor, unfortunately we do not have a lift however all staff are happy to assist with bags.

I am please you enjoyed our breakfast. We offer a wide selection of continental options as well as a variety of cooked options.

We do hope you will visit us again in the future.

Julian Mather
Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

thought we d try a different hotel on one of our regular bath visits, this hotel is all about location unfortunately, just a minute from the main streets which is great but....... very noisy at night , room tiny , just an average small hotel, if you re looking for special boutique style this isn't it

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for your review. We do have a very good location being right in the centre of bath. Generally we do not suffer with problems from noise as we in a side street off the main shopping area. I am extremely sorry you were disturbed on this occasion. All of our rooms do differ in size due to the age of the building. The building also has a Grade 2 listing; therefore we are very limited on what we can do with the original structure. We do try our best to be transparent and explain this in our descriptions of each of our room types.

I believe we offer good value and quality accommodation. The majority of our rooms have been refurbished, as has our breakfast room recently. All rooms are decorated to a high standard and the hotel is continually invested into. I am very sorry we did not meet you expectations on this occasion

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed here Oct 9th 2012 for one night. If we had had the time, we would have stayed longer! We have been to Bath a number of times and this hotel is by far the best we have stayed at! If you are looking for a big, mainstream hotel, don't bother coming here. However, if you are looking for a fantastic boutique hotel with outstanding service, in a prime location.........this is the place. We arrived a little early and the staff at at reception were more than welcoming. We were advised that our room was in fact ready (I was just hoping to get directions for the car park), so we were able to unpack and unwind from the start.

Our room was fantastic, perfect for a couple's break away. We upgraded to one of the feature rooms, and it was worth it! It was well appointed, spotlessly clean, comfortable and a good size.

The location of the hotel is perfect. In the heart of the city, but on a quiet, cobbled street so we had the benefit of being in walking distance to all that we needed (shops, Spa, restaurants, bars, attractions, ect).

The staff here were exceptional. Always smiling (genuine smiles, not coporate false smiles!) and extremelly helpful. When checking in I had asked for an ice bucket to be in our room by the time we got back from the shops, as we were celebrating a birthday, and i had hidden a bottle of champagne in the room. By the time we had got back, the ice bucket and champagne flutes were waiting, together with the bottle of champagne that was originally hidden in the room sat chilling in the bucket. It was clear that the lady I had asked at reception to arrange this for me had personally completed the task herself!

We had breakfast at the hotel and it was far from what we expected. I ordered the 'Full Monty', expecting it to be a typical breakfast. I was presented with a dish that i felt guilty eating. It tasted as good as it looked! My girlfriend had the bagels with eggs and salmon, and that looked as good as mine (I didn't get to taste that one as she enjoyed it all herself!). There was also a great selection from the continental breakfast too.

The allocated car park is literally a 3 - 4 minute walk away. Due to the one way system in Bath, it was actually quicker to walk to there compared to driving there.

In essance, this is a rare find, a great hotel that ticks all the boxes (including boxes you didn't even have on your list)! We won't be stayiong anywhere else in Bath from now on!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for taking time to review the hotel and for your positive comments.

I am extremely pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us for your partners Birthday surprise. I am glad you found all the staff pleasant and helpful. We strive to achieve the highest standards in all areas, and I am pleased to hear we have achieved our goal.

We do our upmost to have the rooms ready as early as possible and I am glad that we could assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again in the future. And thank you once again for your kind comments.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

My husband and I stayed here for three nights over the 3rd to 6th October. Our room was clean, quiet and well kept. It looked like it had been recently refurbished as well and was in great condition, especially the bathroom, although it was a touch small compared to other comparable places we've stayed. The room we stayed in was on the third floor but to the back of the hotel, so this is what may have made the difference in regards to noise. I am surprised to read that other people found their beds uncomfortable - we slept really well in ours for all three nights! The only thing I would say about the value of the hotel is that cooked breakfast was not included (although continental breakfast was). At over £100 per night, I feel that this is a little tight, especially as the cooked breakfast was £7.50 extra per person, per day. We have stayed in very similar central hotels in different parts of the country and never encountered a cooked breakfast not part of your overall deal (if you choose the b+b option, of course). This however, is a minor gripe. Overall, we found the location, staff, cleanliness and quality to be of a high standard and would definitely stay here again if we came back to Bath.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the building if you prefer quiet. Ours was room 11, so I am assuming t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for your recent review. I am extremely pleased that you had an enjoyable stay with us in Bath. We are lucky with our city centre location, being close to all the major attractions and shops. I am glad to hear you found the room pleasant, and comfortable. The room you stayed in has recently been re-furbished, as have many of our rooms. We do try to make the most of the space available, as well as making sure all rooms are well equipped.
Full Breakfast if available at the hotel. If booked directly with us this will be included in the room rate.
Thank you again for your kind comments and we do hope you will stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards
Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

Positives, friendly staff, central location, well equipped clean rooms...BUT...
We stayed in the only available room left which was very small and on the third floor....lots of stairs which wasn't a problem for us but could be if you have a disability...no lift!. The bedroom, as said was very small and the bathroom, well if you carry any weight will be a problem. At best the bathroom is 3 feet wide.
Ironically this hotel is just off 'Quiet Street'. Well, the name doesn't reflect the locals. This is obviously a walkway towards student accommodation and at 3am the last of them go home. We had little sleep having to close the windows (single glazed) which made the little room stuffy.
Breakfast if you book continental is ok.
There are better places than this for the same money....

Room Tip: Not for the disabled
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TopTip_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. I am glad you found the staff friendly and the location convenient. Unfortunately the hotel does not have a lift due to the fact the building is listed. This means we are limited on what alterations can be made to the structure of the building. The staff are always happy to assist with bags if require.

Our location is in the town centre. Due to the hotel being on a side street we generally do not suffer from noise outside. I am sorry this happened in your case; however this is an isolated incident.

All of our rooms do vary in size due to the buildings age. Room 11 has recently been re-furbished as have many of our rooms. We do our upmost to make good use of the space and furnish all rooms to a high standard.

The rate booked was through an agent therefore continental was included in the rate. Full breakfast is available for a small surcharge. If booked directly with the hotel a Full English breakfast is included in the room rate.

We do hope you will stay with us on another occasion.

Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,430 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,883 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £99 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing