We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2012

My husband & I stayed in Harington's for our wedding anniversary & the Christmas markets when I was 7 months pregnant. The location meant it was easy for us to come back to the room regularly for me to rest, and since the staff had given us one of the easiest to access rooms (knowing I was pregnant) it meant we had a very relaxed holiday. The room was beautifully decorated & immaculately clean, the breakfasts were delicious & despite its central location the hotel was surprisingly quiet at night. Knowledgable, friendly staff meant we got good directions & information making all our sight seeing plans very easy & enjoyable.

Room Tip: If you have any mobility issues let the staff know as there are a lot of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magic_pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am extremely glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us at the hotel and found all the staff friendly and knowledgeable.

We are always happy to allocate rooms on the first floor if available, and assist with taking luggage to the room.

I am glad you had an enjoyable anniversary with us, and wish you the best with you upcoming baby. We do hope you will stay again in the future.

Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,018 - 1,024 of 1,283 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2012

My husband and I stayed at Harington's for 1 night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We wanted a central location to be able to explore Bath and it was perfect for that. Straight from our arrival the customer service we experienced was brilliant. Welcoming without being over bearing! The rooms are lovely - clean and comfy, the information provided in the rooms was very helpful. I hadn't been very well prior to going away and we requested to delay checkout which seemed to not be any problem and then the receptionist remembered and asked how I was feeling when we were checking out.
A really enjoyable stay and I cant wait to be able to go back.

Room Tip: Only saw room 10 where we stayed - definitely recommend it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amypark2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Thank you for you kind review of the hotel. I am extremely glad you found all aspects of the hotel to your liking and that you found all of the staff welcoming and courteous.

I am glad we could assist with giving you a later check out. We are always happy to do so whenever possible.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012

My boyfriend and I visited this hotel roughly a month ago. We found the hotel easily thanks to our sat nav - I would not recommend trying to navigate the one-way systems and narrow streets without assistance! The hotel is on a lovely little street, however it is terrible to drive down/stop on: I recommend if you're driving to the hotel to just go straight to the Charlotte Street car park and walk from there, it only takes a few minutes. In terms of parking the hotel has its own area reserved for guests in the aforementioned Charlotte Street car park, however we found that it worked out cheaper to call the phone number listed above the pay machine and pay for our parking over the phone (a good tip from a friendly parking attendant we happened across!) rather than book a parking pass with the hotel itself.

The hotel itself was lovely, our room was on the top floor and although it was a little small we were perfectly happy and it had everything we needed. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and one lady in particular was very helpful when we asked for restaurant recommendations - she immediately pulled out and started doodling on a map for us, showing us restaurants to suit a range of tastes and budgets. We ended up booking at a small high end (but very reasonably priced) family run restaurant called The Circus which I would definitely recommend.

Unfortunately on the first morning of our trip I fell very ill, so was unable to try the breakfast. However there was a wide selection of fruits, yogurts, cereals and pastries available, and you could upgrade to a cooked breakfast if you wished. Due to how ill I was we were unable to leave the hotel for the entire day (except for a trip to the hospital), but in the evening the staff were kind enough to lend us a DVD player for our room and allow us to select a few films to watch to keep us entertained.

All in all it was a great choice if you're willing to pay for a bit of luxury.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank samgiraffes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review. I am glad you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found all the staff helpful.

I am glad we could assist you with the DVD player and DVD's for when you were unwell, and that we could assist with booking The Circus for you for dinner. It is indeed a very good restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Spent 1 night at Harington's for Christmas shopping in Bath. My sister and I wished it was for longer. Room was gorgeous,beautifully decorated,spotless,quiet and extremely comfortable. Being so close to the shops meant we could call back to unload our shopping and have a bite to
eat and glass of wine.
The staff couldn't do enough for us and breakfast was exceptional. Lovely hotel.

Room Tip: Room 7 was very quiet. 1 double & 1 single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to make such positive comments about the hotel and your stay. I am extremely please that you found the room comfortable and clean, and all the staff helpful. We are lucky with our location being so close to the centre.

We do hope you will visit again in the future.

Julian Mather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

The hotel was lovely with great rooms and full of character. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was fantastic and it is a perfect location for exploring the centre of Bath. There were 4 of us who stayed here an we were very impressed.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bexisagoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to make such positive remarks about the hotel. I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. I do hope you will visit again in the future.

Julian Mather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for a long weekend after I researched lots of hotels. It wasn't the cheapest but then that was a common theme. The staff were really helpful when I called to book, recommending a room that perfectly met our needs. They even arranged for beers to be put on ice in the room upon arrival as a surprise for my boyfriend.
The rooms were contemporary but I wouldn't say they were quirky, nice touch having a DAB radio.
The hotel is nice and central and the breakfast was tasty, again the staff were really accommodating when we needed to change our selection outside of the menu.
I wanted something nice but not OTT and this hotel more than delivered, but you are paying for it too. For the money I think they could have put in a few more touches like water and biccies in the rooms. I have stayed in less expensive boutique hotels that do this and other quirky touches. The hotel is in the city centre and does not have parking on site, but they have got a facility a short walk away....maps and directions were not the best tho!!!
On the whole we loved our stay but when I weigh it up we spent all our time out!!! Overall a great location, and a great little hotel in an area where hotels can be pricey. I think this was a great choice when you compare it to others in the same price range.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GMadcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2012

Thank you for taking the time to make such a positive review. I am extremly glad that you had enjoyable stay with us at the hotel and found all the staff helpful.

We do now place compimentary filtered water in the rooms. The water is filtered on site and goes through a seven stage process. We do also provide small caramel bisuits in each room.

I do hope you will visit us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Lovely hotel, beautiful decor(room12) great staff and good breakfast. Stairs were a challenge but well worth the effort, and helped burn of the calories gained from too many cakes and Bath Buns! Will always return when visiting Bath.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geenorina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2012

Thank you for your very positive review. I am extremely glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. All of our rooms are decorated to a high standard and many have been recently refurbished.

We are very lucky with our location being in the heart of Bath, we are close to all major attractions. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,323 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#9 of 34 in Bath
1,436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £73 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing