We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel in centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Harrington for a birthday treat. Great location and the room has many of the little touches many hotels lack. Would thoroughly recommend for a weekend break and bath is small enough to visit by train or car

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CC97Sheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us. I an extremely glad that you had and enjoyable stay and birthday.

I an happy you found everything to you liking and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

949 - 955 of 1,285 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013

Stayed over after going to the theatre and will definitely stay again. The staff couldn't be more helpful and the location is simply unbeatable for sightseeing, restaurants, shopping and theatre. Our (standard) room was compact but had been well thought out and had everything you could reasonably need. Infact this applies to the whole place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilWragg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found all the staff to be helpful.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather

Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2013

My wife and I booked this hotel based on Trip Adviser reviews and we were not disappointed.
Easily found with a sat nav, maybe slightly harder if no sat nav but once it's found you're not far from anywhere in city centre. We stayed one Sunday night, temperature was high during the day and pretty warm at night but no problem with noise anywhere nearby.
The hotel is decorated tastefully and well laid out although the building is relatively small. There is no on-site parking but you can book a local car park at an extra cost. The car park is close and within walking distance. We booked this at the same time as hotel.
The room was spacious, modern and the bed was very comfortable. the shower was a decent size, and toilet very well laid out.
Breakfast is excellent. There are continental breakfasts, orange juice, orders will be taken for tea and toast and breakfast is in menu form. We both opted for a cooked breakfast which was quite substantial.
Staff are very friendly and helpful. I would definitely use this hotel again, and recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GlasgowGuitarist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for your kind review. I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the hotel to your liking.

I am glad that you enjoyed what was on offer for breakfast, and found all the staff in the hotel to be helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Had an excellent weekend in Bath at Harringtons. I went for the package which included the private jacuzzi which was a nice touch. The hotel was right in the centre of town so everything was a maximum of 5minutes walk. Breakfast and the service was flawless. Wasn't the cheapest but it seems that the whole of Bath isn't either! Would go again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Parmarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2013

Thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us. I am extremely glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am happy to hear you enjoyed the Hot Tub, it has proved very popular.

We are lucky with our location, and I am glad that you would stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a charming, small hotel in the heart of Bath's historic district.

Our room was larger than most rooms in older, boutique hotels and was well equipped with a very comfortable bed, large wardrobe and a bright, functional bath. There's no lift but stairs and landings are well designed and easy to navigate.

Breakfast was excellent, with a full selection of hot dishes and a good cold buffet spread. It's served in charming rooms that take you back to Georgian times if you squint your eyes.

The staff are friendly and helpful with restaurant and sightseeing recommendations. We will definitely stay here when we return to Bath.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DeanpW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

All of our rooms do differ in size, and we do our best to maximise the space. I am happy to hear that you found the room to be spacious and the bathroom to you liking.

I am thrilled to hear that you found all the staff to be helpful and friendly, and glad that you found the recommendations to be helpful.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Loved this hotel! The rooms were nicely appointed, the location was outstanding (right down the street from the Roman Baths/other sights), and the staff was helpful/courteous. These were the most comfortable beds we slept on for our entire trip through England, pure heaven. The breakfast was outstanding: they offered a wide variety of choices as well as the standard "meatie" as well as a spread including lots of fresh ripe fruit, multiple types of juice, cereals, yogurt, etc. The only drawback is one that you find in most European hotels: no elevator/lift. However, the staff carried our bags up to our room and so we didn't have lug them ourselves. Felt like we had a little "home away from home" at Harington's and we'd definitely go back if we return to Bath.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TaraRoadTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2013

Thank you for taking the time to make such a positive review about you stay with us. I am extremely glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found all aspects of the hotel to you liking.

Unfortunately we do not have a lift, however we are happy to assist with bags to the rooms. I am glad you found the hotel to be like "home away from home", and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

We checked in on Fri 21st June and stayed for 2 nights.

Haringtons is a perfectly pleasant base and we would stay there again - very central and we could walk all around Bath without having to get a taxi.

I received an email from the manager about a week before we were due to stay to advise us to book a restaurant if we were visiting at the weekend - we took note of this advice and did just that. (really wanted to go to Sotto Sotto but fully booked-hotel recommended this restaurant when I rang asking for advice on an independent Italian restaurant).

Our room (no 10) was nice and clean, bed & bed linen looked superbly clean.

I assume that for most people, all you need your hotel for is somewhere to sleep so I wasn't fussed that the room wasn't huge - it suited our needs perfectly. Nice hot shower, clean, good lighting.

Breakfast was nice my husband chose the full monty which consisted of 1 sausage, 1 bacon, toast, choice of eggs, 1 tomato, black pudding and 2 mushrooms. I opted for the veggie option which was veggie sausage (which was lovely), choice of egg, toast, beans, fried bread, tomato and mushrooms. There were other options available such as pancakes, scrambled egg & a bagel or porridge. They also had a selection of fruit, yogurts croissants, cereals and juices.

We heard no noise at all from any pubs etc only the seagulls (our room overlooked the back of the hotel)!!!! Next time I would take ear plugs (you can buy these from reception if you choose).

Staff were nice and helpful.

We visited the thermae bath spa (take your own towels) otherwise you get charged.

Would recommend a trip down the canal only £8 pp.

We went to an indian restaurant one night called Rajpoot - very tasty food-best curry ever.

The pump room was lovely - we went mid morning for coffee and a bath bun.

One evening we went to Martini Italian restaurant for an evening meal.

If I were to suggest anything to the hotel it would be menial things such as: have more than 1 teabag in the room per person - I did ask for another 2 teabags & they gave me 4 more.

Would have been helpful to know about taking our own towels to bath spa.

We did book a feature room but I'm unsure of what the feature was??

It is quite expensive and I would slightly agree with another review made re: I wouldn't go so far as to call it a boutique hotel more a very good b&b.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2013

Thank you for your very positive review of you stay with us. I am glad that you found all the staff helpful and enjoyed your stay.

I am glad that you found the pre arrival email useful and that we could assit you with the planning of your trip.

I am glad that you enjoyed what was on offer for brekfast, we do have many positive reviews on our breakfast offerings.

All of our rooms do vary in size and layout due to the hotel being a listed georgian townhouse, so we are limited on what changes can be made to the internal fabric of the building.

We are very proud that we are officially recognised as a 3 star Metro hotel by the AA. We do offer a fully manned reception desk and a residants bar up until midnight each evening. We have also a residants lounge serving light food up until 9pm each day.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and do look forward welcoming you again the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,326 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#9 of 34 in Bath
1,437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Apex City of Bath Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £71 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing