We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“watch out for the cancellation policy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Having had two emails from this hotel reminding me to comment on trip advisor I feel obliged, I booked a night in advance for my wife and I to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary, my wife was taken I'll early in the mornining of the check in day and I immediately informed the hotel I couldn't make it unfortunately they have a strict 24 hour policy and charged me full whack. Most hotels will allow you to cancel up to 1400 hrs but not this one.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
4  Thank Tim_n_Stevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Tim_n_Stevie, I understand your disappointment in having being charged when you did not have the opportunity to stay with us at Harington's. Unfortunately we do have to have a cancelation policy just like every other business. Our cancelation is in fact 48hrs prior to the date of arrival. We make this very clear on our booking confirmations, which you would have agreed to prior to confirming your booking online.

I can see you e-mailed us on the morning of your arrival to cancel your booking for that day, we replied to you to explain that we would try to resell the room for you and if we were successful we would not charge you for the outstanding balance minus you booking deposit. We then emailed you again at 11pm that night to say we were unsuccessful in trying to resell the room at such short notice and that we would have to charge you. We made every effort to sell the room for you but unfortunately we were not successful.

If you have travel insurance you may be able to claim this back, check your policy. In the mean time if you would like to give us at Harington's another try please contact me directly on peter@haringtonshotel.co.uk and I will get you a special rate to make up for missed visit last time, and to show you that we are far from the mean spirited type here at Harington's. We strive to make all our customers happy so I hope you contact me and we can hopefully look forward to a more positive review after your stay. Many Thanks Peter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,211)
There are newer reviews for Harington's City Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

817 - 823 of 1,211 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2014

Only stayed a night but really enjoyed it, especially the hot tub! The room was cosy and comfortable with a lot of space. The staff was very helpful and the breakfast included almost everything. The hotel is very close to the town centre and all sights and commodities.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank George O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Dear George O, Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. We are really pleased to see that you had a pleasant experience with us during your recent stay. We get a lot of compliments about our breakfast, but we are not sitting on our laurels and we hope to have some new additions to the breakfast menu in the coming weeks. We are always trying to improve on the quality of the product we provide our guests here at Harington's. I hope you stay with us again when you visit Bath. Regards Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed at Harington's for a weekend break with my boyfriend on January 25th. It's a friendly, relaxed and very pretty hotel on a very great street in Bath. We had a lovely room tucked away in the attic, it was clean and comfortable with TV, WiFi, hairdryer etc. The staff were friendly and the interior design is fab. We also had a very yummy Harington's Breakfast on the Sunday am. It's close to the train station, the shops and the Spa so fab for an easy touristy break and we'll stay there anytime we visit Bath in the future.

Room Tip: If you want an attic room tucked away from reception etc, ask for room 5 or 6 in case it's free...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are very happy to see that you had such a great weekend staying with us at Harington's. Our super central location ensures that you wake up in the middle of the Hub Hub of Bath each morning! We have a great selection of restaurants just a few minutes walk away from the hotel, along with a few good watering holes too! Many Thanks Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Perfect location, lovely rooms, friendly staff and gorgeous breakfast. A little noisy for a while outside because of the pub opposite - but can't really complain; as we had drunk too much Prosecco in the hot tub and liqueurs at Sotto Sotto and gone to bed early with hangovers!! Not the hotels fault!!! LOL ;-)

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Emmie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Guest, Delight to hear you had such a great experience while staying with us at Harington's. Although I hope you did not regret it too much the next day with the after affects!! The hot tub is a real joy in this cold weather, a great way to relax and have some fun. I hope we can welcome you back again soon. Many Thanks Peter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Haringtons Hotel is located on a lovely little street in Bath, a few minutes walk from everything you need. The room was very comfortable and the service was good. They do charge extra for the private parking (although this was not stated on the website we booked the trip through, so watch out for that!). I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for you kind review. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I am glad tha you found the room to be comfortable and all the staff to be helpful and service good.

We do charge for £11 per day for off site parking in an allocated space. This is explained on our website, also all agents we use have been told of this. We aim to be a transparent as possible. I will of course check all agent sites to make sure that this is clear.

I am glad you would return to the hotel in the future and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here because we've enjoyed it on a previous occasion and were not disappointed. Everything was perfect and we look forward to staying again. Super location. Small but comfortable and clean rooms with a great breakfast.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for your positive review of your stay. I am glad you enjoyed your return visit and found everything to be perfect. We do our upmost to maintain the hotel and are always making changes to ensure a positive experience for our guest.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

I recently stayed in the Harington hotel on a girly weekend with my 2 sisters. We booked a triple room, which actually was really 2 bedrooms so plenty of room. Bathroom was large and spotlessly clean and the room had everything we needed, including a proper hairdryer ( a rare find in a hotel these days!).

Our room rate came with complimentary continental breakfast which was perfect for us, although we didn't go down to around 9.45am both mornings and as the breakfast finished at 10am there wasn't much left, so dont lie in too long!

The location couldn't be better - a couple of mins walk to all the main attractions, including the Komedia comedy club, thermae spa and lots of great bars and restaurants.

Staff were friendly and kept our bags after checkout too.

Would definately return.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathrynB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Thank you for you kind review of you stay with us. I am glad that you found everything in the room too your liking, and to be clean and spacious.

If booked directly with the hotel we include a Full English breakfast each morning. I am glad you enjoyed the continental breakfast offered.

I am glad you found the staff to be helpful and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian Mather
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,412 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#24 of 31 in Bath
2,850 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £102 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing