We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Hotel, Big Heart”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little Hotel, Big Heart”
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent just a single night at this hotel but we were very impressed and will be returning soon (hopefully!). The hotel is in a great location and the service is excellent, Our welcome was warm and informative, breakfast was yummy and every member of staff that we met were relaxed and friendly. The room was a good size and furnished really well. The only down side for us was the size of the bathroom but it was fine for what we needed it for and is to be expected in a smaller hotel. Try the Salamander pub for a nice pint of Bath Ale - it is just down the road.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MarkStevens1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your very positive review of you stay with us. I am extremely glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and found all the staff friendly and welcoming. We do aim to have a relaxed atmosphere.

I am also please to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast. All of our rooms do vary in size and lay out due to the age of the building. I am glad that you found the room to be comfortable, we have aimed to make the best use of the space available.

I am glad that you will return in the future and look forward to welcoming you again.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    727
    335
    52
    10
    8
See reviews for
185
637
31
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, South Wales
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed as a group of six in the townhouse. From start to finish everything was brilliant. You couldn't really get a better location for the shops, restaurants and thermae spa so no need to use taxis. The house was very clean and bottled water and plenty of towels were delivered daily. The hot tub in the patio is a special touch and again spotlessly clean. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouiseMerthyrTydfil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
thank you for you very kind review. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us in the Premier apartment.

The apartment is perfect for large groups of up to eight people and is right in the heart of the city. I am glad that you found the apartment to be comfortable and clean.

The hot tub at the hotel has proved very popular, and I am glad that you enjoyed use of this.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, Middlesex, UK
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I wanted to take my wife away for her birthday to bath thermae spa and was talking to a work colleague who recommended Haringtons. I checked out the website and booked straight away. It's in the heart of bath, 15 seconds from the high street literally. On arrival we checked in and were then escorted to our room, everything was explained clearly to us from the late night access door, room service and breakfast timings. Our room had been upgraded for us at no extra cost and was excellent, sumptuous decoration, comfy bed, nice bathroom and tea, coffee and water in our room. Breakfast was a buffet style mix of cereals, boiled eggs, croissants, fruit and yogurt and we also had a choice from the cooked breakfast menu (we had the egg, bacon and sausage bap which was amazing), all you want coffee and a self-squeeze orange juice machine. We paid to use the Haringtons car park which was a three minute walk away and really handy. The actual road to the hotel is small, tight and surrounded by one way streets so that's the only thing that could bother some people I guess...for us though it wasn't a problem....excellent hotel, private, quite, good position and friendly staff

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony150582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for you lovely review of your stay with us. I am thrilled to read you comments of your stay with us and extremely glad that you found your stay with us a positive one.

I am also glad that you found the breakfast to be excellent. We recently purchased a juicing machine for the breakfast room, we have had a very positive response.

I am also very happy to hear that you found all the staff to be helpful and hope that we do have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Thank you one again for you very kind remarks,

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Great location, friendly helpful staff and very comfortable.
Good breakfast, and cosy rooms.
Small amount of noise from the pub opposite at closing, but got expect that anywhere in a city centre. In a quiet side street so definitely quiter than some areas would be.
Nice little outdoor Jacuzzi patio for private booking.

Room Tip: Top floor double rooms are very cosy! Go for King size if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your very positive review of your stay. I am glad that you found everything to your liking as well as finding the staff to be helpful.

We have recently installed secondary glazing to all rooms at the front of the hotel, to eliminate street noise. The street is generally quiet due to us being on a small side street.

The hot tub has proved very popular since being installed and can be booked for an hour privately for £7.50 per person,

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 April 2014

If you are looking for a quality low key place to stay where you can be in the centre of the action and all Bath has to offer, this is for you. Rooms are comfortable and breakfast excellent. Used the hotel preferred parking arrangements and walked everywhere till we left. There was a comment about a spiral staircase but this goes down from the bar to the lavatory not to the rooms so not an issue. Stairs are narrow so if infirm request a room on a low floor, you can't get away from this being an original Georgian property with associated charm.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KRD1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us, we do aim to have a relaxed yet professional atmosphere and I am glad tha you found this to be the case.

The hotel is an old building retaining allot of it original charm. If people have specific requirements we will always do our best to accommodate.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Me and my friend decided to go to Bath for Easter very last minute. We checked out the accommodation options and we chose Harington's Hotel and booked one of their apartments. It was the perfect choice for a cozy, clean and super well located place, walking distance to most of the local attractions. Go for it!

Room Tip: make sure you know how to use the thermostat before going to bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank D0raB0ra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you fro your positive review of your stay in our City Pad apartment. I am extremely glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found everything to your liking.

I am sorry you were not told how to use the heating, usually all aspects of the apartment are explained on check in. I am sorry this was not done in your case.

We are lucky with the hotel and apartment location, being right in the heart of Bath. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Super comfortable & stylish rooms. And very friendly staff! Right in the heart of the city, perfect location, very easy for dropping shopping bags back during the day! Good breakfast too. I have enjoyed my stays so much I have just booked what will be my fourth visit!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mouse4017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. I am extremely glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Room 14 is a quirky room and very popular with guests, I am happy that you found it to your liking.

The Hot tub has proved very popular since we installed it. We charge £7.50 per person for an hour, this does include bottled water, and use of robes and slippers.

I am happy that you found all the staff to be welcoming and knowledgeable, and do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,355 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Property: Harington's City Hotel
Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing