We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harington's City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

This was our first visit to Bath and this hotel was a fantastic base for sightseeing and shopping and eating.It was central to everything and was an oasis of comfort and calm after a busy day.We loved our room that was over three floors really quirky.There was some noise on Saturday night but no more than any other city we have stayed in. The staff were helpful and friendly and the breakfast certainly set us up for the day. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hopefully will return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear Laynne,

Thank for your very positive review of your stay. I am glad that you enjoyed your first visit to Bath and to Harington's Hotel.

Room 14 as you say is a very quirky room and has many positive remarks from guest. All of our room have recently been individually refurbished.

As you say we are lucky with our location being right in the heart of Bath but in a small side street, which does make the hotel fell like a little oasis of calm.

Thank you for your kind remarks on the staff and the breakfast, I will be sure to pass these on. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    325
    49
    10
    8
See reviews for
173
608
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

This hotel was recommended to us by friends and we were not disappointed. We booked on the morning of our stay. I'd seen a room on the website I liked the look of and although initially the room was booked when we arrived to check in the lady on reception had managed to secure the room we wanted. The room itself was very clean and the bed very comfy. This hotel is down a tiny cobbled side street but everything is on its doorstep and within walking distance. The hotel has reserved parking for hotel guests a couple of minutes away so you can park the car and not have to worry. We only stayed the night but the breakfast the next morning was really nice and you can have whatever you like from the healthy option of cereals and fruit to a full cooked breakfast which is what we had and would definitely recommend you try this. They also have a machine from which you can make your own fresh orange juice. We couldn't find fault with this hotel and wished we had stayed another night. We will be recommending this hotel to friends and if we have the chance to visit Bath again, this is where we'll be booking to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George30_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear George, Thanks for your feedback. Delighted to see we were able to live up to your expectations. We continue to improve our offering here at Harington's so hopefully when you return to visit us you will find us even better! Many Thanks Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DORSET
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Amazing hotel, ideal for shopping, drinking. The hot tub was excellent and the staff very helpful. The room was very good and clean and the breakfast was cooked to perfection, really could not fault anything and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank 6699HUGO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest, Delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us at Harington's. Our central location is really ideal for anyone wanting to experience what bath has to offer, Everything is just a short walk from the hotel, with a great selection of restaurants and bars. Many Thanks Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Maybe a 3.5 more than a 4. Our room was not larhe but adequate amd comfortable. A quaint little hotel in central Bath. We did not eat here so do not know what the meals are like. Delightful bteakfast at the Jazz Cafe around the corner. Set on a quiet cobble stone street thst is one way so minimal traffic. Couple of pubs across the lane. The one directly opposite serves excellent pies. The draw backs are no lift and the stairway is very narrow carrying up and down suitcases but the staff are only too willing to assist. Also the car park is not onsite which we were aware of not too far to walk but it is only reserved spaces in an unsecurred council carpark. Very close to all the major attractions in Bath. Easy access to buses if needed including the hop on hop off. Very clean and tidy would stay again and recommend maybe mot for a long stay but definately 3 or 4 nights.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingmacs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

All of our rooms do vary in size and layout due to the age of the building. We are only to happy to assist with your choice of room if you call the hotel directly. As you say unfortunately we do not have a lift in the hotel, and due to its Grade 2 listed status we are unable to make any adjustments to the internal fabric of the building. We are of course always happy to assist with taking luggage to the room.

Our parking is offsite in a car park a few minutes drive from the hotel. This cost £11 per day which is cheaper than parking yourself and offers you a guaranteed space.

There are many pubs and restaurants in Bath that offer a varied selection of food. I am happy you enjoyed your selection. The Raven opposite serves lovely pies and large selection of real ales, and is a very traditional pub - a rare find these days.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed here for two nights last weekend for a University reunion - very welcoming staff and the room, although small and at the top of two flights of stairs, was very comfortable with modern bathroom and plenty of hot water. Well placed for shopping and sightseeing - excellent breakfast and the juice making machine was fun!
There is some late night noise from the street below but to be expected bearing in mind the central location.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank suearmitage2668
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for you very kind review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed your University reunion.

As you say we are in an excellent position being right in the centre of Bath and close to all the shops and major attractions.

The juice machine has proved very popular since being recently installed. I also am please that you enjoyed breakfast, we have many positive comments on our cooked breakfast.

I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We chose to stay in the separate apartment as we thought it would give us a little more options,but once we saw the hotel when we went for breakfast we felt we had missed out.The hotel is beautifully decorated and has a lovely atmosphere where as the city pad is in a plainly decorated building,bit musty when you open the main outside door,but having said that,the apartment is brilliant,well stocked,comfy and decorated as the hotel is.
All in all, would definitely return,in hotel,great location,just need to smarten up the entrance and common areas of the separate building xx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay in our City Pad apartment.

I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found the apartment to be well decorated. Unfortunately we do not own the entire building, so don't have control of the public areas.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed in the larger Apartment/Townhouse, a group of 6 Ladies over Bank Holiday Weekend. The Apartment is set over 3 floors, has 4 Bedrooms and 2 Bathrooms. It is beautifully decorated and immaculate. It has a Terrace off the kitchen which we found invaluable during our stay as we enjoyed breakfast and afternoon cocktails outside in the sunshine - wonderful.

The Townhouse is in a fantastic position, seconds from the High St, however located down a quiet cobbled side street. You are literally walking distance to all of Baths attractions.

Bath is a very expensive place to stay and we stayed over Bank Holiday weekend but Im a firm believer of you get what you pay for.

The carpark is only a 5 min walk away. Its great to drop the car off and leave it as you wont be needing it again for your stay and the hotel provides reasonable rates (compared to other carparks in Bath)

There were a couple of maintenance niggles during our stay which were rectified immediately. We had fresh towels delivered daily and the staff were friendly and helpful.

All in all a brilliant break at Haringtons and I cant wait to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandVix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for you review of you stay with us. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

The Premier apartment is perfect for large groups of up to 8 people. It also as you say has the advantage of an outdoor patio, which is a lovely place to sit and relax. Especially with the sunny weather we have been having of late.

I am glad that you found the apartment to be well decorated and clean, as well as finding the staff to be helpful. I am sorry you had a few problems, but please we rectified these quickly.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
0.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.5 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Property: Harington's City Hotel
Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing