We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location with excellent personal service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harington's City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing location with excellent personal service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a great hotel wonderfully decorated with great facilities.

The car parking is a great idea for such a central location and not a long walk (I can't walk too far myself) I don't think many other hotels have off road parking.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. The room was lovely, very clean, comfortable and well decorated. The only thing that would make the room even better is a small fridge in the room.

The lounge and patio areas are great to sit in, there are even blankets you can borrow to keep warm when you're outside. The bar is well priced and the breakfast menu is amazing! There were several choices for a veggie like me. All cooked and presented well, I've rarely had such a great breakfast at a hotel especially one that is included in the price of the room.

The hotel is in one of the best locations of Bath hotels, just a stones throw from boutique shops and the centre of Bath. There is a Gin Bar opposite the hotel which is great and a must visit. At the other end of the road there is also a great cheese mongers.

All in all a great stay at a great hotel. We were sad to leave but will definitely be returning

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review of your stay with us. We are lucky to be able to offer car parking. Many hotels in Bath don't have parking.

I am trilled to hear that you found the rooms to be clean and well decorated, as well as enjoying the public area. The small courtyard area to the rear of the hotel is lovely on a summers day, and also has our Hot Tub that guests can use.

We do try hard to have a variety of option son the breakfast menu and I am happy that you enjoyed our vegetarian option.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    691
    327
    49
    10
    8
See reviews for
173
613
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed in Bath many times but not here before. The location is very central, making it ideal for restaurants, bars, attractions and shops. It takes a little bit of finding by car, given the new road system in Bath but they have reserved parking a few minutes away so that helps. The rooms have a boutique feel to them and are comfortable. As the hotel in is a narrow backstreet and the rooms have no air-con I guess they could get hot in the summer, but this was not a problem when I was there.
Breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly. All in all a good place to stay in Bath.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook a pub so could be noisy at closing time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goonerdavem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your very kind review of you stay with us. We are very lucky to be in such a central location being close to all that Bath has to offer.

Driving in Bath can be tricky due to the one way systems, however as you mentioned we do offer allocated parking in a car park close to the hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and happy to hear that you found all the staff to be helpful. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again when you return to Bath.

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Great location to walk to the Roman Baths, shops, restaurants and bars. The hotel staff were welcoming and helpful in advising us where the hotspots were! The room itself was clean and nicely furnished. However it was very hot the weekend we visited and there was only a small fan provided which meant sleeping was difficult, the bars outside made it quite noisy in the middle of the night with the windows open also. In the morning we had fresh orange juice and an English breakfast (all of which was locally sourced and delicious). We would 100 percent stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay. As you mentioned we are close to all of the major attractions and shops.

I am sorry to hear you found the room to be hot, unfortunately we are unable to install air conditioning due to the nature of the building. We would have assisted with and additional fan if required.

I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast, which receives many compliments from guests. The fresh orange juicer has proved popular since being installed a few months ago. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Overall, a really lovely hotel. The only issue was the heat in our bedrooms - we were on the top floor on a very warm weekend and, although there was a fan, the rooms were sweltering. But a very good place to stay in central Bath.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BHickups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your review of you stay with us. As you say we do have a fabulous location being right in the heart of the city. I am sorry you found the room to be hot during your stay. Unfortunately due to the age of the building and it listed status we are unable to install air conditioning. We do provide fans in all the rooms and would of be happy to provide you with an additional fan.

I am glad you had an enjoyable stay and do hope you will stay with us in the future.

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

although it was difficult to find when driving and you had to park away from the hotel.The room was nice and the bed very comfortable.

The breakfast was disappointing continental selection small and the cooked breakfast was dry and minimal.

Room Tip: the room by reception was quirky with a spiral staircase up to the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank elaine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest, many thanks for your review on your recent stay with us at Harington's. Great to see you enjoyed your room and were able to use our excellent location to get some needed retail therapy in our beautiful city. Disappointed to see that our breakfast which is normally such a praised aspect of our guests stay with us at Harington's missed the spot with you on this occasion. Our continental breakfast has an extensive selection of cut fresh fruits, along with grapefruit, prunes and apricots in syrup. We also have extensive verity of cereals along with Muesli, yogurts, along with our automatic orange juicer. We offer two types of homemade cakes/Bread along with pain au raison,pain au chocolate and crossants. That is before I even get to the the cooked options of which there are 7 (Seven). I would be delighted if you would contact me as I would be interested in getting your thoughts on how we could improve our offering. please e-mail me peter@haringotnshotel.co.uk . Thanks Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brescia, Italy
Level Contributor
106 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very nicely situated, clean and modern hotel in the real heart of beautiful Bath. The staff were polite and available, the room had a lovely shower and comfortable bed. The hotel also very kindly let us keep the parking badge for the "off site park" way after we were supposed to give it back, which was a very nice touch.
One complaint was that the veggie breakfast had very poor sausages, which if you were to but Cauldron Foods or Tesco's Finest would raise the experience by at least 1/2 a point (having actual bits of vegetable in a veggie sausage is like having bits of ear or nose in a real sausage)

Room Tip: we stayed out until after 12, and when we returned there was a pristine silence even with window wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jonnymills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest, thanks for your positive feedback on your recent stay with us at Harington's. Great to see you enjoyed one of our power showers, a great way to set you up for a day of sightseeing! Delighted to see you had a great experience when interacting with our team here at Harington's, we always try to say yes to our guests if at all possible, after all we are here to make your trip to Bath one of special memories. I was disappointed to see you did not like our vegetarian sausage, as we have had such positive feedback on the veggie sausages we use at Harington's. In fact a lot of our staff eat them in preference of pork sausages. We do also stock Quorn sausages so if you stay again please let us know and we would be happy to source a different type of veggie sausage for your breakfast. Many Thanks Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Branford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

How fortunate we were to stay at this charming and comfortable hotel with a perfect location. The staff was welcoming and very helpful with everything from directions to suggestions for restaurants that proved to be just right. The breakfasts were particularly enjoyable - not just the food and the orange juicer but the interaction with the staff. We were only staying four nights in Bath so the location was perfect as close enough to the centre activity without being right in the middle of it.
Would definitely book here again,

Room Tip: Interior of hotel very quiet but street noise well after hours was somewhat disruptive to sleep-retu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank BathGirl146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Guest, Delighted to see you had such a great visit to our wonderful city. We work hard on constantly improving our breakfast offering so I'm delighted to see you thought so highly of it. our automatic juicing machine has added a bit of fun and excitement to breakfast service with guests able to juice their own juice at the press of a button. I will pass on your comments to our team here and let them know you appreciated their service during your stay. Many Thanks Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,186 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Property: Harington's City Hotel
Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing