We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Central Location, Excellent Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #8 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Central Location, Excellent Staff”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed here for two nights. The location is very central, just a couple of minutes walk from the Roman Baths / Town centre. The room was nicely decorated with a large bathroom. Breakfast was very good. The staff here were excellent, all very friendly and helpful. I left my phone charger in the room when we left and they even posted it back to me and did not accept any payment for the postage which was extremely kind of them. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your kind review of your stay. I am glad that you have an enjoyable stay with us and found the room to your liking.

We are fortunate to be in such a central location close to all the major attractions and Bath wide variety of shops.

Thank you for you kind remarks on the staff and breakfast. I am happy we were able to return your charger to you and do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again.

Best wishes
Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    333
    51
    10
    8
See reviews for
179
625
31
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Our third visit to Bath and our third stay at Haringtons (if it ain't broke, don't fix it!) We had the same room as our first visit 13 years ago (room 1) and it was even better this time. Staff are great and breakfasts are yummy. They also have a hot tub now which is a nice touch.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Facfiftyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay. I am thrilled that you enjoyed your return visit to Bath and Haringtons. Room 1 has been recently refurbished and receives many compliments.

We have recently installed the Hot Tub which has proved very popular with guests. A private 1 hour slot can be booked for £7.50 per person. This includes complimentary hire of robes and towels and a bottler of filtered water.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Best wishes
Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Harrington's is in a great location, we could walk to all of the major sights in Bath. The hotel is beautifully decorated and the staff very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was delicious. We travelled in a group of four adults and three children (7,9 and 14) and we all had a fantastic time. We would love to come back to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank denandrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and your visit to Bath.

All the staff do aim to make your stay a positive one and I am glad that you found this the case.


I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Jeff and Lynne had a lovely weekend in Bath staying at the Harington's Hotel. Jeff revisited his old haunts from his days at Bath Uni (too long ago to recount) and Lynne saw Bath for the first time. We visited The Kaffe Fasset exhibition at the American Museum-Jeff under sufferance but Lynne is 7th heaven.
The weather was kind and Bath showed itself in all its gorgeous colours.
The Hotel couldn't have been better (well, maybe a lift would be useful). The staff were so friendly and helpful. The rooms and facilities were just right. The location is excellent once Bath traffic, narrow side streets and cobbled roads had been negotiated. The Hotel off street parking is a great idea and essential for drivers.
We will certainly come again and at the same hotel.
Jeff

Room Tip: We only used 1 room so I cannot compare. Our room, no.3, was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank jeffrey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Jeff and Lynne, thank you so much for your kind words regarding your recent weekend stay with us at Harington's. This wonderful weather we have been having really does show off the beauty of our wonderful city. There is nothing quite like the evening sun shining on golden bath stone buildings. It reminds you we are privileged to live in a very special place. Great to see you found your accommodation to your liking and were able to take advantage of our super central location for your stay. I hope we can indeed welcome you back soon to Bath. Many Thanks Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2014

What a pleasant surprise for the three of us, myself, my husband and almost 16 year old grandson. When I read the hotel described as "quirky," I was a little apprehensive. We initially parked at the wrong public garage and walked several blocks before finding Harington's. Along the way, we passed the Public Baths/Ruins, wonderful shops and restaurants (kind of a closed street outdoor mall). Our Host gave us a warm greeting and offered to walk back to where we parked and then to the correct lot which was a lot closer. Our room, 2 flights us was more than we imagined. Our grandson had his own small room with a single bed and our adjoining room had a Queen. The bathroom and the decor was beautiful. A fabulous breakfast was served in one of two beautifully decorated rooms. This was definitely a high light of our trip!!!!!

Room Tip: 2 flights up (not a problem unless you have large, heavy bags) and in the front. Left at the top of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for you glowing review of your stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the room to be to your liking. All of our rooms are individually decorated and differ in layout. We are always happy to assist guest with choosing a room that fits their requirements.

I am happy to hear we were able to assist you with moving your car to the correct car park. Bath one way systems can be a bit confusing at times.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This is a great hotel wonderfully decorated with great facilities.

The car parking is a great idea for such a central location and not a long walk (I can't walk too far myself) I don't think many other hotels have off road parking.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. The room was lovely, very clean, comfortable and well decorated. The only thing that would make the room even better is a small fridge in the room.

The lounge and patio areas are great to sit in, there are even blankets you can borrow to keep warm when you're outside. The bar is well priced and the breakfast menu is amazing! There were several choices for a veggie like me. All cooked and presented well, I've rarely had such a great breakfast at a hotel especially one that is included in the price of the room.

The hotel is in one of the best locations of Bath hotels, just a stones throw from boutique shops and the centre of Bath. There is a Gin Bar opposite the hotel which is great and a must visit. At the other end of the road there is also a great cheese mongers.

All in all a great stay at a great hotel. We were sad to leave but will definitely be returning

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review of your stay with us. We are lucky to be able to offer car parking. Many hotels in Bath don't have parking.

I am trilled to hear that you found the rooms to be clean and well decorated, as well as enjoying the public area. The small courtyard area to the rear of the hotel is lovely on a summers day, and also has our Hot Tub that guests can use.

We do try hard to have a variety of option son the breakfast menu and I am happy that you enjoyed our vegetarian option.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Stayed in Bath many times but not here before. The location is very central, making it ideal for restaurants, bars, attractions and shops. It takes a little bit of finding by car, given the new road system in Bath but they have reserved parking a few minutes away so that helps. The rooms have a boutique feel to them and are comfortable. As the hotel in is a narrow backstreet and the rooms have no air-con I guess they could get hot in the summer, but this was not a problem when I was there.
Breakfast was excellent and the staff were friendly. All in all a good place to stay in Bath.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook a pub so could be noisy at closing time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goonerdavem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Thank you for your very kind review of you stay with us. We are very lucky to be in such a central location being close to all that Bath has to offer.

Driving in Bath can be tricky due to the one way systems, however as you mentioned we do offer allocated parking in a car park close to the hotel.

I am glad that you enjoyed the breakfast and happy to hear that you found all the staff to be helpful. I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again when you return to Bath.

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
1,318 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
1,202 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#9 of 35 in Bath
1,057 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Property: Harington's City Hotel
Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing