We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Harington's City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Towcester
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Always good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

This was our third stay at this very well placed, central Bath hotel. As always the staff were unfailingly helpful and pleasant. The rooms are very comfortable and just seem to have everything you may need in them. The cooked breakfast was excellent and I just have to mention the fresh orange juice machine, fantastic! Love it.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank KSLTowcester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of your stay with us. I am glad that we had the pleasure of welcoming you again for the third time. I am glad that you found all aspects of the hotel to be good and found that staff helpful. W do all work hard to maintain the standards in the hotel. I am glad to hear that you found this to case again.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    690
    326
    49
    10
    8
See reviews for
173
611
28
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

The hotel is the perfect base for a weekend of exploring central Bath, with all the main sights as well as plenty of restaurants and bars only a short walk away. The room was comfortable and well maintained and the breakfast was tasty and efficient. Service was good throughout.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mward1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am happy to hear that you had an enjoyable stay, and found the service to be good throughout your stay.

We are very lucky with our location being close to all the major attractions and restaurants,.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

Lovely charming old building- winding staircases and great rooms / bathrooms. We stayed on the top floor so had a decent outlook over the rooftops of Bath. Pesky seagulls though!!

Fantastic location, helpful staff, very clean and a good breakfast.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stef_1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your very kind review. I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us in Bath.

I am glad that you enjoyed all elements of your stay with us. I am also thrilled to hear that you found the staff to be helpful.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location, but enjoyed every aspect of it. It is a lovely boutique hotel in the center of town. We had a room for three - a double and a single, and there was plenty of room. The room was very quiet, except for the sound of seagulls! Delicious filtered water in the room with free refills. Breakfast was delicious and abundant. The only complaint would be that the continental part of the breakfast was not replenished throughout the breakfast time. The morning we ate at 7:30, everything was full and lovely, but the second day, when we showed up at 9:00, most of the continental items were gone. We still had a nice full breakfast served to us, though. I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are staying in Bath..

Room Tip: Our room was on the back and was very quiet - not really a view, but you are in the middle of the ci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
thank you for your very positive review of you stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found everything to meet your expectations. I am glad you found the added extras to your liking also.

I am sorry you found the continental breakfast to be sparse on you second morning. The girls to regularly top up the buffet and I am sorry this was not the case that day. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your cooked breakfast.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is located just few minutes walk from most of the interesting places in central Bath. It is a small hotel nicely decorated and furnished. That goes for both room, breakfast room and lounge. And it's clean everywhere.
Our room was surprisingly small considering we booked a room a little bigger than standard rooms. But it worked. It was really hot in Bath and we could really have used air-condition but there was non, so we has some hot nights. The hotel provided us with an electrical fan. It helped but not very much.
The breakfast menu and buffet were well assorted including porridge, traditional English breakfast and pancakes. I missed the black pudding but I seem to be one of the few that does that. The quality of the breakfast was good. Only the coffee could be better, and we don't understand why we had to wait so long for the hot dishes we ordered - every day.
The staff was accommodating and helpful though one didn't seem 100% service minded. Example: we wanted to sit at a window table in the breakfast room. It was free but not cleared/set. We were asked to sit at another table. I asked for blacked pudding though it wasn't on the menu and was told they didn't make that any more. The hotel is quite expensive so we expect the staff to go that extra length with reasonable requests.
The wifi works smoothly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NN-CPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for you positive review of you stay. I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us in the hotel.

All of our rooms do vary in size due to the age and the nature of the building. We are happy to discuss your requirements and assist with you room choice. We do aim to make the best possible use of the space in each room to provide both comfort and storage.

I am glad that you enjoyed what was on offer at breakfast. Every breakfast is cooked fresh to order to ensure that is the best it can be. I am sorry you could not have the black pudding as requested. This has been taken off the menu recently as it was not proving popular with guests. I will make sure that this is available to guests if requested in the future.

I am also sorry that you were unable to sit in the table by the window as it had not been cleared. I believe the breakfast waitress showed you to another prepared table so that you did not have to wait. In hindsight maybe she should have asked you to take a seat in the lounge until the table you preferred was ready.

I am glad that all in all you had an enjoyable stay and do hope you stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belle Mead, New Jersey
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in Bath during our vacation. It is a small, historical hotel right in the middle of Bath. We could walk everywhere. We also were close enough to take a side, driving trip to Stonehenge. Everyone at the hotel was pleasant, friendly and helpful. The woman who made the breakfasts (included with the room) did a delightful job. Everything was delicious! Our bed was comfortable. The only issue we had was that it was warm when we were in Bath and had to rely on a room fan because the hotel isn't allowed to install air conditioning due to its historical significance. When in Bath again, we won't hesitate to stay here, just in a little cooler weather.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us in the hotel . I am extremely please to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

I am glad that you found the staff to be helpful and friendly and enjoyed the breakfast. We have many positive reviews on the staff as well as our cooked to order full English breakfast.

We are extremely lucky with our location being close to all the major attraction and shops. I look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

We decided at the last minute to escape for the weekend and with just five days to plan we decided to head to Bath, somewhere I hadn't been for nine years.

We like to be central when staying in the cities and after checking the usual suspects I wasn't taken by the locations or the rooms online. I cam across Harington's by accident after reading about the facilities and "uniqueness" of the hotel, decided to book it for Saturday and Sunday nights.

They pre-booked parking and I arranged for a bottle of Prosecco to be chilled in the room on arrival. All sorted and in place when we arrived. The car park is around the one-way system a bit and it was raining when we arrived, but if you know Bath then you'll know how difficult it is to get a good parking space and Harington's have a block booked at a local car park.

We booked a Feature double room and the website explains that this is accessed via a spiral staircase. It also tells you the size of the bed, so there's no complaining if you thought you were getting a Queens size as per some of the other rooms.

Harington's is located in Queen Street. It's a lovely cobbled street and within easy walking distance of all areas of Bath. The street and hotel have character and quirkiness that you can only get in Bath with its amazing buildings and streets.

It sits opposite The Raven pub and just further down is The Gin Bar (a must stop off).

We arrived and the very helpful receptionist was welcoming, polite and an asset to the hotel. She then pointed to our room which was accessed by a door to the right of the reception booth. We laughed at this as it seemed amazing to have Room 14 accessed literally at the front of the hotel. Unlocking the door, you immediately climb the metal staircase to the first floor where the bedroom is.

It is small, but this ads to the quirky and boutique nature of the hotel. The room has an ensuite wet room, The tiling looks a bit dated, but it's clean and does exactly what you want. Remember, this is a wet room, so the water runs throughout the small bathroom, so it's worth having a rolled up towel to stop the water moving too much from the shower area (and the staff leave a rolled up towel for you).

The bed is a standard double wrought iron bed. The mattress was very comfortable. You have an Espresso coffee machine and a fridge is tucked away in the wardrobe for your own drinks or to put the complimentary bottle of still water.

The room overlooks Queen Street and The Raven pub. Remember this, as the first floor of The Raven is a busy sit down bar and if you don't put the blind down you could provide a show for the customer. The window can be opened to let fresh air in. If you are staying in the summer it can be very hot in the room and there is no air conditioning. You are given an electric desk fan which circulates the air, but it's still very hot.

If you leave the window open you will hear everything outside and on a Saturday night the pub is open into the early hours. So remember this.

You have to go up to the next floor within your private area to access the toilet on the landing above. It might seem odd, but this adds to the character of the room, so don't book in if you're not into stairs.

We had a drink in the bar/lounge before heading out on the Saturday afternoon. This ia a grey space. Very relaxing. You can either sit looking out on to Queen Street people-watching, or in another area by the bar.

Generally there aren't many people in the bar area, so it's very private. There's a hot tun in a small yard outside the rear of the lounge that can be privately hired for £7.50 per person per hour. We didn't use it on this occasion but will next time. They shut the door and close the blinds to make it your private space where you can have a bottle of wine or champagne.

The main door is closed at 11.30pm but you can gain entry via a code locked door after this time if you want.

Breakfast on a Sunday is served between 8.30am and 10am. We got there at 9am and it wasn't busy, sitting in one of two rooms prepared. A very relaxed environment. The staff were great at helping with menu selection. Very welcoming and ensured you always had coffee and everything you wanted. Breakfast is 7.30am to 10am on weekdays.

The breakfast ha a wide selection of cereals, porridge, fresh orange juice and then some great freshly cooked full English (using local produce) or Posh Nosh Breakfast (pancakes and salmon) and much more, all cooked to how you want it.

The Harinton is a great boutique hotel in central bath. Well worth considering. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the location is great for all parts of the city and the quirkiness of the hotel is great.

We're looking forward to returning again soon.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulianMather, Manager at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Thank you for you very kind and in depth review of your stay with us. I am thrilled to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and in Bath.

All of our rooms do vary in size and layout due to the age and nature of the building. We are happy to assist wit room choices at the time of booking, and aim to be as transparent as possible.

We do have some lovely private areas within the hotel that are cosy and private. The hot tub that we recently had installed has proved a very popular addition.

I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon.

Julian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.0 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,312 reviews
1.5 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#8 of 34 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,040 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Property: Harington's City Hotel
Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing