We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location - staff was extremely accomodating - nice decor too!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location - staff was extremely accomodating - nice decor too!”
Reviewed 27 May 2010

We stayed in room 6 on the top floor, the view was worth the climb! The decor in the lobby and throughout the hotel was chic boutique indeed! Bathroom was modern, clean and adequate size. Although someone over 6 feet tall might have some head bumps.

We are late risers so we cannot review the breakfast or cleaning service -- they did check on us via telephone to see if we needed more towels, etc which was nice. We had to check out very early on our last day and the staff provided some breakfast items for us the night before for a take-away breakfast, so thoughtful!

The room would be hot on a hot English day but with the provided fan and windows open it was bearable, with no blankets :)

Location couldnt be better -- like the others reviewers say, right in the heart of it but somehow situated on a very quiet street.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank halfofvamh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    338
    52
    10
    8
See reviews for
192
649
34
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
asfordby
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

Just come back from a weekend away in Bath staying at the Harrington. For location you couldnt get much better, right in the middle, yet set back a street so it was still quite. We stayed in room 14 one of the feature rooms. It was an excellent choice. The room was really nice and comfy, we had a spiral staircase leading to the bedroom and shower room, with TV kettle, with tea coffee hot chocolate and a biscuit plus an espresso machine, which was a nice touch. Then there was some stairs which led to the toilet. The bed was really comfy, we slept like a log. On both days the breakfast was excellent, the girls serving were really attentive and polite. In fact everyone at the hotel was really nice, we couldnt fault it one bit. We shall definately stop here next time we are in Bath and we shall recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AsfordbyVillagefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2015
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harington's. We have continued in making great strides at Harington's to ensure that our customer experiences continue to get better and better all the time. I hope to see you back at Harington's very soon. Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alsager Cheshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We stayed at Harington's for a long weekend with friends.
The hotel is ideally situated in a quiet street just of the retail centre.
The hotel has parking available on a nearby car park and we dropped the bags at the hotel and then drove to the car park.
Our room was on the 3rd floor and was very clean and well decorated.The room wasnt massive but it was perfectly adequate for a short stay.
The staff were generally helpful and there was a wide range of options for breakfast.
The hotel is right in the heart of the city and consequently all the shops,bars retaurants etc are within a short walk.
The Salamnder pub opposite is well worth a visit ( Bath Ales ) and the Moon and Sixpence was a good restaurant choice.
The Roman Baths were interesting and well woth a tour.
The girls had lots of retail therapy and they liked the wide range of smaller independent retailers
All in all a great weekend destination

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WadeyAlsagerCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

My daughter, a college student studying in London, and I booked Harington's for our first trip to Bath. We stayed in a superior double, Room 9, and found it spotlessly clean and comfortable. The small but completely modern bath even had a heated towel rack. Housekeeping service was prompt and capable. Our three favorite aspects were: First, the hotel is on a side street so it is quiet. We visited the weekend of Bath's Lit Crit Festival, and it was heaving with visitors. We heard nothing. Second, the concierge staff was spot on. The lovely Helen helped us figure out how to get to Glastonbury by public transport, even downloading rail/bus schedules and printing copies for us, which she delivered to our room with explanations of how to navigate the trip. Third, the breakfast was stupendous. A cold bar followed by a generous made-to-order hot menu. We rolled onto the chilly streets each morning fortified for our day's adventures. Bath is small enough that every hotel has a great location, but Harington's really is ideally situated for walks to the Circus and the Royal Crescent, to the train station, and to nearby shops, pubs and cafes (especially The Circus on Brook Street, deeelish!). High marks for Harington's!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DDU56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hythe Southampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2010

We chose this hotel as we wanted a short break mid week somewhere central in the town so that there was no need to drive, this is a central as you can get and excellent for going out for meals drinks and shopping.

Parking – Located in a public car park about 5 minutes walk away, to use this facility you first need to get and pay for a £9 a day entry card from the hotel (this can be charged to the room), then drive to the car park then walk back to the hotel. Bit of a pain, but at least this is offered. (Please note that TomTom navigation was not at all helpful through the one way streets)

Reception – Small reception and small bar, hotel locked after 11pm, but a door code is issued for after this time.

Bedroom – Small but recently fitted out very nicely. The bed was very soft but was very cosy with loads of cushions. Included in the room were a TV, CD player, digital radio and tea and coffee facilities. Some noise from the room above late a night, but this was more down to the guests than the hotel. I was also very pleased to find that there was free Wifi.

Bathroom – Small but very nicely fitted out with a modern sink, bath, over bath shower and nice hot towel rail. Included were shower gels, tissues and towels.

Breakfast – small range of cereals, pastries, fruit juices, tea and coffee, but a good cooked menu which you can ask for any combination you like made to order.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_and_Sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2010

The Hotel was in perfect location for exploring city. We had a room on the top floor & as other reviews have mentioned it was very tiny but was fine for a two night stay. For us the bed was too soft but that's just a personal choice. Breakfast was great. Parking was few minutes walk away. Maybe better to book direct with the Hotel then you can request a specific room, we booked on internet via third party.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsBeeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 February 2010

Breakfast was delicious, great choice of hot and cold. Served promptly and efficiently . Staff very smiley. Lovely soft bed and loads of pillows lulls into deep sleep.
Nice bar / lounge area. Good colour choice in decor.
Fridge in rm was dirty, reported to reception, it was immeditately cleaned.
Wet room is tiny although the shower is good.
General signs of wear and tear, chipped paint, laminate peeling away from bathroom shelves. Wall mounted stand (possibly for old style portable TV?) still on wall for some reason. Lots of dust on TV, mirror etc. Reported to manager who said cleanliness was a priority.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Visitor91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 30 in Bath
1,241 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#15 of 30 in Bath
1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 30 in Bath
1,346 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
0.3 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Property: Harington's City Hotel
Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing