We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Harington's City Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable oasis”
Reviewed 17 September 2010

Though we arrived to a rather clipped introduction to the hotel and our room from the front desk member, we found the rest of our stay completely pleasant. Our room (#9, which faced away from the Raven Pub which the other side of the hotel faces) was quiet, very, very clean and surprisingly roomy. The bathrooms were modern, spotless and well ventilated, something not frequently found in the U.K.. Outlets were ample around the room. The beds were very comfortable and only the beautiful breakfast room could lure us from them. Breakfast, which is included in the price (as is the VAT) is served in a bright and cheery room and offers a nice assortment of sliced fruit, cereal, fresh baked chocolate and plain croissants, sweet rolls and juice. You may also choose to have eggs, toast, sausage, tomatoes, etc., coffee and tea made up fresh for you. The staff were always pleasant and quick. And the eggs are very nice, by the way. The lounge area is clean, modern and comfortable with a small bar area for relaxing. The large windows in the front afford a nice view of Queen Street. I did not sample the lounge menu, but if it is anything like their breakfast--it will be very good. The location could not be better as in less than two blocks you find your self on Union Street, one of the major shops/walking routes/restaurant streets in town, but just far enough away you don't get the noise. The hotel offers parking for a fee of 9.50GBP/night should you bring a car in a nearby lot, which to get to you have to drive completely around Bath to get to, so be warned. All and all the most pleasant stay I have had yet in the U.K. over several trips and several cities.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BTownTraveler1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    775
    343
    52
    11
    8
See reviews for
202
668
36
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

We visited this hotel for a long weekend to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary. The hotel was in a perfect location, everything was in easy walking distance. The rooms were spotlessly clean and well equipped. Each was individual. We were in room 6 which was on the top floor. As it was in the roof conversion, the ceiling does slope and if you are tall, you may want to request a room on a lower floor! Wasn't a problem for us but worth mentioning!
The breakfasts were delicious and there was a good choice of food.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWK14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2010

We recently stayed at the Haringtons Hotel for 3 nights and had a lovely break away. This hotel was chosen due to it's location slap bang in the town centre and it did not disappoint. I think this is the main selling point of the hotel because it's so easy to just pop back to the hotel at any point for a chill out or freshen up, which is a god send if you've been walking around the shops! The hotel itself was really nicely decorated and very well looked after. Our room (one of their feature doubles) was a little on the small side, but comfortable and ample space for a weekend break - plenty of storage space too. Again this was very nicely decorated. Yes, it did get slightly noisier in the night time, but this is a town centre hotel and you must expect noise once people start leaving the clubs. I found this noise was minimal when shutting the windows anyway. Breakfast was really good with loads of choice. Being in the centre of town there is no parking, but you can pay the hotel £9.50 per day to use Charlotte Street car park, which we have used on many an occasion and have never had a problem there. Probably the only real downside is the price of this hotel - about £150 per night for a feature double. I did expect more from the room for this amount of money and I wondered if we would have just been ok to pay for a standard double and save some cash. Having not seen a standard double though I couldn't comment. I would still recommend this hotel though purely because of its location which makes it the perfect base to explore Bath.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Madiemango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2010

After reading some very positive reviews we were looking forward to our 2-night stay, however we left disappointed.

Positives:-
The staff are very pleasant and helpful.
Prompt room service.
The bed was comfortable
The breakfast was excellent.
Central location.

Negatives:-
Be prepared to carry your bags via confined stair cases up several flights.So not for the immobile or elderly.
Staircase and landings showing evidence of wear and needing attention.
Room was fairly small despite being a "superior double".
Attention to detail needed - unattractive exposed pipework under the sink with holes through damaged tiles - no I'm not obsessive but you couldn't miss it from the loo. Missing screw caps on the bath/shower mixer, loose towel rail on shower screen.
We were concerned that exposed steps down from the ensuite could cause an accident if someone misjudged their footing.
Room cleanliness could be better. There was a discarded contact lense under the dresser. Black hairs on the bathroom floor and in the bath - we don't have black hair. The bedspread was marked and the headboard of cloth had evidence of previous guests contact with it.
Evening Meals - it seems like this is purely offered to meet expected criteria and despite being sold at restaurant prices, it is not cooked fresh on the premises but microwaved. Choice is limited.
Dining room light had a number of dead low voltage bulbs.
There was a lot of noise from revellers through the early hours - I appreciate there's not much the owners can do about that - but be prepared if staying at a weekend.

In summary - it is a town centre Georgian building so there are limitations to what can be accomplished in internal architecture. It is a 3 Star Hotel so don't expect too much. Room cleanliness was disappointing - and no we didnt raise this with the staff, after all why should we as it is their job to ensure a high standard without guests having to point out shortfalls? Evening meals - eat out as it will be cheaper and better. Finish appeared to be a bit "Changing Rooms" with a good cosmetic appearance but let down on attention to detail.

Not good enough for the ratecard I'm afraid.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaypea_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 6 February 2015
Dear guest, I was disappointed to see you were not happy with your stay at Harington's hotel some time ago now. We have made a number of significant changes since you were staying with us in 2010. I hope you are able to give us another chance, which will show you how much better we are now. Many Thanks Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This is a lovely hotel right in the centre of Bath. Having returned from my second visit to this hotel I am delighted the quality of the hotel has not lowered at all. The owner and staff are delightful. And the beds are probably the most comfortable I've ever slept on!
Well done Harringtons and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliMo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Central and clean. Staff gave us our own dining room for a birthday meal. Only snags were two flights of stairs to get to our room (in our 70s) and the seagulls make quite a racket first thing in the morning but, of course, this applies all over Bath not just this hotel. Would definitely recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penelope073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

Firstly i'd like to point out that this is the first time i've ever felt the need to complain about a hotel on this forum. I am just extremely dissapointed that a hotel which such high standards as this try to charge £60 for a baby for our stay when we tried to book. The answer i got back was that this did include a continental breakfast which i pointed out wouldn't be suitable for a 7month old child! Not even a travelodge (which i assume this hotel has much higher standards than) charges for babies to stay.

I assumed that this was a mistake in their policy but when asked it to be referred to the manager of the hotel i've not had any response. Therefore we did not book and would request people with families do the same until this policy is changed.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leam31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sullyBath, Owner at Harington's City Hotel, responded to this review, 15 May 2015
Dear Guest, apologies there was confusion regarding you trying to book a room with your baby. We do not charge extra for babies staying with us. We do however recommend that you book the appropriate room type to comfortably accommodation everyone. I hope you contact us again when you are in Bath and we can look after you and your family. Many Thanks Peter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.3 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#10 of 31 in Bath
1,367 reviews
0.3 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harington's City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harington's City Hotel

Property: Harington's City Hotel
Address: 8-10 Queen Street, Bath BA1 1HE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Harington's City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harington's city boutique hotel is ideally located on a quite cobbled street right in the centre of historic Bath. We are only a few hundred yards from the Roman Baths, Thermae Bath Spa and Bath Abbey. The city's main shopping street (Milsom Street) is only a stone's throw from our front door. Bath's bus & train station is only a 10 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers reserved off-site car parking just a few minutes from the hotel. We offer our guest modern decor and comforts in a historic townhouse setting. All our rooms are recently refurbished and en-suite. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel for guests. Our residents bar is open until midnight seven days a week and we also have a lounge menu serving food until 9pm nightly. Finally enjoy our gourmet breakfast each day to prepare yourself for the sights of Bath! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Harington's City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haringtons Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing