We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as last time....”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here 3 years ago and liked it so much, we went back again. We stayed in The Beau which is a room accessed via a private entrance in the garden. The room is down some steps, which does make it dark but there are plenty of lights to switch on and very romantic! There is a 4 poster bed and a gorgeous claw foot bath which is very deep and can easily fit two.
Bath is about a 20 minute walk away, you can go through the park, past the duck pond, very pretty and it comes out on Royal Crescent. The breakfast is lovely, I had the pancakes and the smoked salmon, both were delicious and well cooked. The staff are polite and very helpful, our room stocked an umbrella, small heater and a fan - just in case! There was also Molton Brown hair and bath products, plus a hairdryer in the drawer and an iron and board also. Tea and coffee with flapjacks and brownies were in a box by the bed. Its very comfortable and nothing is too much trouble. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimmyCustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
There are newer reviews for Apsley House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,051 - 1,057 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2011

We found this hotel by chance when searching the internet. What a find! Everything about it was just so right. From the lovely lady, who warmly welcomed us when we arrived, to the friendly and personal service that we enjoyed from every member of the staff that it was our pleasure to meet. The hotel is so full of character, the rooms are superb and beautifully appointed. The whole atmosphere was so charming and relaxing. We cannot recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2011

We booked our stay at Apsley purely from the reviews I had read on TA. It was everything and more, which is not an easy task when your expectations are high.
The rooms are beautiful - well equipped and spotlessly clean.
Breakfast was the best we had been served during our stay in the UK.
Staff were overly accommodating and extremely pleasant.
It would be a very difficult customer who walked away dissatisfied from Apsley House.
The walk into town is a pleasant one- especially if you take the track via The Crescent and the walk back is not difficult at all. However a taxi ride was cheap and I believe a bus is also an easy option. Everything about Apsley is appealing. It really is a beautiful option for accommodation in Bath.

Room Tip: Rooms that were vacant are left open- ofcourse we looked in all of them. Every single room was beaut...
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenniferanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The standard of furnishings, decor, cleanliness and service were all outstanding. On arrival, Duncan met us outside, and carried all our bags into the hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Aplsey House.

Room Tip: Weekly deals on the hotel web site.
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QAZwsxedc10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We had a wonderful one night stay here on July 20th, 2011. The Apsley House Hotel is a small hotel/ former summer home of the Duke of Wellington. It is on the outskirts of Bath, about a 10-15 min. walk through a nice park to the Royal Crescent. We stayed in the Wellesley room, and I though it was the prettiest. It's also the least expensive, I guess because it is near the breakfast room, but no noise bothered us. The room is as pretty as it looks in the photos, but no view. The view from the sitting room and attached breakfast room is of a lovely little garden. The breakfast was wonderful. I'd been craving American pancakes, and this was the only place I saw them on the menu in England. Yum. Great hospitality here. The house is locked at night and they give you a key to enter, so it really has the feel of a house or B&B more than a hotel. Small friendly pub down the street. I loved this place and would definitely stay here again. Great value. If you get a chance, take Thomas's tour of Bath, especially if you are an Austen fan. Don't miss Thermae Spa night package!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We recently stayed with several friends in every type of room they have, and could not have been more pleased -- with the service, the rooms, the garden, the view, and the incredible breakfasts. They got a lot of details just right -- bedside water bottle, stocked fridge in the self-catering unit, earlier check-in than some hotels, lots of information about restaurants, shopping and pubs etc. And while it really is a good walk from Bath Centre (count on a half hour I think, bring good shoes), the honesty bar, tasteful decor, and the extremely friendly, helpful and welcoming staff (who more than once went way above and beyond making phone calls on our behalf and taking messages etc.) made it the right choice for us. The self-catering unit on site (Coach House) was downright expansive for our family of four, and while it meant we missed out on the phenomenal breakfasts our friends were partaking in (we could have paid extra to join them), it was a nice break from all the togetherness of a hotel room. Would highly recommend, would love to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Very pleasant place to stay. We met both the owners and managers while we were there, all of whom went out of their way to make us welcome. Our room was extremely comfortable with a particularly comfy bed and well set up bathroom. Breakfasts here are outstanding with a terrific selection of fresh fruit and perfectly cooked main dishes (fresh kippers were a special treat one morning).

Any niggles? Our quite large room had only one chair to sit on when there was ample space for two. We very much liked the honesty bar but had mixed feelings about the hotel policy of closing the lounge/bar at 10pm; while this clearly prevents early-to-bed guests from being disturbed by late-night drinkers, it also means you cannot help yourself to a nightcap on returning from the theatre or a restaurant. (And superb as the breakfasts are, they would be made perfect if they included toast that was cut from a fresh loaf rather than ready-sliced).

But overall, a very satisfying stay and we would be happy to return.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thehare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,358 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £148 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing