We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of the B&B's”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Lovely home, great room, gorgeous back yard, yummy breakfast.

Room Tip: Stay on main floor if lugging bags up/down stairs is an issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dlopes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 973 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2012

Our stay at Apsley House was flawless from beginning to end. Georgina was most gracious and helpful introducing us to the house and Bath. We were fortunate to arrive in time to see the Olympic torch pass by the hotel, a very inspiring sight. We had the Mornington Room which has a delightful secret entrance and exit into the garden. We had the misfortune to have our converter break the day we arrived, and the owner immediately offered an array of converters and a cord that would charge our iPad -- most appreciated! The bathroom (recently renovated) had a fabulous shower and tub. The shampoo and shower gel were heavenly. Breakfast was great and service was most effiicient. The garden was lovely and had a great view of the surrounding countryside. We highly recommend Apsley House!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarheel08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We booked this hotel based on the reviews on tripadvisor and the excellent customer service we received prior to booking. We stayed on a hot weekend in the summer, and had a room on the top floor. As such the ventilation wasn't amazing, but the hotel provided a fan, and kept checking that we were comfortable. The room was beautiful and very comfortable, with complimentary tea/coffee/biscuits/bottled water. The bathroom wasn't modern but fully functional.

Breakfast was delicious, with plenty of choice even for us vegetarians. The scrambled eggs were particularly good. We were stuffed on both mornings and had to walk it off on the surrounding streets.

We would definitely return to this lovely boutique hotel and highly recommend it to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sweetgems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

My Mother treated us to a night away for our wedding anniversary and we chose this hotel because of the comments on tripadvisor.

Firstly the good points: very helpful staff who were always asking if they could do anything to help. We have visited Bath on numerous occasions for a day trip as we live about an hour away but this was the first time we stayed. It is too far out of town to reasonably walk but taxis were very quick to arrive when one was requested. A big plus for us was a parking space as parking in Bath is a nightmare. Our drinks in the evening, via the honesty bar, were on the house when we left which was extremely kind and we were given a gift which was also totally unexpected.

Our room the Mornington was large and well equipped, good sized bathroom with molton brown goodies everywhere. A door opens directly onto the rear garden so very quiet and secluded.

My negatives are breakfast and the cost. Breakfast should be better, the tea is of a very poor quality and the kitchen has a problem with overcooking the eggs. These are both very minor points hardly worth mentioning but when the price is £185 a night there should be no cause for complaint, however small. As another reviewer has pointed out, has the No 1 slot on this website emboldened the hotel to overprice - perhaps, but only they can comment. £30 less a night would be more realistic but accommodation in the UK in general is outrageous so I guess it's supply and demand.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed in the adjoining coach house and were delighted with the self contained option. Boasting luxurious toilets, some breakfast items to get through at least one morning, free WiFi and the most comfy beds, this was ideal for our party of 4. We had access to the main house, lounge and well stocked honesty bar.
We found that Bath was comfortable walking distance and a taxi back for the weary legs was about 8 pounds.
Book plenty time in Bath, and take note of the restaurant recommendations from Apsely. Sally Lunns is a must do lunch and Cafe de Globe was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbourneTravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

I stayed in this hotel last weekend with my husband for a 2 night break in Bath. We had the 'Romantic' room which was a delight. A very large comfortable four poster bed with views out of the huge window over Baths valley. We were a short walk from the city and all the sights. There was plenty of parking at the hotel and we never used our car all weekend as everything is so accessible. The room was spotless and the bathroom was huge and very luxurious, a pleasure to shower in! The hotel offers the best breakfast we have had in a hotel over looking the Bath countryside in the pretty breakfast room. The staff were friendly and helpful. They recommended a walking tour offered for free from the Roman Baths where volunteers take you for a free 2 hour walk round all the sights of Bath telling the history as you go. We then did some shopping in the extensive designer shopping area of the city. A recommendation from us, if you fancied giving yourself even more of a treat is to book an evening meal at The Bath Priory. We had the taster menu and it was a very high standard of fine dining. Overall a superb, decadent stay in Bath, with the hotel making the weekend a memorable one.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank KateHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 1 night after booking a late offer listed on the website a few days beforehand. We arrived at the hotel and were shown to our room after being greeted by Georgina, a lovely and very helpful lady who told us everything we might need to know about the city, which was very helpful. We were staying in the Garden Suite and were amazed by its size and absolutely loved having a door leading out to the garden where we could enjoy watching the sun set and rise, feeling like it was all our own space! The hotel is very grand but with a boutique-like feel, not at all old fashioned feeling. Our bed was massive and so comfortable, it all felt very luxurious! Breakfast was delicious and the service, very attentive and friendly. The location was lovely, we enjoyed a scenic walk into the City Centre, where we visited 'Sotto Sotto', a delicious Italian that we were blown away by. A highly recommended stay, great value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dalehigham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,312 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#9 of 32 in Bath
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £136 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing