We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay at the Apsley”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2012

We had a garden room, beautifully decorated and just perfect for the gorgeous weather we had at the end of May...Champagne in the garden on arrival made it all the more fab. Staff really friendly and gave us ideas of where to go in Bath. A good 20/25 minute walk to the centre but go via the park, and detour via the Royal Crescent/Circus. We took a taxi back in the evening which cost £7.50. Lovely lounge with honesty bar open until 10pm. Good choice of breakfast menu. Would recommend for couples for a special weekend in Bath.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NottmTravelCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

953 - 959 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2012

Apsley House Hotel was a former Bath residence of the Duke of Wellington and boasts classic architcture and period furnishings. The hotel is in a quiet location a half hour walk into the Bath city centre or a short drive. There is free on site parking space for all hotel residents. The hotel has a large but cosy lounge with a honour system bar facility. There is central heating throughout the hotel. We chose the Champagne Room on the first floor at a cost of 150 pounds per night including full English breakfast. The room has a four poster bed with duvet and quality linen and a modern bathroom with spacious shower cubicle. The loo was a bit cramped if you are above average in stature! The hotel does not offer evening meals. An Indian restaurant and take away pizza are a 5 minute walk or the Weston pub, a 10 minute walk, is recommended for great pub meals. Alternatively there are a wide variety of restaurants in the Bath town centre. David and Stephanie were friendly hosts offering advice on local attractions and places to eat. Wifi is free. Would return to this hotel again if visiting Bath.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gglg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Easy to find in a lovely setting with ample parking. About a 20 minute walk into Bath or a short cab ride.

Super friendly & helpful staff with recommendations for activities & eating. We stayed in the Vitoria room on the second floor. Tastefully decorated with a king size bed & luxurious bathroom with roll top bath. Enjoyed the Molton Brown toiletries! Room was clean & linens crisp & fresh. The WiFi signal was also good even tough we were right at the very top of the house.

Lounge area is lovely and all of the decor/furnishings are in keeping with this beautiful old building. Honest bar is also a nice touch!

Breakfast was great with a good selection of fruit, cereals & cooked items. Apsely House will be our hotel of choice whenever we are in Bath!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MacNCheese100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2012

The Romantic room was beautifully decorated, very comfortable bed, luxuriously appointed bath, and a wonderful view from the house's position on top of a hill. The staff gave us a warm greeting, good recommendations on what to see in Bath and a gourmet breakfast in the morning. I'd love to stay there again next time we're in Bath.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank MountainKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

This has to be the best B&B in England. From the beautiful location, after a wonderful drive in to town, Apsley House has it all. Classic architecture; big rooms; amazing bed; well equipped bathrooms with bath and separate shower. There is an honesty bar in the lounge/drswling room which is most enjoyable after a day's stolling. The walk to town along the canal is really enjoyable. I loved our 3 days here.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rjcwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Fabulous beds, gorgeous house, very helpful staff - nothing was too much trouble. Just a lovely stay from start to finish.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rheenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Hotel was very nice with a warm welcome. we did book at last minute and got the ground floor room (No.12) which is just by the reception and breakfast room. Although room was great with four poster bed, flat screen TV, molton brown shower gels, I was awoken in morning at 7 15 by staff gettting ready breakfast which is served from 8 which was other side of our wall. They werent loud but as alight sleeper, it did wake me. Although we knew, do know you are 30 minutes out of the centre, we did walk in for evening meal but got a taxi back which was the best £10 spent. Overall hotel fine and as the upper floor rooms were more expensive i suspect they are a better bet than the ground floor room.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank globetrotters003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,307 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £137 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing