We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 July 2012 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful and fully deserves the position of first place on trip advisor. We found all features of the hotel good and did not mind the 25 minute walk to the city centre. Excellent hotel at reasonable price. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2legs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
There are newer reviews for Apsley House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

917 - 923 of 1,420 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2012

Beautiful hotel, small and quaint with the personal touch! Perfect setting for a stay in Bath! Very romantic - huge four poster bed and sunken bath... Breakfast was to die for...stayed here in November 2010 (not 2011 as stated in this review) and it's still stands out! Only downside is that it is about a 20 minute trek from the town centre - that said, we managed it in the snow so it is definitely do-able! Don't let that put you off... We can highly recommend and wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else in Bath!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pudding_Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Location, location, location. Apsley House is in a lovely neighborhood with coffee shops, restaurants, and well tended homes. Bath's main action is a perfect walk or cab ride away. Go through the Botanical gardens at least once. By staying at Apsley, we saw all kinds of non-touristy stuff that you can only happen upon. I wouldn't want to stay anywhere else in Bath. Apsley House itself is a great property. Just the right size and views. The garden has beautiful plants, but is neat so you feel like it is more tidy than jungly and allows for an unobstructed view of the surrounding area. The greatest thing about Apsley House is its cozy, soothing interiors. Cozy--but also spacious and light. A nice sitting area with great views. Great proportions in every way. Just enough attention from the staff, but not too much. Well-thought-out. If you order in food from one of the restaurants, Apsley has trays with silverware and plates to eat on and keep your room tidy. Brilliant. Breakfast is amazing! You can go the whole nine yards or you can eat something light. Perfect yoghurt. The yummiest eggs, sausage, and tea. Our rooms worked really well for us. My husband and I stayed on the top floor and had a great view. Our two teens stayed in a bedroom with a king and a little alcove bed that gave them enough privacy from each other and a cool door out to the garden.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms cozy. I think the top floor rooms were the most popular. Middle floor rooms grande...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MollyDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

I really need to say no more. We loved this place and would stay here again. We stayed at the Mews and where blown away by the quality. very romantic but also good for business and families. 15 min walk into Bath,it was stocked with everything we needed. Go and be amazed.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
3  Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

Lovely stay; staff very attentive but not overly intrusive, wonderful breakfast, Molton Brown toiletries, well appointed room with beautiful bathroom. Perhaps a little over priced but its a very good establishment!

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank clunkers33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

My partner and I stayed here for one evening.

The whole stay was lovely. The room was fantastic, the bed very comfortable, the bathroom was amazing, all very clean. The receptionist was very helpful and welcoming, as were all of the staff. Breakfast was lovely.

Great location, lovely walk through the parks in to bath centre.

**We also ate at the circus restaurant which again was fantastic!

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jadeyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

After reading Trip Advisor I decided to stay in this hotel for one night in June 2012- it did not disappoint.
From the moment we got there the service was impeccable, like they couldn't do enough for us- I often find that this personal touch is missed in so many hotels.
We stayed in the Beau room which was incredibly well decorated and comfortable. The bathtub was the highlight though- along with all the Molton Brown toiletries.
The only downside was the honesty bar which was incredibly overpriced for soft drinks (almost £2 for a can of cola), the alcoholic driks however did seem reasonable.The views and location of this were lovely- a nice peaceful environment to relax.
I would highly recommend to anyone staying in the bath area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank c k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,358 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £148 - £224 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing