We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most amazing place; such gracious and accommodating hosts”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is by far the best B&B/small hotel I've ever stayed in, and I've stayed in a good number of highly-rated ones. We showed up early and the hotel owners were SO nice, so generous, so accommodating, allowing us to put our luggage in one of the rooms until we returned later in the day! My friend and I have never seen the like! We both had the downstairs rooms and they were fantastic. Clean, fresh, every consideration made. The bath was lovely, no shortage of hot water (which was very necessary for my jet-lagged, aching bones), Molton Brown soaps (yum!). They even found an iPhone charger with me as I had misplaced my US/UK converter. Breakfast was scrumptious and everyone so polite, especially considering I had to be the most demanding guest ("Do you have cider vinegar and honey so I might make a tea for my sore throat?" "Can I please have cheese on my scrambled egg?" I'm not quite sure they knew what to do with me, but it didn't matter. They were still uber-accommodating). I had the English Breakfast and it was so good! I ate until I was truly stuffed.

If I ever come back to Bath, or have friends that are visiting, I will recommend Apsley House Hotel as the ONLY place they should stay in Bath.

Room Tip: Either of the downstairs rooms are quite nice. The suite I stayed in had a small off-room with a sin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacation8r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
COCOPOTTS, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely, detailed review, which I am sure is going to help many people get a feel for what it is like at Apsley House.

It is so helpful, for us, and for others to get feedback on how we are doing, and we really appreciate you taking the time to post this.

And you are welcome to come back any time, we don't mind at all any of your "special requests", it is nice to be able to accommodate your needs, and it is not being demanding at all, we love it!

We look forward to welcoming you back here one day.

Warmly,

Gillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

730 - 736 of 1,459 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2013

Wedding anniversary weekend break, we loved every moment and will be heading back again very soon.

Food served was a delight and met our every requirement, room services was excellent. Room was spotless and cleaned to a very high standard.

Have been here previous and it's always remained to the very high standard it produces.

Nice well kept grounds to walk around.

A good location to visit Bath and Bristol.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were in Bath for 3 nights and had the pleasure of staying at this wonderful little tucked away hotel. Our room was quite lovely with a beautiful view of the hillside. We woke up one morning to a hot air balloon just over the horizon as I made a cup of English tea! The room was very spacious with the most well designed bathroom! You had the feel of being in an old manor but with all of today's modern comforts. The staff was extremely helpful and very attentive to all of our needs offering suggestions for restaurants, tour groups, attractions and must sees. While it was a little bit of a hike to get into town, after an incredible English breakfast prepared by Raphael, the exercise was welcome! Very elegant, white tablecloth setting overlooking the garden in the back. The service at breakfast was impeccable and the food was 5 star! A fantastic start to a day of touring Bath! The other thing I loved was the quiet! After being in London for 5 days, it was wonderful having our window open at night with fresh air and quiet! My best to the owners Raphael and Gillie! You have quite a gem in such a lovely city!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CommanderDemanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

The reviews about this hotel are all true. I stayed here for 3 nights with my boyfriend for a weekend away. It is a beautiful house with amazing views and a very pretty garden. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. Lovely breakfast with a different cooked special on the menu every morning on top of the regular choices. Fresh fruit, greek yoghurt, granola and cereals, full english and vegetarian options. So much choice. Couldn't fault this hotel at all. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzles14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Had a wonderful couple of nights in Bath, everyone at the Apsley House Hotel could not have been any more helpful. Breakfasts and the room were great. Would recommend a stay here, although a little way from town it was a really nice walk into town we did 7 times in 2 days.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavandstacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights towards end of August. Although the hotel appeared to be full the service at breakfast was quietly efficient and friendly. Our bedroom (the Romantic Room) was extremely quiet and of a good size with plenty of storage space. The furnishings were of a high quality and the room was very welcoming with a pleasant view over the garden and beyond. The bathroom toiletries were a cut above the usual.
Although a little way from the town, we had no problem getting to the centre as there is a bus stop opposite. Taxis are plentiful and reasonably priced.
The staff were very accommodating and extremely helpful.
The Apsley House Hotel is an oasis of calm and comfort. We have nothing negative to say about it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SherlockFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Yes, the reviews are very true. It is a truly glorious place to stay. I have dietary requirements that were wonderfully catered for by the lovely staff and they really make you feel that nothing is too big a chore for them. The decor is beautiful, most of the rooms have freestanding baths and four poster beds which was such a luxurious treat! I'm 5' 5" and I couldn't reach the top and the bottom of the bed at the same time! I thoroughly recommend this lovely hotel - find an excuse to go and stay there!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,336 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
1,452 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £146 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing