We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country Elegance With Service to Match”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2013

When we arrived at the Apsley House we were welcomed as if we were arriving at the home of good friends or family. Innkeepers Raphael and Gillie could not have been more hospitable and owners David and Stephanie (Steph) were absolutely delightful. Apsley House is an elegant home overlooking a beautiful garden and hillside scenery. The views from the lounge and dining area are stunning. This is a classic English manor. Our guest room did not disappoint. Big windows to enjoy the views, exquisite four poster bed, quality furnishings, and quiet surroundings provided a truly residential feel that was most enjoyable. Breakfast service included all that one could want. The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk to the center of this historic city. Guides on the bus tours around the city are wonderful storytellers who bring the history of Bath to light in an educational and entertaining manner. When and if we return to Bath, Apsley House will be at the top of our list of places to relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Champagne Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tmcct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2013

Dear Valued Guest across the seas,

Many, many thanks for your lovely feedback you have posted here. It really does help, and we love to hear how we have helped people like yourselves enjoy their stay with us.

I have passed on your feedback to the staff and the owners (Nick and Claire Potts are the owners), and everyone is really grateful.

We hope that we can welcome you here again one day, although we realise that it is not just around the corner for you!

Warmest Wishes,

Gillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

715 - 721 of 1,459 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in Beau Room ...Beautiful....it has its own private entrance from the garden .....Super comfy BIG Four Poster Bed ..... Loverly Big cast Bath .....
......Breakfast is delicious .Daily..Special.......Very very nice ...Chef is to be commended ....
Hosts are absolutely wonderful ....We WILL return ....
Thank you so much for a loverly stay ..x

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Barbara,

We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, and want to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

I have passed on your feedback to Raphael about the breakfast, We do try to get the bed right and the breakfast right, as we think that this is the key to a good stay. :)

Hosting for us is a pleasure as we are lucky to be in such a nice place, and have very lovely people like yourselves come to stay.

Many thanks again.

Gillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed 4 nights in Garden Room in early October. large room, door onto gardens, separate dressing area, large, modern bathroom. Room was clean, and well decorated. Breakfast room was beautiful, with great views across the garden and valley beyond. There is a breakfast special each day, in addition to normal menu. Locally sourced ingredients - really great tasting bacon. To top off a really positive review was the service - all the staff team were friendly, efficient, welcoming, and made you feel really welcome. Wouldn't hesitate to stay again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Simon,

Wow, thank you so much for your lovely feedback, we are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and also for taking the time to write a review for us.

We just recently started using a local farm to supply our meat, as we believe in supporting local producers as well as providing the cleanest, freshest ingredients, so it is really good to hear that you appreciated this as well.

It was a pleasure having you stay here, and we hope you will come again.

Warmly,

Gillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

My wife and I are traveling the UK as we catch up with adult children now living in London. On this part of our trip we were traveling with our son and we selected this as a perfect self catering spot as we explored Bath. This is first class accommodation and well located. There is a downstairs lounge room with an outdoor garden terrace through double doors. In the garage there are very good laundry facilities. Upstairs the there are two bedrooms and two bathrooms, with a full kitchen and dining area with another TV. Beds and bathrooms were excellent and the kitchen was very well equipped. We took a trip to the supermarket before we looked in the fridge .... the owners had set us up with bread,butter, eggs, milk, juice etc ...... so we doubled up a bit. We never got to see the owners (everything including check in via web/email but it works perfectly) to thank you very much.

Room Tip: This cottage is a little way from the city of Bath itself. There is a bus around the corner but if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your lovely review on here. I have passed on your feedback to the owners, who are delighted that you had such a lovely experience.

Your feedback really helps others make a more educated decision, and understand what kind of stay they can expect, and it helps us too.

Many thanks again, we really appreciate it.

Warmly,

Gillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Apsley House last weekend. We received the warmest of welcomes from the manageress Gillie and Raphael the manager. Nothing was too much trouble. They were friendly snd courteous and made the stay one to remember. If you want a relaxed peaceful stay in Bath with superior service, look no further than Apsley House.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SGRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Sharon,

Thank you so much for your kind and personal feedback here on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and your review has already helped other people make their decision.

We strive to maintain a friendly yet peaceful environment, so we are delighted that this was the experience you had here.

Thank you again.

Gillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We spent two nights at the Apsley House for our honeymoon. They are such friendly people and it was so nice to have the opportunity to stay there. We had heard rave reviews and can now be included in those. We were arriving very late so they were nice enough to accommodate that. The breakfast is delicious. The rooms are so cozy. There is a beautiful view from where you eat. Free wifi. They are a bit of a walk to the downtown area...but if you are up for a bit of a walk its a very nice one :) Overall a great stay! I would recommend this hotel to anyone in that area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2013

Dear Ashley,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Especially when you have travelled so far, from Canada, it is great to hear that we have lived up to your expectations, and you enjoyed your stay here.
It was a pleasure meeting you both, and we hope to see you again sometime.

Warmly,

Gillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed at the Apsley House in mid-September, at the beginning of our trip throughout England. The place is just beautiful…from the lovely breakfast room and sitting room, to the elegant stairway and the tastefully furnished rooms. We stayed in the Salamanca Room, which required a two floor climb, but was bright, roomy and had great views of the garden. The room had a very comfy bed and a hilariously large modern bathroom with slipper tub and separate shower. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The full English breakfast was EXCELLENT.
The Apsley House is in a very nice neighborhood location, but it is quite a walk to downtown Bath. Even with a shortcut though the park, it was at least a 25 minute walk. We loved the place but wished it had been closer to town.

Room Tip: We loved the Salamanca Room, but all of the rooms looked lovely. We got to peek inside most of them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dagny123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, General Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback and comments here on Trip Advisor.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay, especially the breakfast, which we pride ourselves on!

Every piece of feedback helps, we really appreciate it, thank you.

Warm Regards,

Gillie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,336 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 34 in Bath
1,451 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £146 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing