We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If the hotel is full look at the mews cottage!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“If the hotel is full look at the mews cottage!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

I was unable to book at the hotel as it was full but was offered the use of the self catering accommodation in the mews cottage at Larkhall. The cottage was beautifully presented, immaculately clean and well equipped. The hotel provided a welcome pack so that breakfast, tea & coffee was not a problem.
The cottage is 10/15 mins easy walk into the centre of Bath but located in Larkhall where there is a great deli, butcher, grocery store & a number of take away options! Emma's cafe is also great for breakfast if you don't fancy cooking your own.
Would highly recommend it, we will definitely consider again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Manada64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Manada,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about the Mews Cottage here. This really has helped people already decide it is a good option.

Claire and Nick the owners put a lot of thought and care into getting it just right, so it is great to know that their efforts are appreciated and that it works for our guests.

Thank you again,

Warm Regards,

Gillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,182
    157
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
171
969
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

We stayed for two nights at this hotel and everything was perfect from the beginning. The staff are polite and friendly, but they also really pay attention to you, we mentioned our plans for the weekend and everytime we saw them they were asking us about our day and remembered what our plans were, they were amazing!

The hotel was gorgeous, perfectly suited for our romantic retreat. We stayed in Salamanca which had lovely views over the garden and the city. It was on the top floor, but we were warned of this on the website and were not fussed by two sets of stairs.

Our room was very spacious with a large wardrobe and the bed was very comfortable. It had everything we could have asked for, drinks each day, hairdryer, TV, a heater and air conditioner, it also had a vanity! The bathroom was very clean and modern and well-sized as well. At night when it rained we could hear the rain on the skylight which sent me right off to sleep. I was very impressed by our room!

Something to bear in mind is that it's a fair walk (30 minutes) to town, we were shown a scenic route through the park as we mentioned we liked walking, there is also a bus stop right by the hotel which runs frequently and we never needed to get a taxi. I cannot recommend this place enough!

Room Tip: Check the website, each room is detailed with the location inside the building and other extras.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kokuei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Kokuei,

Many, many thanks for your kind feedback here,

We are so glad that you enjoyed your romantic retreat in the Salamanca Room here at Apsley House, and I am also pleased that the staff were all attentive and welcoming, as we hope they always are.

It is a joy for us to know that these things make a difference to your stay, and actually we are all genuinely interested in making sure you have a good time wherever you go. It helps us to help our other guests as well!

Many thanks again and we hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Wishes,

Gillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed here a night ( wanted to stay longer, but they were fully booked). When we arrived at the hotel, we were greated like old friends. The room we stayed in was so beautiful n the bathroom even better. Didnt want to leave the room to look around bath, just wanted to stay there and relax all evening. The breakfast in the morning was very tasty n presented beautifully, and tasted just as good. Planning to go back for stay for a long weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curryleafandover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Kind Reviewer,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your thoughts on here. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

I've passed on your feedback about the breakfasts to Raphael and Claire, our breakfast chefs, it's really nice to know we are doing a good job.

Warmly,

Gillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, UK
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

We have just spent the weekend here, the hotel is a credit to Gillie, Raphael and their team, they make you feel like old friends from the minute you arrive, the honesty bar is such a refreshing idea, our room was lovely and the breakfasts were wonderful, we would definately return in a heart beat

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WestMidlands_UKLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear West Midlands Guests,

Why thank you so much for your kind and personal words, and for taking the time to write your thoughts on here,

It is always a pleasure to receive such lovely guests, and to know that we have made their stay enjoyable.

I have passed on the feedback to the team and it really helps with motivation!

We hope to see you again one day

Warmly,

Gillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

Title says it all really. If you are looking for a upmarket B&B then this is the place to go. What it isn't though is a hotel, so if you are expecting all the trimmings you would get in a hotel you will be disappointed.

All that said the staff were very friendly the rooms were very cosy. Breakfast was delicious and they accommodate all dietary needs even if it isn't on the menu.

On our first day we were greeted in the morning by a dog on the stairs which was a little suprising. The dog was very mild mannered though. Although not sure about her sitting next to me whilst I was tucking into my sausage and eggs.

In summary very pleasant and fulfilled all the requirements of a B&B it really isn't a hotel though unlike the name on here suggests.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to post your feedback on here, and we do appreciate the points you have raised on here.

We would hope that we can provide the same level of service as other hotels, and please let me know if you have any suggestions as to what you may have been missing during your stay with us so we can improve what we do and manage expectations better.

Coco the dog, who belongs to the owners, just comes in from time to time, and we apologise if he disturbed you at breakfast. We are going to make sure this doesn't happen again.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Warm Regards,

Gillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

When we arrived at the Apsley House we were welcomed as if we were arriving at the home of good friends or family. Innkeepers Raphael and Gillie could not have been more hospitable and owners David and Stephanie (Steph) were absolutely delightful. Apsley House is an elegant home overlooking a beautiful garden and hillside scenery. The views from the lounge and dining area are stunning. This is a classic English manor. Our guest room did not disappoint. Big windows to enjoy the views, exquisite four poster bed, quality furnishings, and quiet surroundings provided a truly residential feel that was most enjoyable. Breakfast service included all that one could want. The hotel is about a 15-20 minute walk to the center of this historic city. Guides on the bus tours around the city are wonderful storytellers who bring the history of Bath to light in an educational and entertaining manner. When and if we return to Bath, Apsley House will be at the top of our list of places to relax and enjoy.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the Champagne Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmcct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest across the seas,

Many, many thanks for your lovely feedback you have posted here. It really does help, and we love to hear how we have helped people like yourselves enjoy their stay with us.

I have passed on your feedback to the staff and the owners (Nick and Claire Potts are the owners), and everyone is really grateful.

We hope that we can welcome you here again one day, although we realise that it is not just around the corner for you!

Warmest Wishes,

Gillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in Beau Room ...Beautiful....it has its own private entrance from the garden .....Super comfy BIG Four Poster Bed ..... Loverly Big cast Bath .....
......Breakfast is delicious .Daily..Special.......Very very nice ...Chef is to be commended ....
Hosts are absolutely wonderful ....We WILL return ....
Thank you so much for a loverly stay ..x

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 October 2013
Dear Barbara,

We are so delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much, and want to thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review.

I have passed on your feedback to Raphael about the breakfast, We do try to get the bed right and the breakfast right, as we think that this is the key to a good stay. :)

Hosting for us is a pleasure as we are lucky to be in such a nice place, and have very lovely people like yourselves come to stay.

Many thanks again.

Gillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#10 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,060 reviews
1.8 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#2 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing