We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very charming B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond VA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“A very charming B&B!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

From the moment we walked into Apsley House, we felt like family. Gillie is a delightful host and showed us to our room, which was filled with many special touches. Breakfast is an absolute feast that includes cereal and fruit, as well as a cooked-to-order meal by expert chef Raphael. His full-English breakfast is delicious, and he makes truly awesome scrambled eggs. Apsley House isn't right in town, but it's makes for great exercise to walk one way. We'd take a short cab ride into downtown Bath in the morning, and walk back in the late afternoon. The "honesty bar" was ready and waiting for us when we got back after a busy day of seeing Stonehenge (on a bus tour with Scarper Tours), taking a walking tour of Bath, and visiting the Roman Bathhouse. Gillie and Raphael were always ready to help with recommendations for restaurants, booking cabs, answering questions, checking things on the Internet, etc. We highly recommend Apsley House for anyone looking for a delightful place to stay in Bath.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odyssey-Girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Odyssey Girl,

What a lovely review, thank you so much. It really is so nice to know we are doing a good job and making your stay comfortable and enjoyable.

We are lucky that we have such lovely guests come here, there must be something about the place, so we are happy and relaxed and hopefully that rubs off too.

We hope you come back and stay another time. Many thanks again

Gillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,181
    157
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
170
969
18
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (288)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

All I can say is that Apsley House is first class in very way. Beautiful, elegant and very well run by an extremely wonderful team of people. We were greeted by Maria who welcomed us with such enthusiasm and made us feel special All of the staff took an interest in our mission to trace my ancestors in Bath and I felt that infact I had come home. We would not hesitate to recommend this lovely place and would like to thank Gilly and the team for looking after us after what has been an extremely sad year for us. We wish you all well for 2014.

Room Tip: All of the rooms looked beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phoenix201109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Shane and Gaynor,

Thank you so much for writing your kind words on here, it was so lovely to meet you both and we were so glad that you enjoyed your exploratory trip here.

I must thank you as well for mentioning how good Maria was, I showed her what you had wrote and it gave her such a boost. As you know, she is new to the team, so this was just what she needed to give her confidence in what she needed.

We all hope to see you again in the future, and to help you uncover more of your ancestry, I can't imagine it has stopped here :)

Warmly,

Gillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel is a delight, a lovely period building. We stayed in the Beau room which was lovely, a four poster bed and tucked away under ground with good thick curtains so dark and quiet at night for an excellent night's sleep, and lots of lovely little touches like a lavender bag left on the bed and a teddy bear in the room.

The staff were incredibly friendly, helpful and welcoming, made us feel really at home. There is a lounge for the use of guests with an honesty bar. Also a breakfast room with a great view over the garden, with a breakfast menu that really made me want to stay longer to try some of the other delights on it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiian_owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Hawaiian Owl,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback on here, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and so appreciative that you took the time to write your thoughts on here.

We just recently added the little lavender bag, so I am really glad you noticed and that these are things that are important to you. After all, a good night's sleep is pretty crucial, so if a little lavender can help, it's worth a go!

We hope to welcome you again at Apsley House.

Warm Regards,

Gillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

Stayed one night at Apsley House Hotel for a two day visit of Bath. We have been really happy about the hotel, the couple who own the hotel greeted us on our arrival, husband being french, we clicked as french being our first language! The hotel is really really nice. We were given a garden room which included a separate room or our 7 yr old daughter who was so happy to discover toys in the room, teddys on the bed.. The bathroom is immaculate clean comprising of separate bath and walk in shower. The comfort of the room is comparable to a 5 star hotel with the authenic feeling in addition! You feel as if living in a real house instead of antiseptic hotel rooms. The hotel is not situated in the city centre, Bath being a Special town, we did not have any problem to get parkings in town both Vdays easily. It is a 3 minutes drive to the Royal Crescent or Roman Baths. We loved our stay at te Apsley House, the breakfast very nice. We wouls love to be back for longer stay next time. No swimming pool by the way, but I cannot remove the icon from the list..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranceMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour!

Merci beaucoup pour avoir pris le temps d'ecrire ces mots amiables.

Nous apprecions beaucoup et c'etait un plaisir de faire votre connaisance.

Excusez-moi pour mon francais, j'essaie sans l'aide de Raphael!

Revenez bientot!

Gillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I should have written this review a long time ago as our stay was in December 2012, but testament to our nights stay at this charming little hotel, we are going to be staying here again this December.
A gorgeous period house divided up in to an imaginative selection of bedrooms, mixed from the more contemporary, with lush modern decor to the more traditional cosy, classic English home, the rooms have something for everyone.

I had planned to propose to my girlfriend last December and thought a night away in the stunning city of Bath would present the perfect opportunity. Trip advisor helped me find the most romantic hotels and I picked this one Aspley House, the number one choice and with excellent reviews.
I enjoyed browsing the hotel website and looking at the pictures of the rooms and chose the ‘Champagne’ room based on its more contemporary look and venetian four poster with pinks and reds in the colour scheme.

I am not one for garish public gestures and my then girlfriend would have probably died of embarrassment if I had proposed in public. I spoke with the hotel management in the weeks leading up to our stay and they were extremely helpful in aiding my plans. I planned to propose prior to us going for dinner. I was able to get Champagne delivered to the rooms and distract my girlfriend by getting here to wait in the relaxing drawing room by the fire, before letting her see the room which in addition to its gorgeous furnishings, I had added some rose petals decoration and the champagne before popping the question, to which fortunately she said yes!

All in all an excellent idealistic stay and a perfect place for a private proposal in my opinion and my girlfriend was very happy and I got some brownie points for the added romance!

The rooms are fantastic with a nice bathroom and a real treat with some Molton Brown toiletries. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast with a great selection of continental and cooked items, with a nice outlook onto the garden and some great views.

We can’t wait to go back this year it’s a very comfortable and clean hotel with exceptionally helpful staff, it was a real treat to stay here.

Room Tip: Champagne room was a great pick for a modern romantic setting
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itchy_feet_Brit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a comprehensive view of the hotel.

I must admit I can take no credit for this as it was before I started, although the hotel is under the same ownership so all the same high standards are maintained and the house itself is very much as it was when you visited.

I do hope that you will consider coming to stay again so we can thank you in person.

Warm Regards,

Gillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Wonderful hosts and the historic charms of the house made our stay special. Very homey touches like an honesty bar and books and magazines to read sets this accommodation apart from other boutique hotels. Really relaxing and top notch nosh - it was worth staying for brekkie alone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChuppaChupx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Chuppa Chupz (great name!),

Many thanks for your kind review, and for taking the time to write it.

I have passed on your feedback about the breakfast to Raphael, and you are more than welcome to drop in for breakfast next time you are passing! Although obviously you are welcome to stay again!

Warm Regards,

Gillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
saigon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013

We were looking for somewhere in Bath for a bit of luxury without breaking the bank and Apsley House more than fitted the bill!This liitle hotel exudes history and style from every nook and cranny. The rooms are lovely with little extra touches like guides books and a teapot in them making them that little bit more special. Everything you could think of needing has been thought about and provided. The breakfasts are fantastic and are taken in the beautiful dining room with views out over the garden. The honesty bar in the evening is a lovely idea and great place to relax after a day exploring. Location is great with a beautiful 25min walk through the park all that seperates you from the attractions of central Bath. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The standard,location,history and service make it a must if staying in Bath!

Room Tip: Have a look for mid week deals as we got a great discount for our stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Dear John,

Many thanks for taking the time to write your thoughts on here, it is most appreciated by all of us.

The owners have put a lot of thought into the rooms, and the little touches, so it is lovely to hear that you notice these things and they make a difference.

We try to think of everything and your feedback keeps us motivated to constantly ensure we are looking after our guests.

Warm Regards,

Gillie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,323 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#10 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,059 reviews
1.8 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#2 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing