We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same Time Next Year”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Same Time Next Year”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Mrs P and I have stayed at Apsley House on five or six occasions over the years and although we have stayed elsewhere on breaks in Bath (and lovely it was to) I simply can't envisage doing so again when visiting this most beautiful of cities. After our long drive to Bath closing the door to our room feels like arriving home.

This is an utterly gorgeous hotel; all grace and charm with high ceilings, large windows and Georgian elegance. Over the years we've peeked around the doors of several rooms (they were unoccupied!): each individually furnished and tastefully appointed. We've always stayed in the Romantic Room on the first floor which has a vast four poster bed and a slipper bath. Pure luxury.

The charm doesn't end with the building either. The managers, Gillie and Raphael simply couldn't be more friendly and their passion for the hotel shines through.

In terms of location it is true that the hotel is not central but through a combination of walking, buses and taxis we've never had the slightest issue. It is where it is; and perfect it is too. So perfect in fact that we've taken to doing the "old persons' routine" of booking for the same weekend next year on departure. On that note - see you December 2014!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miles from home P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    160
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
179
989
19
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

Such a lovely b&b, they offer so much more. A very warm welcoming to the b&b. Breakfast 5* and specials on board changed daily. Also very accommodating for people with intolerances to lots of food! Fresh ingredients used and lovely fresh fruit! We had a fantastic stay and even enjoyed the 20 minute walk into the centre of bath in the beautiful surroundings. Well worth the stay we will be back, and highly recommended.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lizzie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2013

We booked this hotel very last minute and got a really nice offer. We booked the Beau room which had its own entrance via the garden. The room is amazing and the bath is huge! The breakfast was really nice and the staff is very friendly. I would definitely recommend this hotel and hope to come back one day!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wvdv88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Rather a belated review for a stay in November, but better late than never!
This is easily the best B&B we've stayed in, it has hotel standards throughout but is friendly and homely without being over familiar.
Regarding the location - for us it was ideal as it had free parking, was quiet and peaceful at night yet only a brisk 20 min walk into central Bath. An alternative but longer route was via the path by the river which gave a different perspective, a good route in if you are a cyclist too. The buses were also regular and could be accessed just outside the hotel both ways (note - ask for the stop before the bus station if you just want "The Crescent" end of town as it's a cheaper fare and you can bypass the shops)
If you fancy a countryside walk there are some easily accessed paths from the hotel to pick up the Cotswold Way and see some lovely views from the hills around Bath.
We also got some great deals with the fob that the hotel provided, such as free Proseco and olives for 2 at Martini restaurant and discounted entry price to the Roman Baths.
There was so much we didn't see in Bath - a good excuse to return to Apsley House I think!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldfishnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
east grin.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for our wedding anniversary . We had a lovely warm welcome and instantly felt at home. All the staff were very attentive and the place was kept spotless. We had a room on the top floor which was cosy and comfy. The breakfast was delicious with different specials on which my hubby took full advantage of. Gillie gave us directions to the town and we walked down past the Royal Crescent . It is a lovely walk and you can really get your bearings by discovering the little side streets and gorgeous shops. A taxi ride to the town in the evening was £7 with great friendly cabbies both there and back. Pre book a restaurant if you want something special at busy times of yr. there is lots of choice. We ate in Casanis which is a sml French bistro with a very personal feel and lovely food.
We look forward to visiting again perhaps in the spring. Many thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tisthepitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

I stayed a few days in one of the top floor rooms. The house is "posh" but very relaxed and never uncomfortable in any way. My room and bathroom were elegant and romantic, as is the whole house, and the breakfast room looks over a lovely garden. The breakfast on the one day I managed to get down in time was delicious, but I'm afraid I slept in the rest of my stay. The staff are nice and considerate. Wifi was very good. The only problem I had was that it was quite far away from the centre of Bath (I think I walked it in 30-40 minutes) and although there are one or two eating places nearby there aren't that many, but if you have a car then I guess that's not a problem. Overall, one of the best B&Bs I've stayed in, and I would definitely like to stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vamoose45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed for our anniversary, attentive staff, beautiful breakfast, excellent location, just beautiful. The teddy bear gift on check out was a lovely touch. Also we received an anniversary card which was very thoughtful. We stayed in a room on the top floor which was cosy and had the biggest bathroom with an amazing bath and shower. Will definitely be returning and recommending to friends, thank you

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,247 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing