We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Place to Stay in Bath”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My Partner and I stayed at Apsley House for a night on Sunday this January and were able to get a superb rate for our room.

The Hotel itself is a lovely building and we were very impressed as we arrived. The car park is spacious and parking wasn't a problem. We had to call ahead due to unforeseen circumstances to let the hotel know we would not be arriving by their last check in time and they assured is this would not be a problem and upon arrival, the lady at reception was very helpful in settling us in and giving us an idea of how to get around Bath and find food, etc.

We stayed in the Garden Suite which is located below the Ground Floor. The room was very nicely furnished and we were quite impressed with some of the furnishing. The bed was a good size and we both slept well.

Breakfast is served in a light room with a good view over the garden and again, we were happy with the breakfast, which was able to accommodate to all our needs.

The only issues we had with our stay arose from a few minor details. The Garden Suite has two very short doorways in to the bathroom and bedroom and as a tall person, I spent a lot of my time ducking. The pictures and information available on the website don't seem to acknowledge this feature and if we had known, it is likely we would have picked a different room. We also had two technical problems where our phone started to crackle inexplicably in the night and the TV started to flash on and off at what point too. The garden door had also been left unlocked by the last guest (or member of staff) to use it and not been locked again which concerned us slightly once we'd realised the next day.

Overall though, we had a superb stay at Apsley House and if we are ever in the region again, I'm sure we would look to stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TSSandJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

661 - 667 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here the week before Christmas. The room I booked looked exactly as it did on the website, it was stunning. We unfortunately had some electrical issues with the room during our stay, but the staff couldn't do enough for us, moved us to another room without issue even bought us a couple of drinks in the evening to say sorry. Didn't effect our stay one bit...in fact it really showed how much the staff care about your stay here. Beautiful building and so close to bath too. Highly recommend

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

My Husband and I stayed at Apsley House for 2 nights this weekend. It is a beautiful house, well decorated and furnished and very clean. We stayed in the Copenhagen Room which was very comfortable,maintained to a high standard and located downstairs which was very peaceful. The amenities in the room were of a good specification,particularly the bathroom and the beautiful bath..very relaxing...and deep! The breakfast is the best we have had and the choice is fantastic,fresh fruit,cereals,yoghurt etc and the cooked breakfast and the daily special breakfast are especially tasty and superbly prepared. All the staff including the waitresses and chambermaids are very friendly...would definitely recommend if u want a bit of luxury and to feel spoiled!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kellie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

A late deal meant we got this room at a low price.....great service, nice breakfast and decent room at the top of the house. Yes easy to comment on a few negatives I am afraid, towels are a bit small but soft, tv is flat screen but old, as is the mattress, bath is large and can take 2 but the plug pops up....and do not get the room next to the breakfast room, as everyone having breakfast will hear you.....and vice versa.

The walk to town is not that attractive and a long 30 mins. However at the discounted rates this is a great place to stay.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Need_Sunshine66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Haveing just returned home from a weekend away at the Apsley-House, we are awaiting our return.
The hotel is wonderfull,very well decorated,the breakfast is more than you can ask.Our room the champagne room was very light, king size bed, lcd television,and a lovely en-suite,which was kept warm buy a radiater right beside the toilet. The room was comfortable for two adults,and full with tea coffee and fresh bottled water,and many more extras.
To sum up if you go to bath, go to Apsley-house you will not be disappointed,i hope my reveiw helps many thanks.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Carly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

A last minute booking and what a find! Apsley House Hotel from the greeting was a delight to stay in. Thank you for a lovely night. The room was very comfortable, the bathroom with it's heated floor was great and the breakfast set us up for the day. Very friendly staff too, we will certainly stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Jon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We sadly only stayed for one night in the Coach House and i was so very impressed with the personal service we received from everyone at Apsley House. Right from the very first email they were incredibly helpful. The accomodation suited us perfectly and was perfectly clean and very comfortable. We'll be coming back! Thank you.

Room Tip: The Coach House was perfect for us as we have three teenaged children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,312 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#9 of 32 in Bath
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
2.2 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £136 - £215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing