We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic place to stay - highly recommended.”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place to stay - highly recommended.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Apsley House is a fantastic b&b in a beautiful building. The bedrooms are lovely, as is the dining room with roaring fire and honesty bar. The service and staff are fantastic and the breakfast is fabulous with plenty of choice. The only place we would stay in Bath.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zienat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    158
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
175
985
19
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We had fantastic time at Apsley house and recommend it very highly.Kate and miro are two very caring and compassionate people who will do whatever they can to ensure a memorable stay.The room was immaculate and the breakfast was perfect.Love the honesty bar. THANKYOU.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SEANC480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We had a great stay at Apsley House.

The hotel and our room were perfect. The staff were extremely helpful.

Our room, the garden room 8 was ideal for the three of us with a great side room with a single bed that was just right for our daughter. The room was very peaceful however you can hear footsteps from the floor above but not to the extent that it was a problem.

The hotel is a 30-40 minute walk into Bath and unfortunately it rained most of our stay although there is a bus stop almost outside of the hotel and a taxi was about £7.

Breakfast was great and we definitely would have dined at the hotel if they opened the restaurant for dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luckynow16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

As the title of my review suggests we couldn't find a fault with Apsley House Hotel.
The property itself is beautiful; Elegant decor all over, a relaxing and calming reception room/lounge with a view of the garden, a piano, newspapers everyday and an 'honesty bar' (whic is a nice touch) all of which can be enjoyed until 10 pm every night.
Our room was impeccably decorated and the bathroom was again, beautiful. Both shower and bath were a pleasure to use. The bed...well! I havent had a better nights sleep in along time.

However all of these factors are usurped by two other factors; Staff and the breakfast.
Te breakfast offers beautiful fresh fruit, granola and yoghurt as 'starter' (a starter at breakfast?!!) and the cooked breakfast was cooked perfectly both days and quite obviously used the best ingredients (all sourced locally). Tasty but not greasy. Eggs poached too perfection. Fresh juices. Freeshly ground coffee. Mmmm.

And the staff couldn't do enough. Helpful, efficient and very friendly. Ornella who welcomed us on reception and Kate the manager deserve a special mention but every member of staff we came across were great.

The cherry on top; i made a 'special request' for Apsley House to provide some Ice cream as a small surprise for my partner who loves ice cream; Not only did they do so but it wasn't added to our bill.

Top notch stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Salamanca which is middle of the price range. From the other rooms that we 'sneaked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

It's our first time back in Bath after 25 years and Apsley House couldn't be faulted . We had such a warm reception from Kate and Miro after a fraught journey . We stayed in the very luxurious and quiet Mornington Deluxe for the first night , then the Copenhagen, also very comfortable . The breakfasts were delicious and kept us going all day until dinner . The poached eggs were cooked to perfection . The staff were particularly friendly . Nothing was too much trouble . We forgot an umbrella and Kate went to get her own personal one . We were given some excellent recommendations including Martinis and Tilly's Bistro along with being able to "park in the park."
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marion P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

What a beautiful Hotel!
First time to visit to Bath - last minute booking and a great rate from this hotel possibly due to the fact that Somerset is a no go for most with the floods.
Stunning property, stunning view and a room which was tasteful and spotless.
Service was excellent and love the idea of the honest bar!!
Staff were excellent and extremely helpful - what you would expect from a 5* hotel.
Breakfast was also fantastic and plenty of it
English breakfast of choice including specials.
Cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurts and croissants to compliment.
Definitely recommend this place.

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 11 - Garden room beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoodyWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Apsley House was just a lovely place to stay. My wife and I stayed in the Salamanca on the top floor with views over Bath. We arrived very early, I had phoned to warn them and had agreed to leave my car and go into Bath. But when we arrived the room was ready, we settled in had a short tour of the hotel facilities and then off to explore.
The bathroom had a magnificent high sided bath which my wife loved and I enjoyed the spacious shower.
Mornings were very relaxed and the choice and quality of the breakfast was outstanding, I had the traditional English whilst my wife enjoyed the specials which were a delight.
The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff really enhanced our stay, nothing was too much trouble, they really did make it feel like a home from home. A very personal stay.
The hotel is a bit of way from the centre of Bath but there are regular buses but we enjoyed the walk in, through Victoria Park and the Royal Crescent a 30 minute stroll. We planned to get a bus or taxi back but we never did. We ate at The Boathouse a 5 minute drive away whilst in Bath there is a good selection of eating places. We visited the Roman Baths, the Abbey, and took an excellent free 2 hour guide of the city which begins outside the Roman Baths. We also visited Sally Lunns to sample one of her buns and just enjoyed strolling round the city. It was too wet to walk the Skyline Walk but we did a bit of it and were rewarded with spectacular views of Bath. Just a fabulous weekend with a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Don't choose the top floor if you don't like stairs. It's quite a climb for elderly peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidJeffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,240 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.8 mi away
No.15 Great Pulteney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
1.7 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing