We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Rooms, Friendly staff, Great breakfast”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Beautiful Rooms, Friendly staff, Great breakfast”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I can see the title of my review has already been used my someone else but it really does sum it up. The gentlemen on reception heard us arrive and met us in the car park to carry our three large suitcases down to our room. Puffing and panting he then welcomed us to the hotel and the area.
We had a room with an extra bed behind a curtain for a child which was the best extra bed he will ever stay in - a beautiful solid wood bed with an Aspley House Teddy waiting for him. No complaints about the room and breakfast was excellent. All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,229
    161
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
188
996
19
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff here are so friendly and helpful. The hotel is very special, small friendly and unique, it's more like being a valued house guest than a customer. It is a little walk into the City, but well worth trying the river path if you have time. Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnG136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a very comfortable and restful stay at Apsley House. The staff were charming and very helpful. We were in one of the lower ground floor rooms, which was clean and well appointed, with a comfortable bed. The room also had a spacious and spotlessly clean en-suite. Breakfast was delicious. We would definitely stay there again on our next visit to Bath.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is the sort of place you want to keep as your own lovely secret, except that it's not fair on them and it's aready here on Tripadvisor! We arrived late and the desk staff were lovely. We had one of the basement rooms accessed via the garden--it was like going into a burrow or hobbit home, but once inside, a little palace. Four-poster bed, eccentric bathroom, but with everything we needed, good toilteries, great little tea/coffee supplies on a desk, enough storage. This is an historical property and not a huge modern hotel and so there were odd (but not bad) quirks. Waking up to morning sun streaming in and beign at eye-height to the flowers was great. Up in the very lovely breakfast room we were utterly delighted. We both have dietary problems and they went off-menu for us without a flicker that it was any trouble. We were there when the clocks changed (second night) and came up just as breakfast was over but, again, utterly charmingly service. they continued to fil the help-yourself dishes onthe sideboard although there were only four people in the room--that is very classy. The hotel (B&B, really) is about 15 minutes easy walk to the nice bits of Bath (Royal Crescent, etc) and we walked back in the dark both nights without a problem. I don't gush much in reviews, but I found Apsley House welcoming, with tiptop service, and a lovely air about it.

Room Tip: If you like privacy, choose a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carocgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We have stayed at lovely Apsley House over the weekend and we couldn’t be more pleased. Everything was just perfect – the location (25min walk to the centre or a 5 min drive by a cab – only £6!), surroundings (lovely garden to enjoy a glass of champagne) and the room (we stayed in Mornington, beautiful décor and very sunny!). The breakfast was amazing, lots of choices on the buffet and eggs cooked to perfection. Try their daily special, we were never disappointed! The staff was just brilliant, everyone we have encountered was just great! Kate and Miroslav are fantastic hosts; nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mario463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed in the Coach house for two nights on the 9th and 10th of May 2014. We booked it as we wanted more privacy for our family of five. Unfortunately we did not realise that the upstairs flat to this property is occupied. At around 4am on the first night we were woken up by the people in the upstairs flat, this went on for a number of hours and I ended up sleeping on the living room floor. I then noticed a broken wine glass, dirt and cobwebs behind the sofa. We also felt that the kitchen was poorly equipped. The management did then clean the flat and offered us a 10% discount. Taking into account the comments regarding the high standards at the hotel, and for the price we paid, we were extremely disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ApsleyManagement, Manager at Apsley House Hotel, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Michael G

Thank you very much for your feedback. Firstly, we would like to apologise again on behalf of all our Team at Apsley House for not spotting the broken glass and cobweb behind the sofa – we take full responsibility for that and again, we sincerely apologise.

Our Coach House is a self-catering apartment located on the ground floor and our website or third party websites description do not suggest that it is a bungalow. We apologised after your first night experience, however, as we want all our guests to feel comfortable and make themselves at home, it is difficult for us to suggest or ask them not to walk at night. At no point we were aware that you had slept on the floor during your stay – you only mentioned that you had found the piece of broken glass when looking for the mobile phone that fell down on the floor.

This is the first time we have been told that our Coach House kitchen is poorly equipped – when we’ve asked what have you had in mind, you replied that another pot or a pan would be an advantage. As we do take all our feedback seriously, we have already put an extra pot and a pan in the cupboards – and we thank you for pointing this out, we are trying to have everything in place, so all our guests will enjoy their visit.

We tried our best to make the rest of your stay as pleasant as possible, including the Champagne and the discount. Also, when talking to you upon departure you’ve said that you were pleased with the second night of your stay, there was no noise and that you did overall enjoyed your stay. In addition, previous guests’ feedback suggests that the Coach House is a great family option and we believe it is a good value for money for a family of five at approximately £55 per person per night.

We are deeply saddened to learn afterwards that you were disappointed with your stay and would kindly ask you to contact us directly if you wish to discuss this matter further.

With kindest regards,

Kate and Miro
Resident Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Come, if only to fall under the charming and attentive care of Kate. The breakfasts were the best and most creative. Off-street parking was superb. The bed was lumpy and a bit mushy. The rest of the house and grounds are elegant and spectacular. It was a beautiful 30 minute walk to central Bath, through Victoria Park.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScooterEncinitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#11 of 31 in Bath
1,339 reviews
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Property: Apsley House Hotel
Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing