We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay in Bath”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I went there with my husband and our friends for a pre-birthday break. On hearing from our friends that it was my birthday, a card and gift from the hotel was placed in my room, which I thought was lovely. The room was fantastic, breakfast amazing and staff even better. Would definitely return to this hotel - brilliant

Room Tip: Garden Suite and Champagne Suite equally lovely, but I should imagine all rooms are of a fantastic s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

592 - 598 of 1,440 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2014

Had a really lovely nights stay at Apsley House. The room was stunning, beautiful four poster bed and roll top bath,the staff were lovely and very helpful and breakfast was delicious. The hotel has tons of character and has been decorated in sympathy with its age. It is a 30 minute walk into town from the hotel but don't let this put you off as the walk is very scenic and if you cant be bothered a cab is only £7 ish. Would recommend!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathryn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

This is a lovely little hotel. It is in a nice location convenient to city center. Staff are wonderful. The rooms small in size but are make up for it in it's well appointed furnishings and comfort. Gives a little more of the feeling of staying in an american bed and breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, you could certainly find plenty to be happy with. They have a wide assortment of dry cereals, fresh fruits, and juices along with several choices on a hot made to order menu. The breakfast room is lovely as well and overlooks a nice garden. I hope to land at this wonderful jewel again someday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 312AnnF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

What a gem of a place. This small bed a breakfast hotel is housed in a building once owned by the Duke of Wellington
It is a fantastic base to visit the city of Bath. The furnishings are opulent and the staff are friendly. If you want a romantic break that doesn't cost the earth with good food and great service then this is the spot

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Heartake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I can see the title of my review has already been used my someone else but it really does sum it up. The gentlemen on reception heard us arrive and met us in the car park to carry our three large suitcases down to our room. Puffing and panting he then welcomed us to the hotel and the area.
We had a room with an extra bed behind a curtain for a child which was the best extra bed he will ever stay in - a beautiful solid wood bed with an Aspley House Teddy waiting for him. No complaints about the room and breakfast was excellent. All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The staff here are so friendly and helpful. The hotel is very special, small friendly and unique, it's more like being a valued house guest than a customer. It is a little walk into the City, but well worth trying the river path if you have time. Looking forward to visiting again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnG136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Had a very comfortable and restful stay at Apsley House. The staff were charming and very helpful. We were in one of the lower ground floor rooms, which was clean and well appointed, with a comfortable bed. The room also had a spacious and spotlessly clean en-suite. Breakfast was delicious. We would definitely stay there again on our next visit to Bath.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,306 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#10 of 34 in Bath
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £138 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing