We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Apsley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apsley House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Amidst the spectacular architecture of Bath, this home stands out. The furniture and decorations are gorgeous and the staff was simply charming. They went out of their way to help us enjoy our stay. The view from our room was spectacular. The breakfast was excellent and the sitting area is charming, complete with a bar for your enjoyment.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dacza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,447)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

586 - 592 of 1,447 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

My wonderful fiancee booked us in for a night at Apsley House to celebrate my birthday. On arrival the hotel looks beautiful from the deeply gravelled parking area to the building and grounds. On arrival 2 staff members who were always at hand were warm, welcoming and friendly. Our room was very nice with a very comfortable eye catching 4 post bed. Steps from the rooms door led directly into the lovely and well kept garden, heres a tip though, watch those few patches of brown, its moss and can ruin your lovely lawn. You can get a moss killer to sort it out:) The lounge and dinning room are beautifully laid out in a style that runs with the hotels character and historic background. We had a bottle of champagne and another of wine served to us in the garden from the honesty bar that was very nice. Breakfast was perfect with a good choice and again served by the lovely staff. Here's a tip if possible, serve an evening meal and keep the bar open late, we would merilly have stayed in all evening instead of going out.
Overall then its a beautiful well fitted and excellently run hotel that I had a great time in and would definitely return to again. Many thanks for a lovely stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Place was pretty much what I was looking for in the english countryside. A very nice house that could be straight from Jeeves.

The room was very nice though without air conditioning. Shower was small, but clean and good. Bed with proper posts and good sheets made for a good sleep. The self service trust bar was awesome, I've never seen one, but having one in the lounge really makes you feel welcome and a valued customer. Breakfast was ok, but nothing great.

The place is a tad far from the city and the sites, but the distance is doable by foot ~30min walk.

When we arrived there was a polish gentleman at the reception who deserves a special accolade, as he was extremely friendly and helpful above the call of duty. The service in general was very good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view to the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hughman83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

If you are going to Bath for holiday, then this is the only place you should book. It gushes charm and luxury! Our friends had the Romantic Room (2nd fl) and we had the Salamanca Room (3rd fl). Both rooms were furnished in unique, calming individual styles. We kept our window open every night to take in the breezes and garden aroma. Loved the toiletry selections in the contemporary styled bathroom. We enjoy reading in bed so we found the reading lights were ideal. When we checked in, we were asked what our favorite breakfast was only to see it as the "special" the next day-great way to accommodate quests. We easily walked into town every day and then took a cab back at a very modest fare. If you seek perfection at every level expected from hotel staff, room, location, service, amenities, food, etc. then this is the place.

Room Tip: If you aren't in shape avoid the rooms on the third floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We spent two nights at the Apsley House while traveling through the UK. For our family of four, the self-catering cottage worked out perfect. The two bedrooms and two bathrooms were comfortable and clean and we enjoyed having our own private patio, kitchen, and small living room. Even though breakfast in the main house dining room wasn't included, we were provided with a breakfast basket of breads, cereals, eggs, and coffee which we could prepare on our own. The House is about a 20 minute walk into town, but cab fare was reasonable and the location is also close to a bus stop. Since we had our own separate quarters, we didn't have much interaction with the staff, but the gentleman who checked us in and gave us a tour of the cottage was quite pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Karenhoneybrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

its a fine old house, furnished in the traditional way, the service is impeccable and friendly, the beds comfortable but because of its age there are stairs, and if you are on the top floor there are 45 of them. Take this into account when booking.
The breakfast was everything you would expect of a top class B&B, the dining room overlooking the garden is pleasant and inviting. I would certainly stay here again.
I would advise taking a taxi into Bath, it is not the easiest city to drive around and the taxi service is fantastic. It costs about £7 (including tip) into town, choose your spot and they will take you there. The attractions and some of the shops will order taxis for you and I never waited more than couple of minutes .

Room Tip: the hotel is on a main road, so a back room would be preferable and do not forget those stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeanalewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I can only endorse all the five star reviews for this hotel .Staff were excellent from arrival to departure . The house and gardens are wonderful and are maintained to a high standard . The breakfast was delicious with an excellent choice .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,313 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bath Priory
The Bath Priory
#12 of 34 in Bath
1,419 reviews
1.4 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
2.8 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apsley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apsley House Hotel

Address: 141 Newbridge Hill, Bath BA1 3PT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bath
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bath
#1 Family Hotel in Bath
#1 Business Hotel in Bath
Price Range: £141 - £218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Apsley House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A privately owned Georgian House built by the Duke of Wellington in 1830. Situated just over a mile from the city, free parking, garden, licensed bar and drawing room. En-suite bedrooms with Super-King Beds and Four-Posters, individually decorated with Wi-Fi, flat screen TVs, hospitality trays and Molton Brown products. Freshly cooked breakfast served in the elegant dining room. A taste of Georgian Bath at its finest with a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Apsley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apsley Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing